Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crisp Lemon Calf Liver Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crisp Lemon Calf Liver

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2002

      We love liver and this was a very nice change from the ordinary. I would have never thought of lemon. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2002

      Got into a thread yesterday, talking about liver and knew we wouldn't be happy till we had it again!! Went to search and found Your Lemon liver Bergy, so of course had to try it. It was wonderfull, satisfied our craving!! the only change I made was to cut the bacon to 4 slices. This is a great way to make liver, we liked the touch of lemon and will certainly make it again!! Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Fantastic, what a difference to liver, made a wonderful change. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Made this last night (minus the parsley) for my father and I. The combination of lemon and bacon was novel and delicious, nicely complimented the dill and liver. I will also be trying this with chicken for my non-liver-consuming mother and boyfriend. Thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      This was a real delicious dish. I had cut this recipe in half since it was only me. I normally don't like cooking liver in the house because it usually stinks up the kitchen. So normally I go out and get this in a restaurant when I have a craving. But the smell was really not too bad at all. I cooked the recipe as written so I would get the true flavor since this is the first time trying a lemon flavor liver. I was surprised that is was really yummy, although I will have to admit my favorite is with a bit of gravy and onions. I am glad I tried this recipe because I love liver. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe Bergy, I did enjoy this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      The lemon in this is something i never would have thought of for liver. It works. We really liked this and will use this recipe again. My kids were a little on the fence, but they did eat it so thats something. I especially liked them crispy,which i have never done with liver before. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Delicious! We have become liverlovers as a result of this recipe. We find that we can get by with less butter by adding more lemon juice. Other cooks, make sure that you take a look at other "Bergy recipes". You won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I fixed this for dinner tonight. My DH wasn't wanting to try this; (we both hate liver). I had him help with reading of the recipe for encouragement...lol...We both totally loved it! He even agreed for me to start fixing it once a month...:) Served garden fresh cucumbers with yogurt/mayo/dill with a pinch of mrs. dash for dressing, crusty bread cut at an angle with smart sense butter with some fresh chopped parsley gracing it. I am going to fix this and give the recipe to my mother. she will be in heaven when she tastes this. I know what little is left over will make most excellent sandwiches...yum! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This is a tasty, easy to make recipe. However in the future I think that I would use less bacon. I had it with a side of mixed brown rice. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I've cooked for many years and this combinatin of bacon and lemon is awsome! The flavors drive me crazy...in a good way. I'm going to pan sear some greens tonight and see if I can make them tolerable with the lemon/bacon combnation. If some famous chef got ahold of this combination it would make him famous!! like you are in my book :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I used beef liver. Generally speaking, I am not a big fan of liver, but I found "Crisp Lemon Liver" not just edible, but actually very tasty! This recipe is easy to make, tastes great and goes well with mashed potatos. My husband loved it! I will make it again. I also recommended it to a friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Oh my gosh this was soooo good!! I used chicken livers. I've had chicken livers with lemon before (just dredged in flour, fried, and a little lemon sqeezed on top) but this improves it enormously. The addition of the dill and bacon puts this way over the top! The only thing I did differently was, I added the lemon rind (zested) to the pan along with the lemon juice instead of sprinkling it on top. I love this recipe even more than my usual chicken livers cooked in onions & wine. Thankyou Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Outstanding! I love the combination. I made it exactly as specified with the exception of the parsley garnish. THANKS for posting...for us liver lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Wow!! This really surprised me with all it's flavor. I have to admit I was not sure about the lemon juice and liver combination. I held my breath when DH started eating it......I even put some of the lemon sauce on the side in case he didn't like it. But he ate the sauce on it's own, and wanted more.....and the bacon was what put this over the top. Just can't have too much bacon. I'll probably always make liver this way from now on. Thanks Bergy, I should have known one of your recipes would be terrific. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      What a lovely and interesting partnership the bacon and lemon make! I used chicken livers and did not have dill on hand, but I will definately make this again...my husband was very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Very, very good & easy to make! I doubled the recipe. I loved the lemon flavor in this. The combination of lemon, bacon, & dill really made the most amazing burst of fresh flavor to liver. I had only tried beef liver smothered in onions & brown gravy, but this will be a new favorite. Who needs gravy with something this good? Thanks Bergy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      I love the lemon & saltiness of this Bergy. My kids don't like liver, however I told them it was lamb on their plate tonight, ....ooops silly me :) When I cleared the plates, there was no lamb....opps, I mean liver left overs. Thanks Bergy , a nice dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crisp Lemon Calf Liver

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.3
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    77%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 62.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 355.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    calf liver

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites