Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Oven-Fried Cod Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Oven-Fried Cod Fish

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2010

      I made this for dinner, with thick Costco cod planks. It was very good. I skipped the panfrying step and baked it at 400 for 20 minutes. I also added about 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese to the breading.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      This is a great way to have fish.I scaled the recipe down to 3 fillets.Like alot of others,I didn't pan fry this at all.I baked it in a 375F oven for about 25 minutes. This coating would be nice on chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      The fish had great texture - a nice crispy outer layer. However, this had little to no taste. I couldn't taste any of the herbs, aside from the cayenne, which I found disappointing. I had hoped for a subtle lemon flavour, due to the lemon pepper. If I were to make this again, I would greatly increase the amount of herbs and decrease the amount of breadcrumbs and cornmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      This recipe was great in concept and I will definitely make it again, but I will be making a few changes. <br/><br/>1. In the ingredient list, it should specify whether store-bought seasoned breadcrumbs should be used. I always make my own breadcrumbs and if "seasoned breadcrumbs" were listed on the recipe, I would have known to adjust the seasoning accordingly. Since I wasn't sure, and I didn't want to end up way over-seasoning, I kept the salt content the same. As a result, my fish was grossly under-seasoned; almost bland.<br/><br/>2. I like the texture that the corn meal adds, but dipping it twice makes for too thick of a coating. In my opinion, a simple dredge in flour, then egg, then dry mix would work just fine and work better with the fish. <br/><br/>3. Like other reviewers have mentioned, I will skip the pan frying step next time as well. I don't think it's necessary and I think it will crisp nicely in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Great recipe! Here's my twist: use a coating made up of the crushed remnants of crackers like Triscuits, Ritz, Wheat Thins, Rye Krisp, Cheese Nibs, etc. There's always some breakage in the box, so I dump that, and the remaining "duff," into a covered container for later use. The various crackers' seasonings combine to form a tasty source for "breading" all kinds of things, and can be processed further in a blender or food processor as needed. It's a great substitute wherever bread crumbs are called for, does away with the need to add any salt, and worked well with the yogurt coating I used to replace the milk and eggs in this recipe. And yes, I omitted the frying step, too, as I must at my age.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I made this for dinner tonight and my whole family loved it! I followed other reviewers' suggestions of "double dipping" the fish and skipping the pan-frying step. I sprayed the top of the fish with cooking spray after placing it on an oiled baking sheet, and I had to bake it a little longer because of not frying it first. I will try it with other varieties of fish--my husband is really looking forward to having catfish prepared in this manner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Once again another wonderful recipe from you. I was looking for a batter recipe to use on some whiting we had in the freezer that my husband decided to have for dinner. I started searching zaar and at the top of the list was yours and I knew I didn't need to look any further. It was wonderful. Great taste, flavor and crunch. Thanks for wonderful recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Delicious! I followed one reviewers suggestion and baked @ 400 for 12 minutes instead of frying and it was super crispy. I'll definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I have had some cod fillets in my freezer for a while now and since we've been trying to eat more fish, I decided it was the time to try out this recipe. We will definitely be eating more cod now... this produced a rally tasty and tender piece of fish. The amount of breading seemed a little much, but it was perfect when you double dip each fillet. The only thing I did different was to omit the pan frying entirely. I just sprayed a pan with some olive oil and set the fillets in a pre heated 400F oven for about 12 minutes... I also sprayed the tops of the fillets with olive oil and they turned out so crispy. My BF thought I had actually deep fried them... LOL Thanks for a great and easy fish recipe... we will be making this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      David made this for our family tonight, and the kids loved it! They came back for 2nds, 3rds, 4ths...and they even loved it on lettuce wraps with lots of fresh veggie toppings! Just a few NOTES based on our tastes/dietary needs: David cooked the fish up New Orleans' style with Tony Chachere's Fish Fry instead of seasoning salt. He substituted 6 egg whites + about 1/2 cup fat-free milk for the 3 whole eggs to lower cholesterol and fat. The cod's pkg directions said it was better not to thaw the fish, and using it semi-frozen helped the breading to adhere better. Our fillets were thicker than recommended, so he cut them in half horizontally. (Use a SHARP knife!) Finally, David skipped the pan-frying and baked the fillets for 6 mins on each side (flipping carefully!). This was a HUGE hit tonight, and we will most definitely be making this one again. Thanks for posting KITTENCAL! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

    • on May 27, 2013

      Really good. I prepared it as directed. I feel like I did something impressive without the amount of grease.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      This was a great recipe. I cut the measurements for the batter in half. I really didn't cut the quantity of the seasonings because I like a lot of spice. As others, I placed my cast iron skillet in the oven with a little oil while it was preheating - then baked the fish in the oven (did not brown on stove top). I did turn once to brown on all sides. Very good - I will definitely use this batter again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      The cod I thought I would use for this was frozen so I bought haddock. Followed the recipe and my husband said it was "Marvelous!" That's always an excellent reason to make a recipe again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      The cornmeal at many times got in the way of the texture and taste. I reduced the cornmeal used and replaced with more breading. Added some more season salt, and a touch more cheyenne. My wife loves the breading, and that makes me happier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      To date, this is my favorite recipe for oven fried fish. I use buttermilk, egg, and a good dash of Siracha sauce in the buttermilk dip, and Panko breadcrumbs/cornmeal for the breading. Its excellently crispy and moist !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This was very tasty. I skipped the pan-frying, as others had done, and cooked at 400 for about 20 minutes. While tasty, it definitely tasted liked baked fish ~ not a bad thing ~ instead of fried fish. But, with a dab of tartar sauce and placed on a bun, my kids thought it was tasty enough. I used mahi mahi that had been in my freezer for a while. I will likely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This was pretty good. I think it didnt need double dipped though. I will probably make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      These filets of cod sure were nice and crispy!!! The coating was easy to apply and for the first time, it didn't fall off the fish in the skillet!!!! Cod isn't my favorite fish, but I had some I wanted to use and I don't think I could have used a better recipe. I'm anxious to try this again since I had such good luck with the coating, but I will use another type of fish -- maybe some sole or halibut. Thanks, Kitten -- I never thought I could make crispy fish without deep-frying it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      This recipe rocks! Easy, quick, and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Oven-Fried Cod Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.6
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    34%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 166.7 mg
    55%
    Sodium 336.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 39.9 g
    79%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites