12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I picked this recipe for crock pot apple butter since it used the least sugar (I also liked cider instead of water), and I attempted to follow it exactly as written. I was excited NOT to have to peel all those apples! The first half went well, cooking on low overnight and then using my food processor to purée. The second half didn't work for me. After an hour on low for no change, I ended up going for 10 hours on high without the lid, with frequent stirring and scraping down the sides. After that, the apple butter was as thick as I expected. However, this also meant the sugar was highly concentrated too, and in fact far too sweet for me. I thought I had followed the recipe, but I had actually grabbed by 3/4 cup measure, not my 1 cup measure, so I only put in 1.5 cups sugar total. If I make this again, 3/4 cup sugar is the upper limit! I used mostly Stayman-Winesap apples and they are fairly sweet, so that might be down to 1/4 cup sugar if any.<br/><br/>This recipe is a GREAT guideline, the result tastes good, but it should have much less sugar, and much more cooking for thickening (cook off the liquid!) after the purée step.<br/><br/>PS: 16 cups is 4 quarts, so I chopped apples until I filled my 4-quart crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope December 13, 2013

This apple butter is super easy to make and delicious, but it never really got thick for me. I called a friend who makes apple butter all the time and she said it's suppose to be thick. I think I cooked it way too long in the crock pot maybe. This apple butter tastes great though, just wish it was thicker. Since I made this recipe, I posted my own version and added dry pectin and cooked it over the stove for 1 hour instead of in a crock pot for over ten hours. Turned out great and thick. If I make this recipe again, I won't cook it that long and add dry pectin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Clarice December 07, 2009

Very easy and very tasty too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leightan W. October 24, 2009

This was absolutely excellent! Our family usually buys apples a case at a time and we always wonder what to do with the last flat or so. I ended up grating some fresh nutmeg into the mix as well and was very happy with the results. Next time I may put a stick or two of cinnamon in with the apples to start with and see how that goes. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lord Bezoar February 10, 2009

Awesome flavour, so simple to make and tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graysonig July 26, 2008

This makes great tasting apple butter. I have made this several times already, each time it turns out wonderful. I do try to mix varieties of apples that I use. The last time I used quite a few Granny Smith. It was quite tart and I did need to add about 1/2 cup more sugar. I also omit the cloves and add a touch more cinnamon. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tstollar February 10, 2008

Tasted great and was very easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
victoria.singletary October 09, 2007

Delicious, easy and flavorful! This is a great recipe! I made this as directed using honey crisp apples and I doubled the spices (personal preference). I canned mine to give to friends. Thaks Bev for a nice recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva September 03, 2007

I made this and loved it. I used Ida Red apples. Instead of using sugar, I waited until the mixture had cooled and added 16 packages of Equal. It is delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 08, 2006

YUM! This is great apple butter! The consistancy is perfect, the color is beautiful and the flavour is delicious! I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and used apple juice instead of cider. We had lots of goodland apples from our tree so actually made two batches. Thanks for a keeper Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE October 31, 2006
Crock Pot Apple Butter