109 Reviews

This is the best one i have found and that i liked and that did not have to a ha million steps to it was so easy and taste great will be making this again :) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZimmermanE March 24, 2013

Our son and his new wife used their wedding present to make this and shared how good it was. Since we were finishing out a *bumper crop* year of apples at home, I decided to try it for a couple of batches. OHMYGOODNESS! I'm so making more next year! My husband is going through a half pint every week!

I used a mix of Granny Smith and Jonathan apples. I made the second batch a bit spicier and liked it better. I also eased up on the sugar in both recipes.

Absolutely phenomenal recipe! Highly recommend this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blithelyblythe November 29, 2012

This is the FIRST crock pot recipe that has ever worked out the way it was supposed to for me! I was delighted! I agree with others that say this is an especially SWEET apple butter. And I used mainly tart apples. So next time I will definately cut the sugar down. It is scrumptious however! It will be made again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma November 20, 2012

This is a super recipe. I did it in my preschool class. I cut and peeled the apples but they washed the apples, counted apple pieces, counted the seeds, put the apples into the crockpot, discovered fractions, learned about the nutrition of an apple, estimated how many seeds an apple has in it and compared apple to apple, put in the ingredients , ate the peels and stirred. Periodically we stirred the apple butter until done. It was a great learning experience to compare before and after & especially yummy served w/pancakes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberi50 November 03, 2012

Just another awesome review! I have made Apple Butter a million times, but being a little low on time (In-laws decided to do Christmas and Thanksgiving the first weekend in Nov!) I was looking for a quick recipe. I peeled 2/3 and cut up all of my apples (bought at the produce stand on clearance) . Crock pot overnight, wand made quick work of making it chunky, luscious, velvetty on the tongue Apple Butter! I used 10 lb of windfall apples of about 4 varieties, cut back the sugar by a cup and added a tsp of nutmeg. This is a definate keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanciY October 31, 2012

THE BEST! One word of advice to anyone who wants to make this: Be careful, or you'll eat it fresh until you're sick. Not that you'll mind, much, but still.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilvorpalbunny May 23, 2012

Another great recipe! I made this using equal parts of Rome, Piñata, and Braeburn apples. If you haven't seen or heard of Piñata apples they are a lot like Gala apples. I will be making this recipe every few months I'm sure.
Thank you for posting, Rachel Castle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Castle January 12, 2012

Great recipe! I only used 2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. Had a great flavor. I didn't chop the apples, just quartered them. After they had cooked for a while, I used a potato masher to break them up. I thought about using the food processor, but decided to leave some chunks. It had a good texture. I also used the recipe for pears. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca C. November 16, 2011

Tastes fantastic, but I was expecting more of a thicker apple butter texture than what it was (which was a little bit thicker than apple sauce). (Taste gets 5 stars, apple sauce consistency of it brings it down to 3 stars from me)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegascooker November 09, 2011

This is amazing! Reminded me of my grandmother. I used Red Delishious, Jonagold and Honeycrisp. I put in the crockpot and then had to take my daughter to the ER. So I did not get to stir for about 5 hours. But the house smelled wonderful when we came home. I put through the food process for a very smooth butter. I only used 2 cups of sugar and extra cinnamon as we love cinnamon. Thanks for reminding me of my grandma.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1 tuff cookie October 16, 2011
Crock Pot Apple Butter