14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I usually follow a recipe exactly first time around, and I am glad I did, these were terrific. Not too sweet, nice and crunchy. Will be making these on a regular basis.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie June 20, 2002

Mmmmmm, Dorothy, these are soooooooooo good! I used salted butter, and was hoping it wouldn't ruin the recipe, but it turned out great! I didn't change a thing, but had to bake for 20 minutes in my notoriously slow oven. A tip: Remove these from the cookie sheet onto the cooling rack quickly. Once they start to cool on the sheet, they tend to get stuck to it, and break when you try to pry them loose :-) My whole family loves these! According to my sister, "The cinnamon did it!"

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 07, 2002

Having a sweet tooth tonight, I was looking for a low fat cookie recipe. I love oatmeal cookies! I think I rolled these out too thick so they came out more like little bicuits than cookies, but they still tasted good. I sprinkled a bit more sugar and cinnamon on top.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cocoa July 02, 2002

I tried this recipe yesterday. The cookies are great. My husband really liked them. The only thing that I did differently was not to roll them out on a flour surface. I dropped the batter by spoon full onto the cookie sheet. We like cookies to be softer & not so crisp. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NSX December 02, 2003

I am trying to find something nice to say about these cookies--crispy is one thing, tasting like cardboard is another. Most diabetic cookie recipes have little flavor; these fit right in. VERY dry. Maybe dipped in milk or ice cream?? Won't fix them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeLynn June 29, 2003

I really enjoyed these gentle tasting cookies. I omitted the cinnamon out of personal preference and this recipe went straight into my recipe binder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day May 13, 2003

These were the worst tasting oatmeal cookies I have ever made. I have made homemade dog biscuits and they had more flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Roberts April 07, 2003

These lovely little cookies were crispy and crunchy. They had a nice mild flavor and were perfect served with homemade peach ice cream. We also enjoyed them with tea. Thanks for sharing Derf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 30, 2007

These were horrible coming out the oven... I took them out after 10 min. because I use convection bake, and they tasted disgusting... i decided to put them in the oven again, for another 7 minutes or so... they still tasted pretty bad.... the next day, i decided to try them again, and they are actually pretty good! the reason why i made these was because i wanted oatmeal cookies, but had no eggs. I have made these again... eating them only after they cooled off completely, with raisins... tastes even better! just a suggestion for those who want to make these cookies because they have no eggs, because i know these are from the canadian diabetes association... low sugar... anyways, i give it 1/2 way ratings because they only tasted good the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Vanessa August 18, 2007

I'm not rating this recipe because I used all whole wheat flour in place of the all-purpose flour, which could have affected the taste. Otherwise I followed the recipe, and it was a plain cinnamony kinda cardboard taste. But again, I used whole wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali December 02, 2006
Crispy Oatmeal Cookies