8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loula, you have the best cookie recipes! I have to laugh at myself - the first time I made these (yesterday), I completely forgot the oats - it came to me when I was saving the photo. Even so, the cookies came out well! Having remade them WITH the oats today, they're even better! I increased the brown sugar to 6 tbsp, as my audience likes a sweeter cookie. I also used vanilla bean paste; the flavour came through extremely well! For those using american measurements, the butter was 1/3 cup, the oats were 1 cup, and the chocolate chips were 2/3 cup. I got 22 cookies, which I made with my handy dandy cookie scoop. Thanks for the great recipe! I particularly like that they make a small batch. Made for PRMR Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 02, 2010

Not too sweet, crispy, easy to make, what more can one wish for a rainy Sunday afternoon. I got 20 cookies, they baked for 15 minutes and I too liked that it makes a small batch. They went perfect with the afternoon coffee, such a treat.
Furthermore I was especially pleased with the metric measurements, so much easier, at least for me.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo January 18, 2012

I am lovin' these tender bites of chocolatey oatmeal goodness. These cookies are a cinch to whip up with ingredients that I usually have on hand. I was out of vanilla bean so I used vanilla extract. I whizzed the oatmeal in the food processor which I think is what makes these cookies so tender...they practically melt in your mouth. I loved the finer texture of these oatmeal cookies. They are delicious and you don't have to feel guilty treating yourself to a couple. They go perfectly with a cold glass of skim milk. I also like that it doesn't make a huge batch. I got 15 cookies out of my batch. Thanks for sharing, Loula! Made for March 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 March 08, 2011

These cookies are low cal and high fiber. They aren't too sweet, but sweet enough to satisfy that sweet tooth when you are craving chocolate. I put my oats in the food processor, and this worked well for me. Also added liquid vanilla to the liquid mix, since I didn't have any vanilla bean. Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 15, 2010

Very nice. I made these on the spur of the moment and it was very easy to do. I didnt have vanilla bean so I put a little vanilla in the batter. I will make these more often as there isnt alot of sugar in it. and the taste good. Thanks for posting. Made for PARTY

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda December 09, 2010

This recipe definitely deserves 5 stars for simple ingredients, ease of making them, a perfect two dozen cookies, and a nice soft texture. I goofed on one little thing by not pressing down the balls of cookies so I received 24 nice little round nuggets of goodness. They still retained their shape and did not fall apart even though they were definitely balls of cookies! ha ha Loved how simple they are to prepare and that I have these ingredients on hand all the time so very easy on the budget to make for my family & friends. Thanks to Katzen too for her US conversions - they worked perfectly! Made for Potluck Tag game!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 21, 2010

Another great recipe from Loula. I used the oat bran choice, 2 tbsp Splenda brown sugar, 1/4 cup of egg white and backed the chocolate off to just 2 1/2 ounces. They came out superb. These small gems can be served to anyone with no apologies given or needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 24, 2010

Mmm-mm-mmmm.... so good! I measured these little guys in a melon-baller scoop and ended up with 44 of them!!! These are like sophisticated adult chocolate chip cookies. They aren't full of sugar and I can appreciate the oatbran consistency. I did whiz the oats in a mini processor and I LOVE measuring things by weight. It's like a science experiment and I like to have the control when baking because I am NO baker! Made for Holiday Tag. Thanks Lalaloula! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 27, 2010
Crispy Yummy Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies