Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2002

      I confess; I didn't make this recipe...but I stole an idea from it and I think the recipe deserves some credit! I made corned beef for dinner on St. Paddy's Day (March 17/02 - part of our Zaar Go Irish-Go Green cook-a-thon) and, thanks to reading this recipe, I added apple juice and brown sugar to the water I cooked the corned beef in. Excellent! Mirjam, I will try this slow-cooker recipe in the future, but I wanted you to know that those 2 ingredients were just super additions and I never would have thought of using them if I hadn't had this recipe in My Cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      INCREDIBLE FLAVOR!!!! I used about 1/2 a bag of baby carrots and can see that I will have to add a full bag, my kids were picking through the dish to get at the carrots (they are reminiscent of the brown sugar butter carrots my mom made when I was a kid). At my husbands request I took about 1 1/2 cups of the juices from the crock pot and made a gravy which turned out to be very good. I look forward to making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      My Irish hubby was in heaven after making this. The smell is incredible. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added more carrots, was glad I did. We gobbled the carrots down first. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I hate to be the only one, but this was just ok for us. My husband first thought the potatoes were sweet potatoes. The apple juice did tone the saltiness down quite a bit. I did 1 1/2 cups of apple juice and 1 cup water with about 1/2 cup brown sugar. I still added the season packet. For some reason I thought it was a bit spicy. The carrots, potatoes, and onions were good. I just like the old boiled all together method. I still ate my beef with mustard like I usually do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      My mom, my friend and I really enjoyed this recipe. I reduced the brown sugar to half, and in future, I would reduce the apple juice to half as well and sub water. I prefer it less sweet -- and still thought it had plenty of flavor. Also, I added the spice packet that came with the corned beef, which I thought went fine with the juice and brown sugar . . . Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      We have made this recipe since 2009. My husband who was born St. Patrick's day, his whole name is Irish, has the fair skin, etc needs a good St. Patty's day recipe. I love my plate with horse radish sauce to dip this in. We usually have some green pistachio pudding as dessert or key lime pie but, this is so easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      We loved this! Next time around I just need to use a bigger crock pot as mine was a bit too small and I wanted to cram as many veggies in as I could. :) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      5 stars for taste. I was looking for something a little different in the Corned Beef and Cabbage department and this was it. I cut the amounts of apple juice and brown sugar in half as it seemed like a lot of liquid and I was happy that I did. I think I would have had way too much liquid if I used the entire amount. I set the chunks of cabbage on top of the corned beef and they seemed to cook just right. I don't make corned beef and cabbage often, but I will make it again this way. Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      So simple and so good! I must admit that I forgot the sugar altogether but it was still excellent and the sweetness of the apple juice seemed to do the trick anyway. My wife is breastfeeding at the moment so I didn't throw any cabbage in. I also put in more carrots and the kids loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This was really good and had a great flavor. I made it while my mother was visiting. She had never had corned beef this way and said she really liked it. The only problem I had was mine boiled over. I either had too much meat or too many veggies I think. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Wow! I've never had corned beef even close to this. The beef was so tender and delicious. I followed other people's suggestions and added extra carrots (thank goodness, because the kids asked for more) and steamed the cabbage separately. This is a recipe I'll make through out the year, not just on St. Patrick's Day. Thanks for posting an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This is the only way I've made corned beef and cabbage for the last 10 years. It tastes heavenly. I don't put in an onion -- I may try that next time. Highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I made this for dinner today and it was good. It cooked on low for around 8 hours and the corned beef was tender and moist. I liked everything but the cabbage which had really weird flavor to it, that I didn't care for. I liked the sweetness that this added to the potatoes and carrots, it was sweet without being to much. Don't pack the brown sugar in the cup, I think that would make it overly sweet. I also added a little bit more mustard. I would make this again but just cook the cabbage on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      cooked it about 8 hours. it turned out so tender. very good taste to the meat and vegetables. thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Dh and I tried corned beef for the first time this past St. Patrick's Day when I made a new sandwich recipe. We both loved it, so I decided to try one in the crockpot. This was awesome! The meat came out so tender and not at all salty. The kids weren't crazy about it, but they ate the veggies in it like they were going out of style! Thanks for such a great way to pursuade them to eat more veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

    • on March 17, 2008

      I hosted a St. Patty's dinner last night and made this along with Irish Rosie's Soda Bread #20616. We drank some Smithwick's Irish Ale, and I made a lime poke cake. It was a huge hit with my in-laws and family friends. This goes in the recipe box. * Note- traditional corned beef fans agreed that this was much sweeter than they were accustomed to. Thanks for giving my husband and I a new family tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      DELICIOUS!!! I made it as stated but also added the seasoning packet that comes with the corned beef brisket. I also layered it a bit different, beef on bottom with root veggies and cabbage last so it wouldn't be soggy and used 4 carrots..forgot about the onion. Next time I'm using the whole head of cabbage it wasn't enough for us. We loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      YUM!!! My hubby who swears he hates corn beef scarfed this down. Good thing cuz sandwiches are to follow tomorrow. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. The meat was tender and sweetly flavoured, and it was easy to get my fussy eaters to eat their veggies! Thank you so much for posting what will quickly become a family favourite xxx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.3
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    71%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 114.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.8 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 58.5 g
    234%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corned beef brisket

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites