13 Reviews

This was great and it did make my house smell wonderful! I cooked it on high and cut the time short (2 hours) and mine still burned a little, so if your crock pot cooks hot, cook this on low. It was a great recipe, my family said it was one of the best things they had ever eaten with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megeddington October 29, 2009

This was absolutely terrible.Way too much (topping) flour and brown sugar..if you look at the Slow Cooker Apple Crisp recipe on this site you will see that the ingredients call for way less flour and brown sugar and also calls for regular sugar...This tasted like brown mush. Very disappointed. I will try the Slower cooker one that was found in family Circle April of 2008. What a waste of butter and apples..Susan O'Day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bearziegirl August 05, 2009

I made this in my little 2 quart crockpot. I cooked it on low, because I was worried about the burning issue that other reviewers were having, and it still only took 3 hours. I used 4 apples and cut the topping amount to 1/4 of the recipe since I wanted it to be a little healthier. There was more than enough topping; however it was still soggy when the apples were falling apart (I cut them to 1/2 inch thick). I'm not sure if more time in the crockpot would've made the topping crisp. It tasted good overall, but I found myself craving the crisp topping in contrast to the soft apples. If I cut the apples a lot thicker, maybe this would turn out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah40460 April 23, 2009

This is just what my family was looking for! My DH is always asking me to make him an apple pie. Making it in the crock pot is just right for the summer. We put a dab of whiped cream on it and ate it wile it's hot! Thankx Little Bee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn'sMoodyDisch August 07, 2008

This is an easy peasy way to make a dessert when you are gone for a bit or cooking on all and in all surfaces for a dinner. The house smelled delicious as well. I made this for a dinner last month and forgot to review right away. Dh and DF-in-L liked it. They could not believe I did it in a crockpot. I cooked on low for 2 hours and then turned to low for about an hour and a half. It tasted good, but like others the crust burned on the edges. I do like the topping ut I did add more cinnamon and instead of 1 1/2 c flour split that between oatmeal and flour. Made it more cruchy and homey (like the oven kind I make). I plan to make this again and am going to plan around cooking as I want to watch it before the top edges burn and stick. Good recipe. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie March 31, 2007

I'm really sorry - but - blech....This was not very good at all. After 3 hours it was a complete mush. It literally looked like mushy applesauce (and I even sliced my apples extra thick because we like them with a little bite in them)with a really thick layer of brown mush on top. The edges burnt and had to be scooped away. We figured we would try to salvage it with some ice cream - and it still wasn't very good. There was way too much flour and it just does not turn out right...Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker October 05, 2004

Oh no - I think I must've done something wrong! The apples turned out great, but the topping burned badly around the edges, and the center was not cooked well enough. I'll probably try it again though, and maybe put the crockpot on low, for a longer time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howmanybites? October 04, 2004

This was a great recipe .. my husband LOVED it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Davis September 27, 2004

Just as good as my old oven recipe and easier to make. This was served warm with vanilla ice cream and tasted great. I will make this often. It only took 3 hrs in my crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus September 27, 2004
Crock Pot Apple Crisp Dessert