Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crisp Panko Chicken Cutlets w/Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crisp Panko Chicken Cutlets w/Tonkatsu Sauce

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2003

      Simple, easy, delicious. I just love cooking with Panko, and you are right about the tanginess of the sauce. The chicken breasts didn't take very long to cook - more like 3 minutes a side, but then they may have been smaller than you used. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

    • on September 11, 2012

      Delicious and, btw, is this comment font big enough? Would it be easier to read IF I WROTE IN CAPITALS? DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      This is so good. I served it as written, with a big bed of just plain shreaded cabbage. The Sauce seasons both the chicken and cabbage perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Oh my gosh, these are wonderful. I was voted best mom of the year with this. My kids loved this. I was worried they wouldn't like the sauce but they did. We did skip the cabbage but otherwise followed everything. I served this with some soba noodles and it was a perfect meal. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful. I did use less sugar, because Im more of a savory vs sweet kinda gal, and it was soooo good. Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I was disappointed with this. I was expecting something delicious, the chicken to me tasted plain. It was moist and tender, but just didn't have much flavor. I'll add seasoning to the panco if I try something like this again. The sauce was not bad - not great, but not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Very tasty a definite keeper. I love anything with a panko crust though. I didn't make the sauce, since some of the reviews didn't convince me to try it. Would like to try baking this also to see if it would crisp up, to save on some of the frying calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      The chicken was delicious, I was not thrilled with the sauce though. It was missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      All I have to say is YUUUUM! Best version of this I've found so far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This was just ok. Really oily and the sauce was not something that my husband liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This was great! The chicken stayed moist and tender... it was delicious! We'll be making this again very soon, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Great! I added some hot sauce, sesame oil and peanut butter to the sauce and substituted brown sugar for granulated sugar. It made it a little creamier and tangier. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is an excellent dish! My husband and I enjoyed it very much. The chicken was crispy and very moist, and the sauce is superb. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I made this today for lunch and it was so good. My husband and I enjoyed it very much. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      We've made these twice now, and it remains a favorite taste treat. Although these are labor intensive and messy, they come out crunchy and juicy. I slice mine into little strips and nuggets. The tonkatsu sauce is a good combination of tart and sweet and smells nice too. We microwaved it the second time, and that works well too. The second time, we served this with cabbage, which was a bit of a nuisance. Maybe with cabbage leaves instead of shreds, this would be fun to eat. I had trouble getting the raw cabbage on my fork and into my mouth. I think I'd go with cabbage leaves next time. Or cabbage leaf squares. I was out of vegetable oil so I used olive oil, and I didn't notice any real difference. We'll probably make this again next time I want something crunchy with a dipping sauce. It might make a good appetizer too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Great flavors, great texture, I loved it (My husband does too)! I've made the panko chicken in both the oven and on the stove top...stove top is a shade tastier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I made this tonight for dinner, and was a little disapponinted. The Chicken was WONDERFUL moist and love the crunchy panko. However the sauce was too salty and strong for my taste. To be fair, I was out of ketchup so used a little BBQ sauce, but it was overpowered by the Worcestershire. If I make it again, will cut the Worcestershire in half and use just 1 egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      This was truly a delicious dish, can't say enough about it. Very easy to prepare with short cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This was awesome. Didn't expect it to be THAT good. Wow! It was! Everyone loved it, including my 5-year-old. He usually won't eat anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crisp Panko Chicken Cutlets w/Tonkatsu Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 588.3
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    15%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 215.0 mg
    71%
    Sodium 2130.6 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.7 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 42.2 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites