69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has become our go to recipe for salmon cakes for sometime now but I never got around to posting a review until now. Follow the recipe exactly, make sure to use the flavoured mayonnaise, and you will not be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob July 04, 2011

Delish! I had leftover fresh salmon on hand and roasted it so it was cooked vs the canned. Even my picky eating little ones polished theirs off. Littlest one asked me to make it again. Family hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura S. March 12, 2010

DELICIOUS! We only had Ritz crackers and it was a good choice. Also threw in some cilantro but I bet parlsey or other herbs would add to the flavor nicely. Oldest son who hates fish said it wasn't too bad - ha! Parents think it's hands-down the best salmon cakes we've ever had. THANK YOU for sharing this one!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennabelle February 06, 2010

Made these for dinner last night -but with the following changes. Used leftover cooked salmon and finely diced the onion and celery and also 1/4 cup red bell pepper Rather than sauteing them I added them to the salmon mixture and the taste and texture were amazing. Was short of cracker crumbs so used Panco for the outsides. We served them on a bed of mixed baby spinach and baby spring mix with herbs, and drizzled everything with a Lemon, Lime, Basil & Caper Vinaigrette for a bit more of a heart healthy meal. Couldn't have had it any better at a fine restaurant!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southshore cook September 18, 2009

Best recipe for salmon cakes I have ever come across. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patrick Bannasch June 28, 2012

My husband LOVES when I make these. I stick to the recipe (except when I know my son's eating too- then I use 3 cans of salmon.) I think that the evil mayo dressing and the ritz crackers make this yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vejvoda May 02, 2011

These were quite good! I used Townhouse crackers instead of saltines, and since I discovered we were out of hot sauce, I put in a little hot chili paste. I also added a little parsley and Old Bay to the outside crackers, which was nice. I personally don't like capers so I made the sauce as directed, but added some dill instead of capers. Was pretty good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvt96 March 26, 2011

These were the best salmon patties I have ever tasted! They came together perfectly and I really liked the sauce too! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes June 05, 2010

These were great, everyone loved them! Will be making again for sure. Was a nice change from regular fish cakes I grew up with. Made recipe exactly as shown, except used whole-wheat soda crackers, as I don't buy the plain white ones. Can't wait to try it sometime with fresh cooked salmon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 May 25, 2010

Superb! Just plain superb! This recipe came highly recommended from the 2009 Member's Cookbook so I saved it until I had the perfect chance to make it. Flavours burst in your mouth and we all would have licked our plates clean if we were alone. :) LOVED the sauce, LOVED the patties; directions were easy-peasy; I wouldn't ever change a thing! I'm now adding it to the 2010 Member's Cookbook as a "Must Make Dish". Served with sauteed spinach and garlic with country-fried potatoes. Thanks, GaylaJ!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef March 01, 2010
Crispy Salmon Cakes With Lemon- Caper Mayonnaise