Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Critchell House Prime Rib Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Critchell House Prime Rib Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2012

      I love this recipe! I've made it several times now over the past 3 years since I found this recipe and it always turns out delicious. My family loves it! The only part of the recipe that I've skipped is chilling the broth to get rid of the fat. The only things I do different from the directions is I brown the bones on both sides and let them simmer for at least 2 1/2 hours. I like the caramelization I get on the meat and in the pot, which I think helps to enrich the broth, and the extra cooking time makes the meat so tender it falls off the bones! Easy and simple recipe with delicious results every time. Perfect for those chilly winter nights!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This is a great recipe, and can easily be adapted to whatever veggies you have left over after the meal. I think you could make it with other less costly cuts of beef when it isn't a special meal. Also, I varied the barley and used another grain blend from Tader Joes because I happened to have it...and it worked beautifully! Because I had roasted potatoes with thhe Prime Rib, I used the leftovers instead of other potatoes--delicious! So EASY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      I made this with leftover prime rib. WONDERFUL. I highly recommend. The only changes that I made was added sliced mushrooms and would probably not add noodles next time.
      GREAT GREAT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I followed Diana's directions in making it so it could refrigerate and lighten the fat content. This is such a light tasting but filling soup. Oxymoron aside it really is delightful. For my veggies I used the carrots, taters, celery, green beans and 1/2 tomato chopped- all from the garden. I have some swiss chard which I will add to it before freezing the leftovers minus a bowl for my lunch tomorrow. Served this with Italian garlic bread and oh wow was it good together. I am so happy to have a container in the freezer for one of those "what to make for dinner" days when it is cold and blustery out there.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Amazing soup! My only 'tweek' for my family would be to use 1/2 of the salt as I used a frozen vegetable medly specifically made for soup and it already had some salt in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Excellent recipe! Have been making this for the past 2 years and the results are very positive. A very hearty soup and filling. Great taste and gets better the day after!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Lovely broth, lovely taste, and hearty enough to fill all aspects of your soul. A wonderful delish, even the dog was sitting with his nose on the counter wondering what that wonderful aroma was coming from. (Also, I had to not give him the bone - so I guess his nickers were in a knot) I followed this exactly, the real star of this soup is the broth. So smooth, it could of been compared to the smoothness on a lake once iced over. The additions of barley, potatoes, noodles, and mixed veggies, were terrific with this and was so welcomed. I made this the day prior and served the next day, when all the flavors had combined. Served with homemade hot rolls and the house was full of love! Thank you for a delicious taste sensation! Made for *January Soup Event* Diabetic Forum - January 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      delish! maybe slightly salty due to evaporation/concentration of flavor. Will make again and again. Hubby said best soup ever...!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This soup was so tasty, I loved it. And the next day the soup is thicker and is more like a stew. It takes a little while to cook, but it's completely worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This is a very tasty, rich soup. DH & I both loved it. I omitted the barley, but otherwise followed directions. Though I did add some cut up prime rib that was leftover and used leftover vegetables. I also served it with Kittencal's Jalapeno bread, I had half a loaf in the freezer. I have to say it was a little "time intensive", but very easy and great flavored. Thanks for posting, I won't lose this one! I still have 4 prime rib bones left in the freezer for the next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      I made the broth early this morning, then refrigerated it and removed the fat which worked really well. I finished the soup off later this afternoon and even made my own noodles from Homemade Pasta. Tasted great, but I am betting it will be even better tomorrow. Thanks Diana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Critchell House Prime Rib Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.6
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    81%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 5.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 833.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef ribs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes