Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Green Bean Fries(Tgi Friday's) by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Green Bean Fries(Tgi Friday's) by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2012

      As written, I would give it a four. With a few tweaks though, this is definitely a five-star recipe. We're not able to get ranch dressing mix here, so I just used natilla, which is a cross between creme fraiche and sour cream. I also upped the wasabi (prepared, not powdered) and the horseradish because we like that nasal sting. LOL! We did NOT cook the green beans for 15 minutes, but rather until barely tender, no more than 5 minutes - so that they would hold upright and not wilt over.

      The BIG SECRET though, is in double dipping. I followed instructions for prepping the beans and the first few turned out just ok. A bit ugly. So I took the previously breaded beans (not fried yet), dipped them once again in the egg mixture, then again in the breadcrumbs and VOILA - the perfectly coated and crispy green bean! Very much like I remember those at TGI Fridays. Made for Help a Naked Recipe 2012. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Loved these! Actually got DH to eat green beans. WOW. Didn't have cucumbers but made as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Suggestion...costs extra...after initial pre-cooking green means in broth...don't cool in ice water. Make some frozen cubes of chicken broth, put in a bowl with liquid broth...NOW cool the broth-cooked beans in cool broth. Flavor remains intense!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I fixed the green beans for Easter. They turned out way better than I thought they would. My husband and I loved them. I give them five star's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Yum!!! Yum!!! We've made these a couple of times now and they are tastey...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I didn't have any cucumber for the sauce, and I used double the wasabi powder & more cayenne and horseradish to give it more oomph, and also added a drop of green food coloring! I also didn't have enough breadcrumbs so I used some saltine crackers and it was amazing! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Turned out awesome! Everyone loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I just made the Beer -battered Green Bean Fries (recipe somewhere on Google) today since it was easier (ingredients availability & time) to make. It was really good too! Almost taste the same as TGI's. I just used regular Ranch dressing for dip (mixed w/ 2 tsp of lemon juice). I haven't tried this recipe by sharon123 but will try it when I have the ingredients & time. I am sure trying different recipes of this-is a treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I was really excited to make these. The green beans are close to how Fridays makes them but I still think there needs to be some tweaking to the recipe. The wasabi sauce didnt taste like what Fridays serves. It just tasted like a kicked up ranch. It didnt ever thicken up in the fridge and it stayed runny for me. It was still good tho. I also got this recipe from top secret recipes and I would say Id give this 3 stars for authenticity and 4 stars for being a good fried green bean recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I had trouble getting the breadcrumbs to stick using the flour and egg wash, but I used some tempura batter I had and the fries turn out great! My boyfriend loved it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      As is I give it a three. I suggest useing the classic Hidden valley ranch packet mixed as directed. instead of the bottled stuff. not adding the vinegar. and doubleing the cayenne. this way tastes so much closer to the TGIF orriginal. I also steamed the greenbeans and used half seasoned bread crumbs and half Panko bread. It turned out so much better then when I tryed it as posted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      These came out so good.I loved the dip

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      YUM YUM...GREAT snacking food while watching a movie. I made the dip as stated with 1% milk. I tried making the green beans healthier and think they turned out very good. I microwaved the beans in their bag for 4 minutes then put in cold water. I mixed twice the amount of spices with whole wheat flour and again with whole wheat panko bread crumbs. After coating the beans, I put them on a spray oiled cookie sheet and spray oiled the tops of them and baked them at 400F for 20 minutes. While the panko bread crumbs didn't completely coat them they were nice and crunchy. Coating each bean did take awhile but I think a kid might enjoy doing it. Made for the Beverage tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I love TGI's green beans, and so thought that I would give this a try. It was a lot of work but they were so delicious. The beans tasted a lot like the restaurants, but the sauce was a little too mild. Next time I will add some more horseradish or something. It didn't give that nose burning sensation that TGI's has! Other than that, though, great recipe! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I am reviewing the dipping sause alone. I made the sauce to accompany Roasted Green Beans in my quest to lose a few pounds. I love this appetizer at TGI Friday's and always wanted to make it at home. This is such a great version! I do not agree with the reviewer that stated the dip tastes like kicked up ranch. But then again, I used homemade ranch dressing instead of bottled. Thank you so much, I'm going out to buy more green beans tomorrow because I have alot of the yummy dipping sauce left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I prepared this for a bunch of friends. This makes quite a mess! It takes a long time so I just used strait Ranch Dip and didn't make the Wasabi Cucumber Ranch Dip. They were awesome!! Everybody loved them! Well worth the wait. I ran out of breadcrumbs and used finely crushed crackers and that worked too. A+ Thanks for a great recipe! Super close the the restaurant version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I am only rating the Green Beans part of the recipe, because I didn't make the dip. I followed the directions exactly, didn't change a thing. I got tired of breading green beans, but it was worth it! (I think I used more than 8 ounces of green beans...or maybe it was because they were not huge, fat ones.) I had never had the TGIFriday's green beans, but had seen the commercial and wanted to try them. They are delicious! Next time you want to wow someone, make these as an appetizer or side!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This is a great and unique recipe. My husband does not like horseradish at all, so I served the beans with ranch dressing. They were very good, but my family did not like them as much as they do my old fashioned way of preparing beans. I just put them in a pot with some butter and kosher salt and let them cook down. When you use beans fresh from the garden, the old-fashioned way is just too hard to beat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Excellent! Though, I have to wonder who invented frying a STRING BEAN! Sauce was fantastic, beans were great! Excellent appetizer, but it does take some time to bread all the beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      These were WONDERFUL! I wouldn't change a thing. Everyone loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Green Bean Fries(Tgi Friday's) by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 441.1
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    42%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 65.4 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1093.4 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wasabi powder

    vegetable broth


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes