Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Baked Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2011

      Great eggplant! I just started eating eggplant so was not sure if I should peel it or not. I left the skin on (next time I will peel it off). I added a little salt and a light sprinkle of parmesan cheese when they were done cooking. I ate this with a little peppercorn ranch dressing. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #58.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I had some buttermilk to use up so I used that. I added Lawry's Seasoning Salt and garlic powder to the herb mixture. Contrary to my friends, I so not peel the eggplant. Turned out yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      My husband and I loved this eggplant. I had one small, perfect eggplant and needed a fast recipe. I quickly sliced and salted the eggplant and mixed just one egg and a bit of milk, then dumped the sliced eggplant in and smushed them around. I used seasoned bread crumbs which contained the requisite spices and quickly breaded them and got them in the oven in a pan lined with non-stick foil. They were done in 30 minutes, nice and crispy...my husband called them 'eggplant chips'. They were very very good. Thanks Sharon, we'll be doing this eggplant recipe again, often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      This came out great! I was trying to find a way to get "fried eggplant" with less fat. I did add some grated parmesan to the breading, and used about 2 Tbsp of olive oil to oil my tray. Also, I'm the eggplant eater at our house, so I applied the same approach to some zucchini sliced lengthwise for the heathen; and it worked like a champ on those too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      We really enjoyed this eggplant recipe. I think the trick is to not coat the slices with too much of the breadcrumbs or wheat germ. I baked my batch for right at 30 minutes, and it was just perfect. We paired this with sandwiches, and the eggplant was really the prefect complement. It's great to have a recipe for a crispy eggplant that isn't fried - thanks, Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Your recipe was fine, followed it exactly and eggplant was good. Baking it certainly cut down on all the oil used for frying and lowered the calories as I usually fry the eggplant first then smother in spagetti sauce and cheese then bake. Although good, it was a little too dry and crisp for my taste. I think my problem is the breadcrumbs I used, I have to either find another brand or make my own. Then will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      We really like the fact that this is baked instead of fried. It tastes great (even the kids love it) and doesnt have all the oil!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I did like the crispiness of the eggplant and enjoyed this for my lunch. The only thing I'd change is to omit the dill. I thought the dill really overpowered the total flavor. While I love dill, I just didn't think it worked with the eggplant here. I will try this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      A tasty way to use your eggplant! I made this exactly as posted, using breadcrumbs. I did find them to be a little dry and would suggest making sure there is enough oil on the baking sheet. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      Slighty bland but good texture. I used the wheat-germ, this could have given the slightly off taste. Good texture though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Baked Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.1
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    29%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 94.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 45.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes