14 Reviews

Wonderful fish recipe! I used cod fillets. Had a little trouble getting the chip mixture to stick so I "pressed" it onto the fish - no problem. Also would omit the thyme in future (but ONLY due to personal preference!). Will definitely make this again - very easy & delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee July 01, 2002

Hubby and I loved this. Easy to make and it came out wonderfully! Will experiment using different types and flavors of chips. Glad I have 2 pieces left so I can follow one reviewer's suggestion to warm leftovers and eat as a sandwich with red onion, etc.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyoil January 21, 2006

Nice dish with simple ingredients and easy preparation. We used cod and Lay's and served it with baked potatoes and white corn. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) December 07, 2005

This was just after my fancy. Easy to make and full of flavor. I never have used potato chips in a fish crust, but it works perfectly. You can use your favorite chips to adapt it to your own taste. I served it with some additional chips and with two spicy sauces. Great! The fish came out of the oven with crispy and crunchy crust and the fish flaked easily, but still firm, moist and full flavored. And you can believe me this fish recipe shows how crunchy fish can be without frying. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorsten August 17, 2005

Well this was great,I did add a little cayenne, about 1/4 tsp. I put that on everything lately lol, it turned our great. I used hallibut. There was 2 pieces left so the next night I warmed it up and made fish on a kaiser, with a little bbq sauce and slices of red onion, 2 meals in one recipe, prefect. Thanks so much its a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dancer^ February 18, 2005

I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. Followed the recipe exactly and found that the chips did not stick all that well with the fish just being dipped in milk, so I think next time I will dip it in an egg mixture first. I just pressed it on top of the fish anyway. It still turned out really good. I'll make this again for sure. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert November 04, 2004

I fixed this tonight and...WOW...it was fantastic - not a crumb left!!!! I made a few changes based on previous reviews, what I had on hand, and my family's tastes. I used cod and it worked well. I used sour cream and onion chips because that's what I had on hand. But I loved the taste and will probably always use them - may try salt and vinegar sometime as I think that would be a good taste also. I substituted Mrs. Dash "Table Blend" (a family favorite) for the thyme. And, I drizzed it lightly with olive oil rather than butter to keep it healthier. The end result was crisp, moist flavorful fish from the oven. What a yummy treat!! This is definitely a recipe I will make again - OFTEN!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suneelady Reese April 20, 2004

Should have used an egg. I used skim milk for dipping and the chips had a tough time "getting to know" the fish. But it was still a tasty dish! Also...I had to bake mine for about 19 minutes! Thanks MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo June 10, 2007

Very crispy and easy to prepare. You can substitute olive oil instead of the butter to drizzle over fish to reduce saturated fats. Thanks MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m robert June 01, 2007

WOW this was sensational. We used smoked haddock fillets and plain crisps, we also used an egg instead of milk to stick the breadcrumbs. We had it with Yummy Baked Potato Skins yummy baked potato skins, it was fabulous!! We'll definitely use this recipe again, and again, and again.... thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelleybean March 26, 2007
Crispy Oven Fish