35 Reviews

I confess; I didn't make this recipe...but I stole an idea from it and I think the recipe deserves some credit! I made corned beef for dinner on St. Paddy's Day (March 17/02 - part of our Zaar Go Irish-Go Green cook-a-thon) and, thanks to reading this recipe, I added apple juice and brown sugar to the water I cooked the corned beef in. Excellent! Mirjam, I will try this slow-cooker recipe in the future, but I wanted you to know that those 2 ingredients were just super additions and I never would have thought of using them if I hadn't had this recipe in My Cookbook!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie March 18, 2002

INCREDIBLE FLAVOR!!!! I used about 1/2 a bag of baby carrots and can see that I will have to add a full bag, my kids were picking through the dish to get at the carrots (they are reminiscent of the brown sugar butter carrots my mom made when I was a kid). At my husbands request I took about 1 1/2 cups of the juices from the crock pot and made a gravy which turned out to be very good. I look forward to making this again and again.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie in SLO May 18, 2002

My Irish hubby was in heaven after making this. The smell is incredible. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added more carrots, was glad I did. We gobbled the carrots down first. Thanks for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo March 16, 2003

Loved the apple juice touch in this recipe! My corned beef brisket was a small one so I cut back the apple juice in half. I also didn't add any brown sugar. The sweetness from the apple juice was perfect for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 27, 2015

I hate to be the only one, but this was just ok for us. My husband first thought the potatoes were sweet potatoes. The apple juice did tone the saltiness down quite a bit. I did 1 1/2 cups of apple juice and 1 cup water with about 1/2 cup brown sugar. I still added the season packet. For some reason I thought it was a bit spicy. The carrots, potatoes, and onions were good. I just like the old boiled all together method. I still ate my beef with mustard like I usually do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel September 05, 2012

My mom, my friend and I really enjoyed this recipe. I reduced the brown sugar to half, and in future, I would reduce the apple juice to half as well and sub water. I prefer it less sweet -- and still thought it had plenty of flavor. Also, I added the spice packet that came with the corned beef, which I thought went fine with the juice and brown sugar . . . Thanks Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yoshi05ys March 22, 2012

We have made this recipe since 2009. My husband who was born St. Patrick's day, his whole name is Irish, has the fair skin, etc needs a good St. Patty's day recipe. I love my plate with horse radish sauce to dip this in. We usually have some green pistachio pudding as dessert or key lime pie but, this is so easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faery Dreamsical March 14, 2012

We loved this! Next time around I just need to use a bigger crock pot as mine was a bit too small and I wanted to cram as many veggies in as I could. :) Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicatcooks May 18, 2010

5 stars for taste. I was looking for something a little different in the Corned Beef and Cabbage department and this was it. I cut the amounts of apple juice and brown sugar in half as it seemed like a lot of liquid and I was happy that I did. I think I would have had way too much liquid if I used the entire amount. I set the chunks of cabbage on top of the corned beef and they seemed to cook just right. I don't make corned beef and cabbage often, but I will make it again this way. Thanks Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith March 07, 2010

So simple and so good! I must admit that I forgot the sugar altogether but it was still excellent and the sweetness of the apple juice seemed to do the trick anyway. My wife is breastfeeding at the moment so I didn't throw any cabbage in. I also put in more carrots and the kids loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trommo September 11, 2009
Crock Pot Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef