15 Reviews

Have not tried this recipe yet, but do make a similar recipe, but use 2 of the reduced sugar Quaker instant oatmeal packets(any flavor seems to work) instead of the Bisquick and eliminate the butter(fats). Then before putting on the lid to the pot, take about 4-5 paper towels and lay across the top of the pot, and then put the lid on as the towels will absorb the "steam" and make the "crust" a little more set. I also use the sugar free cans of pie filling to again cut down on the carbs and add lots and lots of cinnamon. I make this in 2 repeat layers, ending with the oatmeal. So Good for a diabetic recipe or just someone watching their carb intake!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
959123 February 15, 2011

I was a little doubtful that this would turn out, but took the chance since all the reviews were awesome. It looked a bit dry when put in the crock pot early Christmas morning, but turned out very flavorful and moist. The house smelled wonderful all day from this AND it freed up the oven for other items. DH loved this apple pie. I agree it was more like a cobbler, but I used a tall, thin crock pot. A wider pot may have set the crust more like a pie. Regardless, awesome recipe and this is a keeper for us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twswbs0405 January 23, 2011

This was good, but 6 hours on low burnt the edges and we felt like it was too mushy - like it needed something crunchy to be added on-top, something to give it a little more texture. It's also a bit sweet for us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannine S. November 18, 2008

Oh my gosh!!! This was heavenly! We LOVED it! Didn't know what to expect as have never tried baking in the crockpot before---it's excellent and people you MUST try this!!! Used a combo of 4 Granny Smith and 3 Fuji apples (the apples were kind of large so 7 instead of 8 apples worked well). I did add just a squeeze of fresh lemon juice to the apples in the crockpot (personal preference), right before adding the topping. My crockpot is an older model, so it is slow; I used the HIGH heat setting instead of low,and it was done to perfection in 6 hours, although another hour would also have been fine. Otherwise made exactly as written. I loved using the crockpot vs. the oven, which kept me and my kitchen from overheating here in the warm summertime. ;-) This is a gem of a recipe that is now a family favorite! Can't wait to serve to company over the holidays! Thank you so much, Liz, for sharing this wonderful recipe. Made for the Pies, Cobblers and Tarts challenge in the photos forum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR July 21, 2008

The texture of this dish is more like a cobbler to me too, but it tastes wonderful. Another reviewer had mentioned that they missed the crunch that a crisp would have given, and so I added a handful of granola to it. I made it for company and it was quite a hit! The spices are just right and it is simple to make. Served it warm with real whipped cream - delish! I will definitely be making it again. Thx Liz!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 05, 2011

easy to make and much better then I had anticipated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcaswell February 20, 2011

Loved this! Apple pie taste without the hassle of a pie crust!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2nat&ry November 29, 2009

This was so great. I made it for a party and everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eoshop October 16, 2009

YUM! YUM! YUM! This was definitely a treat. We drizzled homemade caramel sauce and homemade whipped cream. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SteelerSue November 17, 2008

This was very good. Mine turned out a little watery so next time I will add more bisquick to the apples. The flavor was very good. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nhredhead_65 August 18, 2008
Crock Pot Apple Pie