46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This really is an easy and flavorful chicken recipe. I used 4 big thighs and seasoned them on a dinner plate, using all of your suggested spices and low sodium soy sauce. Just as I was about to put them in the oven, we were invited out to dinner...so I covered them with plastic wrap and stuck them in the fridge. They marinaded all night and we had them for lunch today. OMG they were fabulous! I baked them on a rack on a foil lined cookie sheet at 375 for one hour. They came out so crispy, juicy and tender. This one goes into my regular rotation for sure. Thank you for posting PSU Lioness.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely November 06, 2012

Here's why I think this recipe is fantastic & worthy of 5 stars: the crispy skin! I have been learning a new dish almost everyday, & have tried a lot of chicken dishes. I have also tried the original recipe this was modified from, & thought that was tasty as well, but this dish blows that dish away, if I may be so bold. It smells delicious even before you put the dish in the oven, and the skin wasn't burnt, but crisped to perfection (some people, like my husband, get grossed out by the skin, but if you're with me you'll understand!). The meat was also falling off the bone & moist. My husband loved this recipe and gave an eager thumbs up when I asked if I should keep this recipe in our menu. Thank you PSU Lioness!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef amelia bedelia January 01, 2013

I am not a huge fan of dark chicken meat - but had leg quarters in a meat CSA- this was absolutely fabulous!!! I don't eat the skin either - but the meat was to die for - trying not to over eat - but this recipe makes it hard. I followed as directed. I thought it would be too salty - I am not a huge salt person, but it was perfect (I used low sodium soy sauce)>

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runnergirl1 June 24, 2013

Excellent and simple!
I'll skip the dill next time I think, but we're just not a big an of it, so if you like Dill, don't change a thing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia Lyn April 29, 2012

I had to let a couple leg quarters sit to marinate overnight and after taking them out of the oven the next day, I tried to pick one up by the drumstick. All I had was the bone! SO tender, and flavorful, and I don't eat the skin- which was indeed, very crisp!. Bravo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawny-doo June 20, 2013

Loved how this chicken turned out! I just ran out of garlic powder, so I used some different seasonings, but i followed he cooking instructions and it turned out great! The skin was crispy and the meat actually took on the flavor of the seasonings since it was put under the skin. The whole family really enjoyed it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinasworld_84 April 11, 2012

So crispy and so juicy. I made this for my family of three, instead of using 4 quarters, I used 3 because they were so big. I did everything according to the recipe but added basil and pepper to the top of the chicken just before placing them in the oven. I was a bit uneasy about this recipe because I do not like soy sauce, but it was amazing. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msNikki2 May 29, 2015

This chicken was a huge hit. I tossed some chopped onion and chunks of seasoned potatoes in with the chicken. Then pulled it out 30 minutes before it was due to be done and added some fresh green beans. Made a super easy one pan meal with minimal clean up. I've also done numerous variations on spices with whatever I've got on hand. Tastes like I've slaved in the kitchen for hours, when in reality it's about a 10 minute prep. Can't praise this recipe enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 24, 2015

Really easy and tasty recipe and my toughest critics (the kids) loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 29, 2015

Excellent recipe. Taste great, super easy, and inexpensive to make. Loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feetz40 March 30, 2015
Crispy Baked Chicken Leg Quarters (Very Easy, One Dish)