Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Coconut Cookies

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2011

      Yummy, Yummy. I love these cookies. Made with half crisco and half butter. They baked perfectly. Delicious with a cup of coffee. Sort of like a snickerdoodle but fancier!! Ha Ha. I have made two batches, one with all coconut extract and one with half coconut and half almond flavoring. Think I prefer the half coconut and half almond. But that is just my taste. I did use regular coconut and dried in the oven as another review suggested and it was perfect. Thank you so much Gerry for a wonderful recipe. Want to make them again, roll them smaller then after they cool put icing between them to make a sandwich cookie. I'll keep you posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      What a great cookie. Not able to find dessicated coconut here so I just bought a pckg of regular coconut and dried it in the oven at 200 deg F for about an hour, perfect. I bet I'll be making these often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Yum...I made mine with all butter & Splenda in place of sugar. The consistency is almost like a shortbread, a lovely sugar free treat to have with my coffee. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful, light and crispy! I didn't have cream of tartar so took sunkist100's suggestion and left the baking soda out and added in 2 tsp of baking powder instead, worked perfectly fine for me. I used almond extract, I did feel it was a bit overpowering, so next time I with either try to get hold of coconut extract or reduce the amount of almond extract. Had to share with the boys (students!), and everybody loved it! Thank you, Gerry, for sharing another one of your wonderful recipes, this one is also a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      SEVERAL CLARIFICATIONS REGARDING THIS RECIPE - I am an experienced baker (25 yrs) and was intrigued by the use of the two ingredients here - the use of dessicated (dried) coconut and cream of tartar in achieving an exceptional crispy coconut cookie. First of all, I had to go to a bit of trouble to find dessciated coconut, including health food and gourmet grocery stores, where they carried it alongside everyday products; I found it was expensive for the amount you get and, frankly, it was disappointing becaused it not make a big difference in the outcome of the cookie; I ended up trying Baker's shredded sweetened coconut when making my second batch and thought it was actually better because it balanced the dry texture that the cream of tartar created in the cookie. Secondly, the recipe calls for starting with "1 cup shortening - part butter", which could be interpreted as one could use Crisco's Butter Flavored shortening, OR, alternatively one could use 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter. I tried the recipe using both variations and the SECOND one had a better taste, so I suggest the half anf half combination. Also, using almond extract, even just 1 teaspoon, overpowered the mild coconut flavor - I recommend using Coconut Extract just for these cookies as it really enhances the flavor. Last but not least - the dough was initially so sticky that it was a mess trying to roll it into little balls so I had to chill the dough for at least an hour - then rolling them was a breeze. Conclusion: I found this to be a light, though dry, crisp coconut cookie, but the baker needs to have a few insights in order to have a good result. I will not make it again as it is unless I make these small changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Very nice cookies. Made as stated except extracts as they are almost impossible to get here. The cookies baked for exactly 15 minutes and they are crisp and very flavourful. I got 49 cookies and used about 3/4tbs dough for each cookie. Certainly a cookie I will make again.
      Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      I love coconut, so I felt as if these cookies were tailor made just for me. I was certain that I would enjoy them and I was not disappointed. Quick and very easy to make, they were lovely, very flavorful, light, crisp and tender cookies. So good, that my neighbors sent the plate over right away to be refilled. I used a combination of coconut and almond extract, it worked great in the recipe. Thank you so much Gerry for another keeper :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I made these using Splenda entirely. I also used half margarine and half butter. The cookies were perfectly baked after 13 minutes. They have a nice texture & taste. Next time I will definitely use coconut extract as the almond doesn't "match my tastebuds" with the coconut (personal preference). Made for Partying the Diabetic Way-Dec'09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      *Made for Australia/NZ Swap #35* My first holiday recipe -- worked SO well ! Made 32 cookies with my cookie scoop -- which made an almost solid cover on my Silpat, and baked at 325* for 16 minutes. Had nice color with a brown edge, and left on cookie sheet for about 5 minutes before moving to rack. Lovely crisp texture, and flavor with coconut flavor. Tinned for the moment -- but doubt THIS batch will make it to Christmas ! Thanks for posting, Gerry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      WONDERFUL FLAVOR!! My Hubby and I both dearly love coconut and these cookies satisfied the coconut craving. I used my food processor to grate the coconut fine and also used coconut extract. The coconut flavor comes through very well. We like big cookies...therefore, my yield was 24. It took 17 minutes in my oven for doneness. I will definitely use this recipe again for my family. Prepared as a participant in the Aus/NZ Swap #25 February 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      These were really good! I did not have cream of tarter so i eliminated the baking soda and used 2 tsp of baking powder instead. I make a few cookies with the fork tine marks but I think they look better pressed flat (also no one will confuse them with PB cookies). Everyone at our cookie exchange really enjoyed these cookies. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Gerry's right--this is a delicate and tasty cookie that should be made frequently. The coconut flavor is not overly-pronounced; just subtle enough to make this cookie stand out. As with all Gerry 999's recipes, directions are very helpful and explicit. Followed them exactly, and the cookies turned out perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Adam and I enjoyed making this fast and simple cooky. He doesnt like eggs but said that these were "too yummy not to eat !" and also " I am going to share these with my new school friend Adian because they are peanut free ! " Final comment from both little four year old boys " Gerrys knows lots of yummy things to make " . Thanks for another easy family favourite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Excellent taste with a nice crunchy texture. I used all butter and all white sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      These were pretty good cookies, I just think they would be better with a bit more sugar and a little less almond extract since it tends to cover up the taste of the coconut which I really like. Overall, a really good cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I received these cookies as a gift in the 2006 Zaar Cookie Swap. Though I can't comment on the preparation, I can say the cookies were just delicious. Adding this recipe to my 2007 cookie list. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      great cookies with tea! used cocount extract instead of almond extract. could not find desiccated coconut but instead used flaked coconut which i cut finely with kitchen shears. will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Got these from Grace Chang in the '06 cookie swap and they were SOOO good! I love coconut (and nobody else in my family does) and I know they'll stay pretty far away from these for sure. I WON'T! Great cookie...and a great swap! Thanks you two!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      These were wonderful! I used 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 shortening. i think I will increase the amount of shortening. The butter made the cookies spread out quite a bit, but I like flat cookies. These are light, crispy and sooo yummy! I'll put these in my regular rotation of cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      These were some of the best cookies I've had. They are easy, delicate, and incredibly tasty. I had a pound of fine coconut, and this is the only way to use it! I used butter flavored shortening, and added a bit more coconut. They were perfect, and will be made year round. Thanks for the perfect cookie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Coconut Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (812 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.2
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    53%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 44.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites