9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would use Panko (Japanese breadcrumbs) instead of all purpose flour. I don't know anyone making an Asian meal that uses AP flour. Typical Asian meals are made with a rice flour or Panko style. but i will try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef krystyne July 19, 2009

I thought this was pretty bland as is. I added the 2 Tbsp of honey, per the recipe, but wonder if it would have had more flavor if I had added more. It wasn't nearly as flavorful as PF Changs. In fact, it didn't bear much resemblance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marci8311 February 03, 2008

I printed this recipe for my boyfriend to make (I'm not that great of a cook). It turned out pretty good, we ended sprinkling salt on the finished product which made it taste much better. I think next time he said he was going to add some spicy seasonings to the batter mixture next time we make the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyC. October 15, 2007

Delicious... altough I think that it would be 5 starts with a touch of lemon or orange juice right after adding the honey and oil - before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samaradotcom April 11, 2007

This recipe was good, but there is something still missing. I ended up adding a lot of honey. This was really messy to cook too

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suprasheera November 21, 2006

This was delicious. Personally I believe it would be even better without the batter and just using the cornstarch coating to crisp it up.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 02, 2006

I made this for a reunion dinner at our church. I had FIVE people ask me for the recipe. It was the first dish emptied, and everyone loved it. It's perfect. I'd give it more than five stars if I could!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clairesgranny September 21, 2006

Made per recipe, Not bad but seemed to be missing something. Good overall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larry Conner September 19, 2006

Love this! I followed the directions as written. The recipe doesn't state a temperature for the oil. I cooked mine in oil that was about 300-325 degrees. Each batch cooked in about 3 minutes. The shrimp are coated with a nice, light coating of the honey, sesame oil and seeds. I think it is every bit as good as a restaurant honey sesame shrimp dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 16, 2006
Crispy Honey Shrimp