Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crispy Baked Basa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Baked Basa

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2014

      What a great recipe! The crushed almonds were a great touch. Feel free to add some turmeric to the dry mix for a dash of colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      My husband and kids really liked this. It's a keeper and I like that it is not fried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      A nice crispy coating! I bought some basa fillets today, for the very first time and wasn't sure how I was going to cook them. I'm so happy to have found your recipe, it was delicious. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      I'm a big fan of basa because it's cheap and has a wonderful mild flavor. This recipe turned out really well. The almonds in the breading gave the fish a lovely nutty flavor. I doubled the ingredients for the breading as my filets were huge. Baked up nice and crispy. Thanks for posting--will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      This was a great recipe. I'm not sure the size of the Basa fillets used in the original recipe, but the ones I bought were huge and I had to triple the dredging ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I think I like it fried better than baked because the breading gets really crispy when you fry it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This recipe was so easy and very good. I added the coating to the plate with each fillet so it didn't get soggy and the end result was crispy and delicious. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      When basa filet seemed to be featured in so many markets, I wanted to try it as it looked so fresh, and clean. Not a fan of catfish, even tho basa is in the same family, this is a far superior fish. The recipe was light, easy, I used hazelnuts. The only change I would suggest is making extra topping, about 1/2 more. I cooked 1.40 pounds and used all the topping suggested. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Yum! There are a lot of identities for this fish. It appears that in Asia names and fish types can be substituted. Internet searches showed that this is a mild white fish called Basa/Swai/Pangasius Hypophthalmus. Back to the recipe, I would recommend splitting the crust mixture in half because it gets soggy and doesn't stick to the last fillets as well. As much as I LOVE tarter sauce, I passed due to calorie content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Just made this yesterday, for Thanksgiving. This was great! I used Basa and Tilapia. I substituted the cornmeal with italian breadcrumbs , (Thanks Chef #886842) doubled most ingredients (Thanks Chef #336545) and substituted the lemon peppers with Rosemary with garlic (Thanks mom). It was not salty at all and had an great taste! I'm keeping this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This was really excellent, my husband loved it and asked me to make it again! However, I did run out of the almond/cornmeal mixture halfway thru coating my fillets, so next time I will double it right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I made this according to the recipe, but replaced cornmeal (which I didn't have) with Italian breadcrumbs. It was so delicious that even the little ones were begging for more. They said it tasted like it had come from a gourmet restaurant! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! I halved this recipe and used 2 swai fillets, also known as basa fillets. I also changed this by using pecans, not almonds, and skipped the toasting part. I ground the pecans myself, leaving some bigger chunks for a nice garnish on top. I had no cornmeal, so I substituted with Italian breadcrumbs. I placed on a buttered baking sheet and baked for 20 minutes, big chunks of pecan and all. Perfectly cooked. I served with steamed-in-the-bag broccoli and carrots, and spinache fettuccini. My husband said his only complaint was that I didn't make more! My husband skipped the lemon juice, while I thought it was better with it. Thanks for this keeper, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Made recipe as directed except I used cashews instead of almonds as they are my favorite. Very easy recipe and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I didn't get to eat this hot off the grill since I was at work but will definitely try again since I'm intrigued with the ingredients and so healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This was amazing! I coated it really well in the lemon and then pressed the coating onto it. Because hubby and I aren't huge fans of the super-crispy stuff, I baked it wrapped loosely in foil to keep the moisture in. Then, for the last 3 mins of cook time I opened the foil and turned it to broil so just the topping was crispy. Served it with a Sidekick (Asian teriyaki) and green beans... it was so good! Will definitely make this again as a delicious low-fat, low calorie meal. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This is very good...the only thing that hubby asked is to add a little salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This was very good. I made it quite awhile ago and forgot to review it. Someone in Q&A was just looking for low-cal fish recipes so I recommended it. When I made it I had no almonds, I used ground pecans and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Very Good! I had never made Basa before but it was on sale so I looked up a recie, and boy was I lucky to find this one! I did not have any almonds on hand so I used walnuts-- and I should have ground them finer- but it was still very good. I really liked the flavor from first dipping the fish in lemon juice before breading. Mild but distict. My kids (who dont like ANY nuts except peanut butter liked it too- and they trend to be on the picky side when it comes to flavorful foods. Thanks for a great and healthy dinner! We served it with a side of mixed broccoli, carrots and water chestnuts- had a great, easy and pretty quick dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Very pleasant recipe. Enjoyed the lightness of the fish and the crust. I cooked it a tad too long as my wife does not like undercooked fish, but the tartar sauce on the side corrected for this. I would probably increase the amount of the almond mixture to get a little more breading. The breading mixture had very good flavor. I used a mortar and pestal to grind the almonds. Next time I'd use a food processor or a plastic zip bag and mallet to get a finer grind. Overall a very wonderful dish that I will add to my cookbook and pass on to freinds and family. We just had this and a good green salad on the side for a very light, pleasantly filling late night dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Baked Basa

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.4
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    40%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 89.2 mg
    29%
    Sodium 131.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 28.3 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites