8 Reviews

Very nice I have made something very much like these before. Made for World Tour 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda August 06, 2012

I love potato pancakes and the addition of carrot was tasty. The spices were perfect in these and gave them the perfect flavor. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 04, 2012

Easy to make and a good vegetarian pancake. I used a blended gluten-free flour to make mine suitable for my diet/lifestyle. Photo also to be posted. Reviewed for ZWT8 Australia/NZ region.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 04, 2012

For me, finding this recipe epitomises the global sharing that is Zaar: an Australian Women's Weekly recipe boomeranged back to Australia via Ieland! ;) Loved these pancakes and the fact that they are so low in fat, so easy to make and SO, SO delicious. I minced the potatoes and carrots in my mini processor and added one leek (also minced) that needed to be used. The parsley, cumin and green onion provided a great blend of flavours that perfectly complemented the vegetables. We enjoyed these with baby spinach leaves, Karen=^..^='s Garlic Tomato Slices and tzatziki. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, twissis! Made for Gimme 5, and certainly a recipe I look forward to making and enjoying again!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder January 22, 2009

Couldn't be easier to make, & the cumin was a nice addition! I find myself enjoying more & more of these kinds of vegetable patties! Thanks, much for sharing a recipe that's a KEEPER! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 19, 2008

These came out perfect! I made this the easy way by using frozen shredded potatoes (Cascadian Farms, defrosted first) and a bag of shredded carrots from the produce section. Although the carrots were not finely shredded they cooked up just fine. I used cooking spray on a non-stick frying pan. Although mine didn't turn out as brown as those in other photos, the eggs were cooked well which is all that really mattered. I used about 1/4 cup for each pancake and I could cook 4 at a time. I also liked the microwave suggestion because one always worries about pancakes cooling off while the others are cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend May 12, 2008

I made these a couple of days ago for DW and myself. There were several left over, which I had scheduled for another meal. DS and DD got into the left-overs, and everything was gone, so I am having (twist my arm!!) to make another batch for supper tonight. Obviously, everyone loved them!! I added a bit more (3x) cumin, but we love that spice, so it was kinda natural to elevate the level, otherwise I made the recipe as it it written. I used 1/3C of batter for each pancake, made two at a time in the fry-pan and cooked a little longer since my pancakes were bigger, and everything was perfect. This is a great side dish for many meats (tonight it's chicken sausage) and also works well with a dahl or other kind of vegetarian protein dish. Thanks!! PJH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJH November 01, 2007

Quite good. I have made similar latkes but never with cumin, which was a nice addition. I might even add more next time. Served this with grilled pork chops bt look forward to having these for breakfast next time. Made for Fall 2007 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey September 08, 2007
Crispy Carrot and Potato Pancakes (Vegetarian)