Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Chocolate Coconut Nests Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Chocolate Coconut Nests

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2006

      Victoria, you're spot on. I used milk chocolate and sweetened coconut. My coconut also started to burn; I lowered the oven temperature and tossed it several times. I think the toastier, the better with the coconut, though - the crunch will last longer - so I'm going to try a 350 oven tonight and keep it in as long a possible. I melted chocolate in a bowl over simmering water - double-boiler style and added the coconut to the bowl. So easy, so delicious and everyone seems to love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Out of this world! Delicious and easy! I used milk chcolate and sweetened coconut. It would not taste good with unsweetened coconut. The oven temp. of 400 degrees almost burned the coconut in 5 minutes, so I would recommend decreasing the temperature to 375 degree and using a spatula to flip the coconut after 4 minutes for even cooking. Also, I melted the choc. chips on the stove top in a non-stick pan on the lowest heat and it worked perfectly, while stirring constantly. Yummy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      These were very good, and so easy to make! I just made sure to take the coconut out of the oven and move it around about every 2 mins. I also accidentally bought semi-sweet chocolate but decided to give it a go anyway - they were still very good but I can see why one would want to use milk chocolate instead. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      These couldn't be any better. I will definitely be making them regularly. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      These are so easy to make--with great results! I used 12 oz. milk chocolate and 12 oz. sweetened coconut. Next time, I think that I'll use just a little more chocolate than coconut. I toasted the coconut on 350 for between 5-10 minutes, tossing it several times. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Delicious & Oh so easy to make.Used milk chocolate and sweetened flake coconut. Set oven at 350 degrees like someelse suggested had no problem. Thank you for this easy, yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      I used one 16 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips and 2 cups of sweetened, shredded coconut, and these were delicious! I also drizzled mine with just a bit of white chocolate for a decorative touch. These were so easy, even my 4 yo was able to help. I also took the suggestion to lower the oven temp to 375 and it worked perfectly. Thanks again for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2004

      Made this with white chocolate and used pretty chocolate molds. I think I over-toasted the coconut, but everyone loved them just the same! I'll be doing this one many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      4* for taste, but the recipe should be more specific! I used unsweetened coconut...apparently (from above) it was supposed to be sweetened. The semi-sweet chocolate combo probably would have been better this way. My chocolate chips would not melt in the microwave until I added a touch of water - they just dried up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Very easy, Very sweet, they kind of remind me of macaroons. Next time I think I will make it in a baking dish and try to cut them into squares. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Yummy! These are definitely a very easy keeper here! With the varieties of chocolates, and yogi's suggestions, I will definitely be trying these again with the white chocolate, and chopped hazelnuts next time! Definitely addicting for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      How easy can it get? These turned out perfectly and were so much fun to add to. I used dark chocolate first and loved it because the coconut is so sweet, and the dark choc. didn't over-sweeten it. I added chopped almonds or cashews to some, and tried it with white chocolate, which was the BEST! These didn't last long here and will be on the Christmas cookie list for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Chocolate Coconut Nests

    Serving Size: 1 (908 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.1
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    83%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes