73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked these, might try with a dark beer next time. You MUST roll these very thinly it you want it really crispy. I might try my pasta maker for rolling next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ladyinblue3 January 23, 2010

So many things you can do with this! Individual pizzas, use for dips, a plate in itself if you're camping, etc. I used Longboard (it's a light lager). Soooo good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica in Phoenix, AZ September 22, 2010

Very tasty! We prepared with an American amber ale and stirred in 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds. I let the breadmaker do the kneading on the pasta cycle for 5 minutes. Rolled to less than 1/8 inch thick, necessitating baking on two sheets, but the resulting crispy crackers were terrific. I held one piece back to see how it held up to storage and found that completely cooled then saved in a ziploc kept fine overnight. Especially good with hummus and tapenade.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mosaic Mom January 04, 2010

I made this twice and both times it came out different I was not happy w/either so i give it 0 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryanmgse August 13, 2008

I followed the recipe. I'm not a fan. It came out hard & w/ not much taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ash953 October 31, 2013

Loved it with our soup fresh from the oven. WOW! I only added kosher salt so will try other combinations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 26, 2012

I've made this a few times with great success. I love it with the dried herbs on it with extra garlic for brushing on top. Plus, it's easy. If you like a chewy thin beer bread, try this one; it has great flavor. Thanks for posting, Thorsten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick April 17, 2010

I loved the flavour of this bread fresh from the oven. However, by this evening when I was ready to serve it, it had gotten really chewy and just hard to eat. I am not sure what I did wrong - maybe I needed to roll it thinner. I will experiment with it again though as the taste is great. Another reviewer mentioned that she had success reducing the flour so I might start there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 22, 2009

Maybe I just expected more based on all the high ratings, but this failed to impress us all that much. I made it to go with artichoke dip, and it really tasted just like a cracker. I was hoping to get more flavor from the beer, but I couldn't taste the beer at all. Overall, this was okay, but I have other flat bread recipes I like better, so I don't think I'll make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen July 13, 2009

I wasn't sure how well this would turn out, but it was so easy and extremely delicious. It was much like a focaccia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leoliont May 25, 2009
Crispy Beer Flat Bread