10 Reviews

Very delicious--however I pretty much only used the soy sauce and lemon juice for the dressing as I was missing all the other ingredients..still absolutely wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow October 11, 2007

This recipe is incredibly simple and delicious. I was pleasantly surprised by the mouth-watering flavor created with the combination of the lemon juice with the soy sauce. I highly recommend this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nauticalshell July 01, 2007

Enjoy the taste but beware the prep time (30 min. actually!). I rate this recipe 4 stars for taste but 2 stars for incorrect prep time listed and a few other detractors. I substituted honey for the sugar and added a bit more wasabe since 1/2 tsp doesn't even leave a hint of wasabe flavor, and I wanted only a hint. However, the prep time of 10 minutes is wrong. It took me 30 minutes, and I didn't even do the step of removing the strings - way too much trouble! Also, drying the peas after submerging in ice water (to stop the blanching process) took some time - spreading out on towels to soak up excess water. Lastly, the lemon juice discolors the peas, so if you want to make this recipe ahead of time and eat it the next day, you may not want "bleach" marks on the peas where they appear whitened (although this is certainly normal for lemon juice - I guess you could consider vinegar instead - but that would give a very different flavor). Hope this is helpful to someone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryJane123 August 26, 2013

A very satisfying salad that is a delightful change of pace had to go to an Asian store to find wasabi powder but I'm so glad I did as it really does make the dressing. This would be good for family get-togethers and pot lucks if I pack the dressing and veggies separately and then dress at the last minute. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 07, 2011

Very tasty salad.. Made recipe leaving out the Wasabi Powder. The dressing was good, and for the 8 of us I got 6 thumbs up. Next time I will make this with the wasabi powder, and update. Made for I recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 12, 2011

I loved this crisp and flavorful salad. The directions were perfect and the resulting flavor was delicious. I loved the texture of the crispy snow peas and carrots and the flavor of the sesame oil and hint of spice due to the wasabi powder. Simple and satisfying. Thanks! ~Made for the ZWT6 Zee Zany Zesty Cookz~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 02, 2010

This was very good. I loved the crunch of the vegetables, and the combination of flavors in the dressing. I'll be making this again! Made for the Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens, ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 23, 2010

this was very tasty- took it to a bbq and everyone loved it- made it exactly (used more snow peas and carrots than called for though)- the dressing was very different and delicious! thank you for giving me another option for all the snow peas in my garden right now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiger28 June 20, 2009

Leslie so easy and simple to make. A great change to the everyday salad. I served it with chicken and it was great the family really enjoyed it, they especialy liked the fact it had toasted sesame seeds on top. I did have trouble finding the wasai powder and had to use prepared wasabi from a tube. I was very careful and not sure how much to use, so I only used a little under 1/4 teaspoon. Everything else I followed to the recipe, it was as refreshing and crisp as you said ~Leslie~ so thanks for a great recipe. One to keep for summer!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme March 27, 2007
Crisp Snow Pea Salad