Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Apple Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Apple Butter

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2011

      This is delicious apple butter! I used 5.5 lbs granny smith apples, 4c sugar, and 3t apple pie spice. I cored the apples but left the skin on. I chopped them in my food processor, stired in the sugar and spice, and cooked on high for 1 hr. Then I turned my crockpot down to low and went to bed. 8 hours later, it was done! I put it in my food processor to get a smooth texture and returned it to the crockpot to thicken on high for 1 hr. PERFECT apple butter! Processed for 10 minutes. I will make more for gifts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This is delicious, very easy to make since hubby peeled the apples. The entire family said 10 stars would be the correct rating for this recipe. Thank for sharing a great keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Great recipe! I used only Macintosh Apples. After reading the other reviews, I decided to go ahead and cut back on the sugar. I doubled the amount of apples. I used 10 lbs. of apples, with only 4 cups of sugar. I kept the spices doubled following what the recipe called for. If I had used a more tart apple, I would have used the sugar called for. I have given it away to family and friends and they love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I used a mixture of Gala, Fuji, Red Delicious, and Braeburn apples. I didn't have a problem with it being too sweet, as some other reviewers stated. I think the trick is to mix tart and sweet apples. After cooking on low overnight, I ran it through the blender to break down the remaining apple chunks. Returned it to the crock pot until it thickened. It smelled wonderful and tastes great! I canned it using a hot bath method, and ended up with 4 pints. I'll definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Just like Grandma used to make but better! The aroma coming from the crock pot was heavenly. I used Golden Delicious and Gaia apples but halved the recipe since I didn't know how much apple butter we would actually eat up. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It feels just like my grandma made it and makes me smile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Oh my GOSH, good! I used a mix of gala and goldens, and left the skins on about half for the fiber and the pectin. The stick blender makes short work of them, so don't worry about getting a mouthful of skins. I couldn't quite fit all my apples into the crockpot, so I had to wait until it cooked down for an hour before dumping the rest in, but it all came together in the end. 2 t of cinnamon was plenty spicy for me so, as with any recipe, I'd say start small and add more to taste. I used 2 c of Splenda and 1/2 c of sugar, and it came out perfectly. This stuff is incredibly delicious, especially the next day after it has had a chance to settle. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Good flavor, just like the stuff you buy at the orchards. Used the rest of our apple picking apples and it made quite a bit, had to freeze most of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      It was easy and is tasty but it's not as thick and creamy as I remember from my childhood. That was a long time ago, though, so maybe the memory is faulty. My backyard apples were tart so I used 4 cups of sugar, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown. Used my immersion blender to smooth it. Cooked about 3 hours on low with the cover off to thicken it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Made this for gift baskets....now I hope that I still have some to go into the gift baskets! This is really great. I used a combination of 3 different apples because I love the blended flavors. Will be making another batch this weekend. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      I can't wait to try this recipe, sounds soooo delicious. I read a few of the reviews and got alot of tips. I am just learning how to can food, I hope mine turns out good!!!! Would like to give some to my special friends at work and family. Thanks for sharing!!!! Hugs and Smiles, Ginger-root from Illinois.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Made this butter this past week. It sure does make the kitchen smell good. I know what most of the reviewers say about the sweetness but I wanted to try the recipe myself first without adjusting anything. I had used a mix of gala,delicious, braeburn and granny smith. I cored them and peeled them and cut in chunks to put in my food processor and this worked perfectly. I just mixed everything directly in the crockpot. I had cooked uncovered on low for the hour then turned to Hi for 8 hours and then uncovered for another hour on high. Came out with the perfect consistency for me and what a great flavor. Yes it is on the sweet side, but not overly. I can see how choosing apples can affect this. It came out with such a nice dark brown color too. I had purchased the 8 oz jars to use for these and I made 7 of them. I couldn't find the 4 oz jars which is what I prefer for these kinds of things. Thanks for a wonderful recipe Maro59.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Made this recipe the other day and WOWZA! it's good! But don't be fooled into putting 4 cups of sugar in-- that's WAAAAYYY too much and I have quite the sweet tooth. I only put 2 cups in and it was pretty darn sweet-- I can only handle a few tablespoons of the apple butter on my toast. My hubby, on the other hand, downed almost the entire jar in two days. At least he's getting his fiber (I left the skins on then pureed the mix in my magic bullet when it was done). I also used a 5lb bag of Fuji apples, cored them with those cutter thingees (you push down on it and it cuts the apple into slices and cores it at the same time-- you can get it at the supermarket) then I cut those pieces into smaller pieces. I did stir it every few hours, even leaving the top off for a couple hours to get it to not be so liquidy. The house smelled amazing! I also couldn't find any cloves so I used a tsp of nutmeg instead. To can it and seal it (to give one jar away), I used the inversion method. Look it up because it's so much easier than boiling. Just be sure to wipe your jars totallly clean, including the lid and top of the jar because the lid will stick if there's any residue of apple butter on it. Try it! This recipe couldn't be easier!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This is fantastic. I used my immersion stick blender and pureed the mixture right in the crock pot when I uncovered it then let it cook for the other hour. Love this stuff. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I did so many things wrong making this recipe and it was still awesome, lol! I forgot to chop the apples finely before putting them in, so they cooked for an hour on high before I remembered to go mash them up. Then I feel asleep while they were cooking and didn't end up stirring it at all! I cooked it 11 hours, 2 hours uncovered, and it turned out just perfect. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Wow! This was my first time making apple butter, and it is delicious! I had bought some apples from FFA and I got a few more from a local discount grocery store. The hardest part was coring and peeling the apples (I had about 15) but if you have a peeler/corer thingie, this is super easy! I put it in the crockpot on high for an hour then turned it to low and went to bed. I woke up to the delicious smell of apples and cinnamon! I stirred it a few times then took the lid off. When it was done, I put it in the blender to make it a little smoother. I was afraid it wasn't going to be thick enough, but showed it to hubby (the reason I made it in the first place) and he said it was perfect! I got about 9 1/2 8 oz. jelly jars out of it! I also cut back on the sugar a tiny bit. Will use this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      this was very good, cut the sugar by half and it was just fine, used sweet Apples from Our tree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Sitting here finishing off a piece of toast with the wonderful apple butter I made yesterday. OMG, it is delicious. Thank you for this recipe, I will be making several batches for Christmas gifts this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      The absolute best apple butter. I made a dbl batch of this . I used 10 pounds go transparent apples. For doubling the recipe I doubled all the ingredients except for the sugar. I used 5 cups total. I was able to get 18 8 oz jelly jars out of a dbl batch. I water bathed them for 15 mins. I will be making another batch of this very soon. I used 3 crockpots then added them together as the apples cooked down. I cored the apples but left the skin on. Then used my immersion stick blender to purée it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This is the best one i have found and that i liked and that did not have to a ha million steps to it was so easy and taste great will be making this again :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Our son and his new wife used their wedding present to make this and shared how good it was. Since we were finishing out a *bumper crop* year of apples at home, I decided to try it for a couple of batches. OHMYGOODNESS! I'm so making more next year! My husband is going through a half pint every week!

      I used a mix of Granny Smith and Jonathan apples. I made the second batch a bit spicier and liked it better. I also eased up on the sugar in both recipes.

      Absolutely phenomenal recipe! Highly recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Apple Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    10%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 36.3 g
    145%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes