186 Reviews

not like this needs another review, but this WAS incredible. i sliced my meat very thin and, at the suggestion of another reviewer, marinated it in #75737 (Kittencal's Beef Or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer). for veggies i used 3 julienned carrots, 1 sliced onion (I didn't have any green onion) and about 1/2 lb broccoli - for the sauce i followed the recipe exactly - other than having to sub 2 tsp ground ginger for fresh as there was none available to me (i whisked it in to the sauce instead of adding it with the veggies). once the sauce began to boil i kept it on high heat and kept stirring until the sauce reduced - then added the beef which further thickened up the sauce - i don't think ginger beef should be a 'saucy' meal - more like a sticky coating for the meat - so the amount of sauce was absolutely perfect and, since there was only enough to coat the meat/veg, my beef stayed very crispy (but still tender - how did that work?!). the sweet and heat levels were exactly how i like it - my dear love also raved. i think the keys to this recipe (aside from the flavour profile) are making sure your oil is very hot, continual stirring and draining off the oil before stir frying the veg (as stated in the recipe) - it was crispy, not oily and extremely flavourful. thank you so much for this recipe - i can't wait to make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaysma December 30, 2011

121 previous reviewers were not wrong. This is wonderful!!! I cut the pepper flakes by half because I'm a heat wimp but otherwise made as directed. I believe it to be the best stirfry I have ever made. Definitely a keeper in this house. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe Miraklegirl!<br/>ETA. I've been making this for a few years and it is a family favourite! I now make a few changes... I lay the beef in strip by strip as I found it difficult to untangle the pieces as they were cooking. I ALWAYS double the sauce and I add more carrots and sweet pepper strips to up the veggie content.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned December 14, 2013

Thanks Miraklegirl.... my daughter and I really like this dish. The only things I changed was that I added a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper as well as the flakes. I also used an inexpensive cut of round steak so I marinaded the meat ahead of time in Kittencal's Beef or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer (Kittencal's Beef or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer) which made the meat tender and the flavors blended together perfectly. Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doeafemaledear August 24, 2008

In 1989 we had the chance to get "Ginger beef" in a Calgary Restaurant first time. In those days, with poorly computers and no Google I ran after that recipe months and months. This recipe at Food.com hits the formerly recipe perfectly! We tried it yesterday night. It was sooooo good! Crispy and gingertasting! Had it with fine rice. I would have given a bargain to that recipe in 89! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wilhelm July 07, 2016

I understand why this has 5 stars, it's delicious! I followed the ingredients as listed and had every thing ready before I began cooking the meat. I then cooked it in batches, using a deep sauce pan since I didn't have a wok ( and was a little scared of "boiling oil") it can out perfectly golden brown. It truly looked impressive on top of Asian noodles! Thank you for a new favourite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ngeldart February 03, 2016

Amazing dish I must say! 1/2 cup sugar is just too much for me I reduced it to about 3/4. FANTASTIC 5 STAR FOR ME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan B. November 02, 2015

My boyfriend made this recipe for our dinner. He made it as written and normally cooks quite well.<br/><br/>I took two bites and my stomach is still aching from the overuse of ginger and crushed red pepper. It went into the trash. <br/><br/>I hate that we wasted good beef on this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen January 25, 2015

Oh my gosh, I could eat this every night and not get tired of it! It is sooooooo good! I even found myself dipping into the cold leftovers a bit, and it was still delicious! Great flavors, and the beef was so nice and tender. Definitely will make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MattMattBoBatt August 26, 2014

This is without doubt the easiest "restaurant quality" recipe I've ever cooked!<br/>I knocked this up as an "extra" to a Chinese meal I'd prepared, and was stunned; it tastes so good! It was the best dish on the table by far! <br/>Alterations and tips:<br/>We used a cheap white wine as we had no rice wine and sliced the carrots with a speed peeler to get them even and thin, I used home-ground chili powder instead of the flakes, and added it directly to the cup of sauce ingredients.<br/>The only tip I'd give is to make sure you're frying in a large enough pan, so the oil retains its full heat, and each strip of beef gets really crispy.<br/>A perfect FIVE STARS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeusfc November 17, 2013

I enjoyed cooking this recipe & the taste was very rewarding for the half of my family that likes spicy food. The prep time and cook times were off. My Prep time was 45 minutes, and my cook time was 45 minutes. I went off recipe for a couple of ingredients. I used an off the spice shelf ground ginger and it worked fine. The recipe leaves out what type of liquid to boil after you re introduce the beef to the stir fry. I used 1 1/2 cups of water for that toward the end when re-adding the beef. I hope this helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RickyRicky July 08, 2013
Crispy Ginger Beef