93 Reviews

Well, for a family pleasing meal, I simply MUST give this 5 stars. I word of warning is for others not to count on the time being right on...phew! My chicken wasn't thick or anything, but still took 35 minutes at 375. I was amazed! I cut 3 pieces of chicken (1 1/4 lb) into 3rds, so I have no idea why they took so long! I mean, I would have thought they were bone-in chicken breasts if I didn't know any better. Thanks, though, for a wonderful alternative to frying up the little boogers! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook February 16, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. All three of my picky eaters cleaned their plates and even asked for seconds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlemotherhaywood August 12, 2009

Very good chicken strips, easy and quick to make. I used a one pound package of chicken breast tenderloins, breadcrumbs, and garlic pepper salt. One egg didnt seem like enough so I used two and that worked better for me. I used ranch dressing for dipping and DH used barbecue sauce. Nice crunchy coating that stayed on well and the chicken was tender. Served with Maries Homemade Rice-A-Roni #77514 and whole kernel corn. Will make these again, thank you AmandaBeth for posting! Made and reviewed for the Kid Friendly Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 07, 2009

These were pretty good. I will make them again, but I'll add more seasonings next time. They're easy, and I know my grandkids will like them for sure! I used panko crumbs and they were indeed crispy. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia March 05, 2007

The chicken did stay moist, but I found the flavor to be incredibly bland. I even doubled the spices because the proportions seemed a bit off. If I attempt this dish again, I will try cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BritniSB January 12, 2007

I made these as another reviewer suggested, with only 1 cup of plain breadcrumbs. I think these would be better with some more seasonings (mustard? more garlic?) or crackers instead of breadcrumbs, but they were easy to make and good for a weeknight. I made them with some roasted potato cubes that I nuked ahead of time to match their cooking time to the chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy August 11, 2006

My family didn't really like these. We didn't put the chili pepper in, and thought it was a bit bland. If you have a good dipping sauce, they might be better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adwindham March 07, 2005

DON'T MAKE MY MISTAKE. I am anxious to try this recipe again but with different cracker crumbs. I used a plain, tasteless, saltless and very heavy type of cracker (that's all I at the time). I also used part bread crumbs. I added the spices listed but it wasn't enough to add any flavor probably because of the crackers. My guess is if the cracker is good to taste and light enough to crush up with one hand you've got a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker January 10, 2005

Amanda has it just right -- tender on the inside, crispy on the outside. Easy, quick and really, really good. Forget McNuggets. Go for these! I made it exactly as it's written and it came out just right. Took a little longer to cook, though, but that's probably because I doubled the recipe. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula5 May 07, 2004

I made these chicken strips twice. The first time, I made as directed (using Italian breadcrumbs instead of crackers) and thought these strips were bland, even when smothered in homemade honey-mustard sauce. The second time I made these, I seasoned the chicken directly with salt, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, and oregano, and used Italian breadcrumbs for the coating again. Much better tasting the second time around, but the breadcrumb coating didn't turn crispy as it should have according to the recipe. My kids liked these chicken strips, though, so I will be making them a third time with crackers instead of breadcrumbs, all of the spices aforementioned, and I'll add the chili powder for an additional contrasting flavor. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 January 05, 2016
Crispy Baked Chicken Strips