23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If there's any way you can make these in a dehydrator, do. The oven method requires hands-on attention and frequent stirring; the dehydrator method allows you to simply mix the kale and oil (& really any seasonings you prefer) and turn on the machine. I do highly recommend stripping the large stems off (fold the kale leaf in half and slip your paring knife down the stem): they're very stiff and hard to chew when left on. I LOVE Kale Chips now!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katetsmith October 01, 2011

The recipe is delicious, but the directions cause my kale to burn to a black smoking crisp. I have heard that there are different "kinds" of kale, and they cook differently. There is only one kind of kale available in my area, and apparently it cooks very fast. I found a similar recipe that suggested lowering the temperature to 250 degrees F, and cooking the kale for 30 minutes. This worked for me. But I will continue to use this recipe, because I love the flavor of the parmesan and seeds!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlutenFreeInDixie May 24, 2011

My first adventure with kale!! :D I thought this was a good recipe to start with. I only added salt and some onion powder. Thought the fresh garlic would be good enough. VERY addictive! Two of us ate the whole tray easily. I'll definitely be making more. I did have to stair them up a couple of times because some pieces tended to burn while others stayed soft. It probably has something to do with how I cut the pieces. I'll figure it out! Thanks Rita!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 25, 2011

I cook these in a convection toaster oven and they take about 6-8 minutes at 350ยบ. I like the toaster oven so I can keep a closer eye as cooking times my vary. My favorite kale to use is the redbor variety - it is very curly and has a great texture. I season them different every time, but use very little salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doberpuppy August 03, 2011

I was surprised at how tasty these are, and they got good reviews from my family as well. I used parmesan cheese, garlic powder and a little sea salt. I don't think they will replace potato chips, but we had fun trying them and will definitely make them again. Plus, what a great bonus to be eating something that is good for us! Thanks for sharing. I will try some other toppings next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 21, 2011

A healthy snack that tastes good. You can't beat that! It seems like I should be feeling guilty as I nibble away. These are crispy and a bit addictive. I just used sea salt and a little garlic powder. Thank you to Maito for recommending this in her best of 2010 cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 02, 2011

Rita, I usually LOVE your recipes but I wasn't crazy about this one. I make Kale Chips about 3-5 times a week, so does my sister - I have to say I prefer the apple cider vinegar thing. I used parm, olive oil, garlic, salt, sesame seed, onion and lemon thyme. I'll try it again. Keep the recipes coming! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches July 05, 2010

Super scrumptious super health food! How did I not try this before?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 16, 2015

The perfect Kale chips! Olive oil, parmesan cheese, thyme, sesame seeds, garlic & onion powder, and kosher salt. A perfect 15 minute cook. Brought them to my neighbors BBQ and they were a hit with everyone, including kids and the people who never eat anything green! I will use this recipe again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mooch95 April 27, 2014

I wonder how many parents hear their kids say "I want more kale"? It is one of my favorite things to hear my 11 yo son say. This was a really good recipe. I think the only things I did differently was use garlic powder instead of whole garlic and nutritional yeast instead of parmesan. Super chips!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenmom64 March 09, 2014
Crispy Everything Kale Chips