8 Reviews

This is a really, really good Baked Buttermilk Chicken recipe. I used part chicken drumsticks and chicken breast and it worked great on both. I always marinate in a plastic bag as it gives a better coverage, I find, and such I halved the buttermilk but left the spices the same. I marinated for 3 hours. I made the breadcrumb mix using only 1 cup of breadcrumbs but kept the spices the same. After breading the chicken I stil had more than 1/2 of the breadcrumb mixture left. Worth noting for people that keep an eye on the calorie/carb intake, as the reduced buttermilk and breadcrumb usage cut the calories back by 125 per serving or by 25%. I will for sure be making this again, the flavours were great (we couldn't really tell that there were lemon zest in the mix). I served it with Marinated Greek Village Salad and Curry Rice. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini April 05, 2010

OH MY!!!! Very good chicken. This is one of my new favorites right now! I will make again but this next time I will add some more garlic and pepper. This was enjoyed! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nochlo September 19, 2013

We enjoyed this oven-baked buttermilk chicken -- it was very moist and had a nice flavor. Made as directed using boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I used panko breadcrumbs and lightly sprayed the tops with olive oil cooking spray to help the breadcrumbs brown . Easy to make and cooks very quickly. Made for PRMR tag, May, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry May 28, 2013

Although I substituted chicken breasts (cut into quarters lengthwise) for the thighs, that was the only change I made & we had a wonderfully delicious, very nicely moist chicken supper! Another time I might increase the amount of zest, but still it was just great as made! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 28, 2012

I used 8 skinless boneless thigh fillets with a total weight of 1.1K (usually with this amount I would get about 700 grams) so after cooking for 3 I had a little more left over than I expected (lunch sandwiches) but like a previous reviewer I would cut the buttermilk to 1 cup, expecially if you are doing boneless and keeping the paprika (I used a hot hungarian as that was all I had but I think it added a nice little kick to the dish) and the ground coriander as per recipe. I gave them a spray with olive oil before baking and mine took 35 minutes and were beautifully moist but I wouldn't say crispy especially the underside which was on the tray so I am thinking of baking them on a rack (lightly oiled) so the hot air can circulate all round and hopefully this will get a crispier product. Thank you Noo for a recipe I really wish to try again, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 17, 2011

I used boneless chicken breast cut into strips. I loved the way the chicken stayed juicy and moist. The seasonings worked together although I will probably change them a bit to suit our tastes. The lemon was not as strong as I had hoped, we will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 February 09, 2011

This was quite good. I used this recipe to make nuggets for my kids. I thought it would be healthier than the frozen processed ones. I ended up eating mine on a salad and the kids gave these two thumbs up. Next time I will leave the lemon out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko January 07, 2010

What a great recipe. I loved the flavours in the coating and in the marinade. The sesame seeds certainly added to it as well. I used panko bread crumbs, which made it even crispier. This is very easy to put together, and makes a wonderful supper. Thanks Noo. :) Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #35.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 December 01, 2009
Crispy Buttermilk Chicken