Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Everything Kale Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Everything Kale Chips

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      If there's any way you can make these in a dehydrator, do. The oven method requires hands-on attention and frequent stirring; the dehydrator method allows you to simply mix the kale and oil (& really any seasonings you prefer) and turn on the machine. I do highly recommend stripping the large stems off (fold the kale leaf in half and slip your paring knife down the stem): they're very stiff and hard to chew when left on. I LOVE Kale Chips now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      The recipe is delicious, but the directions cause my kale to burn to a black smoking crisp. I have heard that there are different "kinds" of kale, and they cook differently. There is only one kind of kale available in my area, and apparently it cooks very fast. I found a similar recipe that suggested lowering the temperature to 250 degrees F, and cooking the kale for 30 minutes. This worked for me. But I will continue to use this recipe, because I love the flavor of the parmesan and seeds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      My first adventure with kale!! :D I thought this was a good recipe to start with. I only added salt and some onion powder. Thought the fresh garlic would be good enough. VERY addictive! Two of us ate the whole tray easily. I'll definitely be making more. I did have to stair them up a couple of times because some pieces tended to burn while others stayed soft. It probably has something to do with how I cut the pieces. I'll figure it out! Thanks Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I cook these in a convection toaster oven and they take about 6-8 minutes at 350ยบ. I like the toaster oven so I can keep a closer eye as cooking times my vary. My favorite kale to use is the redbor variety - it is very curly and has a great texture. I season them different every time, but use very little salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I was surprised at how tasty these are, and they got good reviews from my family as well. I used parmesan cheese, garlic powder and a little sea salt. I don't think they will replace potato chips, but we had fun trying them and will definitely make them again. Plus, what a great bonus to be eating something that is good for us! Thanks for sharing. I will try some other toppings next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      A healthy snack that tastes good. You can't beat that! It seems like I should be feeling guilty as I nibble away. These are crispy and a bit addictive. I just used sea salt and a little garlic powder. Thank you to Maito for recommending this in her best of 2010 cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Rita, I usually LOVE your recipes but I wasn't crazy about this one. I make Kale Chips about 3-5 times a week, so does my sister - I have to say I prefer the apple cider vinegar thing. I used parm, olive oil, garlic, salt, sesame seed, onion and lemon thyme. I'll try it again. Keep the recipes coming! ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      The perfect Kale chips! Olive oil, parmesan cheese, thyme, sesame seeds, garlic & onion powder, and kosher salt. A perfect 15 minute cook. Brought them to my neighbors BBQ and they were a hit with everyone, including kids and the people who never eat anything green! I will use this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I wonder how many parents hear their kids say "I want more kale"? It is one of my favorite things to hear my 11 yo son say. This was a really good recipe. I think the only things I did differently was use garlic powder instead of whole garlic and nutritional yeast instead of parmesan. Super chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      OMG I got my hubby to finally eat kale and LIKE IT!!! I threw this together in a hurry and there was no time to mince garlic, so I added the following to ours: garlic salt, seasoning salt, lemon pepper, onion powder and the sesame seeds. LOVED those sesame seeds. Next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will try other ingredients too. THanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

    • on September 29, 2012

      Oh Ms. Rita, I have made kale chips before, but these were the best! I followed it to a T and ate them all in one sitting! This is the third recipe I have tried by you and I must say, you are a fabulous cook!!!!! Thanks for the great recipes and please keep em' coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      Very good! I like them best made in my dehydrator. They look greener and shiny, I suspect they retain more of the vitamins and minerals that are so rich in kale. This is a great way to preserve a large kale harvest! I used parmesan cheese, salt (which could be reduced next time), garlic powder, and onion powder. I didn't use any fresh garlic this time, but i imagine it would be very good. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      Very good recipe. I made 8 leafs since it was just for me (DH doesn't like kale) and had plenty. I stripped the stems off as suggested by another reviewer and cut back on the oil since I was making so much less. Very little oil is needed. I baked at 325 for 13 minutes stirring once. These are a very satisfying salty, crispy snack/side and my dog loved them too!
      Thanks for sharing this treat with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

    • on May 15, 2011

      Love, love, love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Holy cow is this good! I added all the optional spices (with fresh thyme and chives) and half the salt and we absolutely loved it. So much so that the two of us easily ate the whole pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

    • on February 19, 2010

      This is a great recipe. It can be tweaked with whatever spices suits your tastes. Thank you, it gives me a way to put something else healthy in front of the kids. You can put whatever is left uneaten in hummus. Chopped up, or pulsed in the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Great recipe! I used 1/4 tsp of sea salt (thought it didn't look like much, but the kale Really cooks down, so don't be tempted to put in any more!), 1/4 tsp celery seed, 1/2 tsp of onion powder (would use 1/8 tsp as recipe suggests next time), 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1 Tbs parmesan. Even the Baby loved it! Yummo, Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Everything Kale Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.0
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    53%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 135.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites