121 Reviews

Great recipe! I only used 2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. Had a great flavor. I didn't chop the apples, just quartered them. After they had cooked for a while, I used a potato masher to break them up. I thought about using the food processor, but decided to leave some chunks. It had a good texture. I also used the recipe for pears. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca C. November 16, 2011

Tastes fantastic, but I was expecting more of a thicker apple butter texture than what it was (which was a little bit thicker than apple sauce). (Taste gets 5 stars, apple sauce consistency of it brings it down to 3 stars from me)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegascooker November 09, 2011

Delicious and soooo easy!! Just cored and chopped the apples, I didn't even bother peeling them. I pureed this in my blender at the end of the cooking time and it turned out perfectly smooth. I used the sweetest apples I could find (Red Delicious) and cut WAY back on the sugar. I only used 1 c., but I think I could have left it out completely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalB April 08, 2011

I absolutely loved this and am making again! It was a little watery, but DH covered the crok pot because he thought I accidently left it uncovered :) I used whole cloves because I didn't have any ground but I really wish I had some ground so it could have spread a little more evenly. I used some splenda and some sugar and next time will probably use only splenda. BE CAREFUL...this stuff is addicting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman March 18, 2011

Made this with pears from our neighbor. I would cut back on the sugar next time, but this is AMAZING stuff! So delicious and SO EASY!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenkaa55 March 17, 2011

Great stuff, I used 6 lbs. of Gala and only used half of the sugar-its just great with only 2 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deadsexy_ak November 28, 2010

Soooo good! I just opened my first bottle this morning (I made in Nov.) and it is perfect. I used about 3.5 lbs red apples from a friends tree and 1.5 lbs of granny smith also reduced the sugar by 1/2 a cup. I put sliced apples in my food processor to achieve "finely" chopped apples. I couldn't get the butter smooth enough with a wisk so on the last hour I poured it into my blender and processed until smooth then put back in crockpot with lid off on high for an hour to thicken it up. I had to stir it about 3x's on the last hour so it wouldn't scorch. I ladled into hot jars and put them in a boiling water bath canner for 10 min. This fall I will be making 2 batches because I think this is going to go fast! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! January 09, 2010

So easy and so wonderful to slather on biscuits! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie January 03, 2010

Very yummy! I Canned this to give away as Xmas gifts. My husband gobbled up the amount I set aside for our personal use, so I had to make another batch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeatnikIvy November 26, 2009

Absolutely fabulous recipe: super easy, super tasty, and hard to mess up. First time around I used apples (and half the sugar as others mentioned), and subbed Pumpkin Pie Spice for the ground cloves. Also didn't bother to peel the apples, just tossed it all in the food processor before the final uncovered cook...made for a nice thick butter with wonderful color. I also cooked it overnight, so it only got a few stirs before bed. YUMMOLA! Now have it in the pot with pears this time...excited to see how it turns out! Nice to wake up in the morning to the smell of apple/pear butter cooking ;).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2design (and cook!) November 10, 2009
Crock Pot Apple Butter