Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Apple Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Apple Butter

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2013

      I picked this recipe for crock pot apple butter since it used the least sugar (I also liked cider instead of water), and I attempted to follow it exactly as written. I was excited NOT to have to peel all those apples! The first half went well, cooking on low overnight and then using my food processor to purée. The second half didn't work for me. After an hour on low for no change, I ended up going for 10 hours on high without the lid, with frequent stirring and scraping down the sides. After that, the apple butter was as thick as I expected. However, this also meant the sugar was highly concentrated too, and in fact far too sweet for me. I thought I had followed the recipe, but I had actually grabbed by 3/4 cup measure, not my 1 cup measure, so I only put in 1.5 cups sugar total. If I make this again, 3/4 cup sugar is the upper limit! I used mostly Stayman-Winesap apples and they are fairly sweet, so that might be down to 1/4 cup sugar if any.<br/><br/>This recipe is a GREAT guideline, the result tastes good, but it should have much less sugar, and much more cooking for thickening (cook off the liquid!) after the purée step.<br/><br/>PS: 16 cups is 4 quarts, so I chopped apples until I filled my 4-quart crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This apple butter is super easy to make and delicious, but it never really got thick for me. I called a friend who makes apple butter all the time and she said it's suppose to be thick. I think I cooked it way too long in the crock pot maybe. This apple butter tastes great though, just wish it was thicker. Since I made this recipe, I posted my own version and added dry pectin and cooked it over the stove for 1 hour instead of in a crock pot for over ten hours. Turned out great and thick. If I make this recipe again, I won't cook it that long and add dry pectin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Very easy and very tasty too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This was absolutely excellent! Our family usually buys apples a case at a time and we always wonder what to do with the last flat or so. I ended up grating some fresh nutmeg into the mix as well and was very happy with the results. Next time I may put a stick or two of cinnamon in with the apples to start with and see how that goes. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Awesome flavour, so simple to make and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This makes great tasting apple butter. I have made this several times already, each time it turns out wonderful. I do try to mix varieties of apples that I use. The last time I used quite a few Granny Smith. It was quite tart and I did need to add about 1/2 cup more sugar. I also omit the cloves and add a touch more cinnamon. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Tasted great and was very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Delicious, easy and flavorful! This is a great recipe! I made this as directed using honey crisp apples and I doubled the spices (personal preference). I canned mine to give to friends. Thaks Bev for a nice recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I made this and loved it. I used Ida Red apples. Instead of using sugar, I waited until the mixture had cooled and added 16 packages of Equal. It is delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      YUM! This is great apple butter! The consistancy is perfect, the color is beautiful and the flavour is delicious! I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and used apple juice instead of cider. We had lots of goodland apples from our tree so actually made two batches. Thanks for a keeper Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I wish I had found this recipe earlier in the fall, when I had bushels of apples. I only had enough left for a half batch, and none of it will make it to the freezer! This is just wonderful! It's perfectly seasoned and just the right thickness. Thanks for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Wonderful! Toolie sent me some apple butter from Canada a couple of years ago and I've been looking for a recipe to approximate it since - this is the one! Rich, nicely-spiced and so easy to prepare! We love eating this on scones or muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Apple Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (2884 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    21%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.0 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 75.8 g
    303%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites