119 Reviews

I won't rate this because I changed the recipe by using 1/2 of the amount of sugar called for. Still worthy of 5 stars. Will make again, for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clevergirl7 November 10, 2015

A delicious recipe. Normally I follow the recipe exactly as written when I make it for the first time; however, due to all the reviews about the excessive sweetness, I chose to cut the sugar to 2-1/2 cups. Didn't want so many apples go to waste and I'm glad I made the change. 2 cups would've been more than enough. Minor changes I made: peeled apples and, separately, placed peel and chopped apples in food processor. Wanted to preserve nutrients of the skin. Cooked on high 3 hours, decreased to low for 4. Placed in blender and puréed until smooth. Poured back into crockpot uncovered for 1 hour. Unfortunately I didn't cook overnight and needed it done before my bedtime - only reason for time/temp change, but it tastes amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha M. November 08, 2015

This is the best simplest no fail apple butter recipe. I used a combination of apples, some sweet, some tart. I cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups because of the sweet apples and added 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. This stuff is so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
outfishin7 October 31, 2015

I went apple picking and only was able to pick granny smiths, but I followed this recipe and it came out soo good! Only thing I would say: do less sugar, and stick the entire thing in a blender once it's done cooking overnight. It was chunky and apple sauce-y and once I blended it up it was smooth and looked just like apple butter. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy N. October 29, 2015

This is a fantastic and EASY recipe!!! I used a mix of Gala and Granny Smith all of what I had left. I also added about two tablespoons of apple butter syrup I purchased from a German Baptist market down the road. Like some others I also added apple pie spice, and about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I also substituted the last cup of sugar for brown sugar. The combo is really amazing together be gives it a richer spicier flavor! Will make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April D. October 16, 2015

Loved the ease of this recipe. The aroma in the house was wonderful . I did 6 pounds of Apple Granny Smith, Cortland. Sliced thin and skin on. Used 3cups of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon allspice, 1teasppon cloves. 1teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg. I started mine early morning on 4hours high giving it a stir once in a while 2hours low. Puréed in food processor. Canned hot water method 10 minutes. Thank you. I am ready to make second batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty C. October 16, 2015

Can I NOT put stars...this is horrible....made the receipe to the tee and it takes like pure sugar. Awful. Reverting back to my old fashioned real apple butter receipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah F. October 11, 2015

Loved the recipe. It was my first time making the apple butter. I grew up eating it almost every morning since I live in Oregon. I'm sorry I did not read the reviews first since almost every one stays it's too sweet. Could use half the sugar. It would be good to know that in advance. One can always add sugar but hard to do anything after the fact when it's too sweet. But I'll be making it regularly from my Braeburn, Honycrisp and Yellow Delicious trees. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dennis B. October 09, 2015

I let slow cooker go overnight. When I awoke 8 1/2 hrs later, it was burnt. Had to toss. I guess the "low" setting on mine is too hot. Will try again during day so I can stir.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctompkins September 09, 2015

Thank you so much for this recipe. I don't eat Apple Butter, but my daughters love it, so I wanted to try to make it, but everyone I talked to said it was a pain to make. I found this recipe and it sounded easy enough, and it was!!! And it came out great. I did not reduce the sugar, but I did double the cloves. I used my apple/peeler/corer to prep the apples and then sliced the apple rings into smaller chunks. Cooked all night, according to the instructions, and in the morning, I put small batches into my Magic Bullet blender and ground it up. It didn't separate at all, so I didn't do the last hour on high, I just put it into jars and put them in the water bath. Mine made 7 pints, but I probably didn't have as many apples as the recipe calls for, because we picked apples ourselves and I didn't weigh them. I just kept putting more in, until the crock pot was full. This was amazing!! On a side note, for those making the recipe; put your cores and peelings into a large pot with ample water and boil them while you are doing the apples. Let them "brew" for a good hour or more, keeping plenty of water in the pan. Strain the juice and use it for jelly, then use the peeling and "mush" to make fruit leather. I did the cores in a separate pan so they were easy to remove and throw away without the fear of having seeds somewhere in the mush batch. NO waste!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chacoma13 July 19, 2015
Crock Pot Apple Butter