23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this was really good and easy to make! Will make this often. I followed the directions as you posted them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown December 02, 2012

I could have sworn that I've seen Shake N Bake in the shops here...but I guess my eyes deceived me. Instead, I improvised and used a seasoned crispy coating mix ( probably the Australian equivalent), and a hot salsa with Colby cheese.
We loved this..even the children gobbled theirs up.
A fantastically simple and very tasty meal that I am looking forward to making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo March 19, 2012

Very good and so easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used cheddar cheese instead of monterey jack as that is all I had. I also didn't measure the salsa and cheese, I just dumped it on. We all enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 21, 2010

Excellent. My coating didn't stick so mixed an egg and a little water together and then coated the chicken breasts. I used some of my homemade salsa and it was great. Probably added more cheese than called for but it suited us. Thanks Syd for sharing. Will be made again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 13, 2009

Wow! I haven't used shake n bake in ages. I didn't even know they still made it. This created a very moist and tender piece of chicken with a nice touch of crunch for the coating. I used a hot salsa and pepper jack cheese only because we enjoy spicy food. This is so easy to prepare and it looks great plated. I served it with Syd's Crumb-Coated Potato Halves and a side of frozen corn for a delicious dinner. Made for Zaar stars tag game. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 05, 2009

YUMMY! Talk about some easy and good chicken. I used Homemade Shake and Bake and it worked great. I also only had mozzarella but that worked fine. Made for Holiday Tag Game 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 28, 2009

This was delicious. The flavor was perfect. I used Mexican shredded cheese instead of the monterey jack because that was all I had but it was still great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan September 08, 2009

Delicious, easy and very quick. I had most ingredients on hand but had to mix up a quick copy of Shake n Bake and I used old cheddar. perfect! I will definitely be making this again Mike. Made for Went to the Market. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 08, 2009

How great is this? We thoroughly enjoyed this, for many of the reasons already reviewed here below. I only changed the chicken size and part. I used chicken thighs that included the bone, and made my own "Shake & Bake" by using Shake and Bake Mix. The thighs cooked in the oven for exactly 40 minutes, removed and added hot salsa, and jack cheese and continued to bake for 5 minutes. Divine! Very moist and so tender. I even added a dab of sour cream to the top after removing from the oven. So great I almost ate two pieces but held off. Thanks, Sydney Mike! Made for *I Reccomend* game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm September 07, 2008

While this was FAR from a gourmet chicken dish, this one deserve 5 stars for the ease of making it and for the tastiness of something with so few ingredients and effort. As chicken goes, this was super moist and super flavorful. I used hot and spicy shake n bake and used Chi Chi's medium salsa. Followed the recipe to the letter and it was wonderful. I paired this tonight with #276402 and salsa rice. Wonderful and healthy! Win-Win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl August 20, 2008
Crispy Salsa Chicken