43 Reviews

I made this for dinner, with thick Costco cod planks. It was very good. I skipped the panfrying step and baked it at 400 for 20 minutes. I also added about 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese to the breading.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaofmany March 08, 2010

This is a great way to have fish.I scaled the recipe down to 3 fillets.Like alot of others,I didn't pan fry this at all.I baked it in a 375F oven for about 25 minutes. This coating would be nice on chicken too.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny May 15, 2010

The fish had great texture - a nice crispy outer layer. However, this had little to no taste. I couldn't taste any of the herbs, aside from the cayenne, which I found disappointing. I had hoped for a subtle lemon flavour, due to the lemon pepper. If I were to make this again, I would greatly increase the amount of herbs and decrease the amount of breadcrumbs and cornmeal.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC September 17, 2009

This recipe was great in concept and I will definitely make it again, but I will be making a few changes. <br/><br/>1. In the ingredient list, it should specify whether store-bought seasoned breadcrumbs should be used. I always make my own breadcrumbs and if "seasoned breadcrumbs" were listed on the recipe, I would have known to adjust the seasoning accordingly. Since I wasn't sure, and I didn't want to end up way over-seasoning, I kept the salt content the same. As a result, my fish was grossly under-seasoned; almost bland.<br/><br/>2. I like the texture that the corn meal adds, but dipping it twice makes for too thick of a coating. In my opinion, a simple dredge in flour, then egg, then dry mix would work just fine and work better with the fish. <br/><br/>3. Like other reviewers have mentioned, I will skip the pan frying step next time as well. I don't think it's necessary and I think it will crisp nicely in the oven.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wobetxela July 16, 2013

Great recipe! Here's my twist: use a coating made up of the crushed remnants of crackers like Triscuits, Ritz, Wheat Thins, Rye Krisp, Cheese Nibs, etc. There's always some breakage in the box, so I dump that, and the remaining "duff," into a covered container for later use. The various crackers' seasonings combine to form a tasty source for "breading" all kinds of things, and can be processed further in a blender or food processor as needed. It's a great substitute wherever bread crumbs are called for, does away with the need to add any salt, and worked well with the yogurt coating I used to replace the milk and eggs in this recipe. And yes, I omitted the frying step, too, as I must at my age.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mginsd April 09, 2013

I made this for dinner tonight and my whole family loved it! I followed other reviewers' suggestions of "double dipping" the fish and skipping the pan-frying step. I sprayed the top of the fish with cooking spray after placing it on an oiled baking sheet, and I had to bake it a little longer because of not frying it first. I will try it with other varieties of fish--my husband is really looking forward to having catfish prepared in this manner!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsharp90 February 26, 2010

I have had some cod fillets in my freezer for a while now and since we've been trying to eat more fish, I decided it was the time to try out this recipe. We will definitely be eating more cod now... this produced a rally tasty and tender piece of fish. The amount of breading seemed a little much, but it was perfect when you double dip each fillet. The only thing I did different was to omit the pan frying entirely. I just sprayed a pan with some olive oil and set the fillets in a pre heated 400F oven for about 12 minutes... I also sprayed the tops of the fillets with olive oil and they turned out so crispy. My BF thought I had actually deep fried them... LOL Thanks for a great and easy fish recipe... we will be making this often!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl June 05, 2008

David made this for our family tonight, and the kids loved it! They came back for 2nds, 3rds, 4ths...and they even loved it on lettuce wraps with lots of fresh veggie toppings! Just a few NOTES based on our tastes/dietary needs: David cooked the fish up New Orleans' style with Tony Chachere's Fish Fry instead of seasoning salt. He substituted 6 egg whites + about 1/2 cup fat-free milk for the 3 whole eggs to lower cholesterol and fat. The cod's pkg directions said it was better not to thaw the fish, and using it semi-frozen helped the breading to adhere better. Our fillets were thicker than recommended, so he cut them in half horizontally. (Use a SHARP knife!) Finally, David skipped the pan-frying and baked the fillets for 6 mins on each side (flipping carefully!). This was a HUGE hit tonight, and we will most definitely be making this one again. Thanks for posting KITTENCAL! :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather3271 March 11, 2007

Once again another wonderful recipe from you. I was looking for a batter recipe to use on some whiting we had in the freezer that my husband decided to have for dinner. I started searching zaar and at the top of the list was yours and I knew I didn't need to look any further. It was wonderful. Great taste, flavor and crunch. Thanks for wonderful recipes!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbc789 March 14, 2009

Delicious! I followed one reviewers suggestion and baked @ 400 for 12 minutes instead of frying and it was super crispy. I'll definitely be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 February 25, 2009
Crispy Oven-Fried Cod Fish