27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. I love this recipe and have made it a couple of times since discovering it! You can use any apples, so get whatever's on sale. I subbed Stevia for the sugar, but be careful if the apples are sweet already. You won't need as much sweetener. This applesauce also freezes well in portions and is a great topping to pancakes!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha June 05, 2009

We made this for Thanksgiving breakfast with Macintosh apples and added double the cinnamon. Super easy with an apple peeler/corer/slicer. We'll be making again soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC February 12, 2008

Simply amazing! It so easy to make and tastes like pie filling. Can't keep my kids away from it long enough to get a few bites for myself. Shared the recipe with with my mom and sister and their reactions were the same. Must try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking 4 Four October 22, 2009

We really enjoyed this! I put it on low overnight and had it with cool whip the next morning. Fun! Fall has started for this family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UltimaMommy October 05, 2008

I made this the other night as we had given to us a lot of fresh apples. It was nice to wake up to the smell in the morning and we used some for breakfast the rest I put in to zip lock bags and freeze for another time, very easy to make and it is a keeper. Now in my OAMC cooiking. Thank you :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbowbrush August 26, 2007

So, so great! I used gala and granny smith apples (50/50 mix), it turned out a bit tart for me, so I added some maple syrup which was amazing. Absolutely will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexaaaaa ?. June 21, 2015

What a lovely apple sauce this recipe makes. Thanks so much for sharing this treat. It was quick and so easy to make. Made exactly as written, using Empire apples, which I did not peel. Perfect amount of sugar, lemon and cinnamon, resulting in a perfect applesauce that we are enjoying very much. The applesauce was slightly tart with a beautiful velvety texture. So far, we have enjoyed it warm with vanilla bean ice cream, chilled over cheesecake bites and as the center piece of the baked german pancake. It was delicious in everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 04, 2014

Other than using some apple cider in place of some of the water, this was some great applesauce. Very easy, and just as good cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker March 02, 2014

This is so easy and so good! It smells yummy too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrappinspud November 19, 2013

This was lots of liquid in this but was otherwise great. I'd probably take out the water completely next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC October 24, 2013
Crock Pot Applesauce