183 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

121 previous reviewers were not wrong. This is wonderful!!! I cut the pepper flakes by half because I'm a heat wimp but otherwise made as directed. I believe it to be the best stirfry I have ever made. Definitely a keeper in this house. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe Miraklegirl!<br/>ETA. I've been making this for a few years and it is a family favourite! I now make a few changes... I lay the beef in strip by strip as I found it difficult to untangle the pieces as they were cooking. I ALWAYS double the sauce and I add more carrots and sweet pepper strips to up the veggie content.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned December 14, 2013

not like this needs another review, but this WAS incredible. i sliced my meat very thin and, at the suggestion of another reviewer, marinated it in #75737 (Kittencal's Beef Or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer). for veggies i used 3 julienned carrots, 1 sliced onion (I didn't have any green onion) and about 1/2 lb broccoli - for the sauce i followed the recipe exactly - other than having to sub 2 tsp ground ginger for fresh as there was none available to me (i whisked it in to the sauce instead of adding it with the veggies). once the sauce began to boil i kept it on high heat and kept stirring until the sauce reduced - then added the beef which further thickened up the sauce - i don't think ginger beef should be a 'saucy' meal - more like a sticky coating for the meat - so the amount of sauce was absolutely perfect and, since there was only enough to coat the meat/veg, my beef stayed very crispy (but still tender - how did that work?!). the sweet and heat levels were exactly how i like it - my dear love also raved. i think the keys to this recipe (aside from the flavour profile) are making sure your oil is very hot, continual stirring and draining off the oil before stir frying the veg (as stated in the recipe) - it was crispy, not oily and extremely flavourful. thank you so much for this recipe - i can't wait to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaysma December 30, 2011

Thanks Miraklegirl.... my daughter and I really like this dish. The only things I changed was that I added a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper as well as the flakes. I also used an inexpensive cut of round steak so I marinaded the meat ahead of time in Kittencal's Beef or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer (Kittencal's Beef or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer) which made the meat tender and the flavors blended together perfectly. Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doeafemaledear August 24, 2008

My boyfriend made this recipe for our dinner. He made it as written and normally cooks quite well.<br/><br/>I took two bites and my stomach is still aching from the overuse of ginger and crushed red pepper. It went into the trash. <br/><br/>I hate that we wasted good beef on this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen January 25, 2015

Oh my gosh, I could eat this every night and not get tired of it! It is sooooooo good! I even found myself dipping into the cold leftovers a bit, and it was still delicious! Great flavors, and the beef was so nice and tender. Definitely will make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MattMattBoBatt August 26, 2014

This is without doubt the easiest "restaurant quality" recipe I've ever cooked!<br/>I knocked this up as an "extra" to a Chinese meal I'd prepared, and was stunned; it tastes so good! It was the best dish on the table by far! <br/>Alterations and tips:<br/>We used a cheap white wine as we had no rice wine and sliced the carrots with a speed peeler to get them even and thin, I used home-ground chili powder instead of the flakes, and added it directly to the cup of sauce ingredients.<br/>The only tip I'd give is to make sure you're frying in a large enough pan, so the oil retains its full heat, and each strip of beef gets really crispy.<br/>A perfect FIVE STARS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeusfc November 17, 2013

I enjoyed cooking this recipe & the taste was very rewarding for the half of my family that likes spicy food. The prep time and cook times were off. My Prep time was 45 minutes, and my cook time was 45 minutes. I went off recipe for a couple of ingredients. I used an off the spice shelf ground ginger and it worked fine. The recipe leaves out what type of liquid to boil after you re introduce the beef to the stir fry. I used 1 1/2 cups of water for that toward the end when re-adding the beef. I hope this helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RickyRicky July 08, 2013

I was fed up with the usual way of cooking sirloin steak so I tried this recipe the moment I realized that I have all the important ingredients. And oh my, never did I regret trying this recipe out! It's wonderful, it's magical, just writing this review makes me salivate!!! <br/><br/>I didn't have carrots but it still turned out really fantastic. My boyfriend likes it so much he couldn't stop praising it the whole time we were eating!! We are both a fan of spicy food and when I say spicy, we go for the extra hot ones so I replaced pepper flakes with chili flakes and chili powder. It felt like we were both in heaven!! <3 <3 <3<br/><br/>Thank you so much for this recipe and it's definitely one of our favorites now. xxx<br/><br/>(P.S. My boyfriend went shopping the next day and he bought more sirloin steak for me to cook specifically for this dish haha!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamyandanita June 19, 2013

This was really tasty. I only used half the amount of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. For some reason my beef didn't get crispy, but it was still tender and flavorful. I would say it was restaurant quality. I usually go for a healthier stir fry, but this was made as a treat, choosing not to look at the nutritional values. Thanks for sharing the recipe, we really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 25, 2013

This was a great dish! Just the right amount of kick to it, although my partner probably would have appreciated about half the amount of the red peppers. It took a little long than the noted cook time though, and we ended up breaking off a lot of the cooking batter once it was in the oil, but all in all, a really yummy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllysaM October 10, 2012
Crispy Ginger Beef