11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I dipped the chicken in a beaten egg instead of spraying it with cooking spray (I also just coated the dish in butter instead of spray). I didn't have garlic powder so I just used seasoning salt. Everyone loved it! I was pretty hesitant to try this because potato flakes don't seem like they should go on chicken, but I wanted to get rid of the half-bag of them that were in the pantry. I can't believe how great it is! This is going to be a regular at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbow.rubatino April 08, 2009

I really enjoyed this recipe, it was easy & something different. I did use 1 teaspoon of Garlic powder and added some Basil, i also used alittle more parmesan (1 Cup) I loved it. :-) Well done Kree

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss_Tinkabell October 03, 2007

I took under advisement Troop Angel's review about the blandness. I used the full teaspoon of garlic, added 1 teaspoon of onion powder, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper. It was great! I will make this again with the added spices. Next time I might add a full teaspoon of black pepper or maybe a pinch of cayenne for a little punch. The flavors of the parmesean cheese combined with the flakes and spices were terrific. By the way I used a spray olive oil and coated both sides of the chicken pieces before breading. The breading stayed well on the pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ May 05, 2006

I liked this dish. It came out nice and golden and crispy. I had fun with my fiance as he tried to guess the "secret" ingredient (the potato flakes). The picky boys ate it, which was a relief. I had a little problem getting the coating to stick to the cooking spray, so I drizzled just a little bit of olive oil over them, gave a nice flavor. I will probably make this again, it was very quick and easy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. July 28, 2004

I was really hoping that this would turn out better than it did. I thought the coating was bland, it just didn't really have a taste to it. And maybe I used too much coating, but the coating on the bottom of the chicken turned to mashed potatoes; so it wasn't crispy at all, more like mush. The top really wasn't crispy either like I was hoping. It smelled good cooking, but for me and my family, just didn't taste as good as it smelled. Sorry, I really wanted it to work out. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel July 19, 2004

Delicious way to fix chicken parts, moist and tender. I usually cook whole chicken because breaking the skin lets the juices out, but this keeps the meat moist. Thanks for a great recipie I can make in the toaster oven and keep the kitchen cooler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife July 13, 2004

Wonderful... I have been making chicken 2-3 times a day and this was great.(I make ahead) This recipe will be made again and again. Thanks kree

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shan19 July 12, 2004

Wonderful chicken Kree! I made this last night for DH, my son and his girlfriend, and everyone just loved it! I made this with chicken thighs (skin on), everyone likes the skin on the chicken here at my house, and it was still wonderful, nice and crispy with a delicious flavor. I will definately be making this again, thanks doll for posting...great chicken recipe!!....Kittencal :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 04, 2004

This is a unique recipe, and I wasn't sure what to expect. It turned out absolutely wonderful. My son doesn't like potatoes, but he loved this chicken. It was crispy and very flavorful. Next time I might try dipping the chicken in Italian dressing first instead of spraying it with cooking spray. Thanks for the excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jorja June 01, 2004

These were very good. Family told me that I did not make enough. Which is always a good sign. Have already bought some more potato flakes for the next time.When my garden herbs are ready I will be adding some of those. Thanks Kree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada May 19, 2004
Crispy Herb Baked Chicken