Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crisp Fried Smelt - Smelts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crisp Fried Smelt - Smelts

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2010

      This recipe is just about perfect. It's almost exactly like my dad's recipe from years ago when he used to cook them. I simply used a plastic grocery bag to flour the little critters, used a cast iron skillet to fry with and they were outstanding! YUM.

      I found the smelts at an international market where they had already prepped and cleaned them. I also added a small amount of garlic powder to the flour mix as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Yummy! I haven't had smelt since I was a kid, but I recently saw some at the store and wanted to double-check my memory's recipe. Instead of flour, we've always used Fryin' Magic, but same idea. Thanks! YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Fantastic recipe. Very easy to make and absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2014

      I was just trying to see if smelt is available in eastern N.C. When in Wi. I used to eat them in restaurants every time we went to one that served Smelt. I was hoping to find some, even if frozen in eastern N.C. The ones served in the Wi. restaurants were apx. the size of a pinky finger & fried crisp like a french fry. Fabulous food. Haven't had any since 1993, but think of them often. I do not know, but I thought the ones I ate in Wi. came from the great lakes, perhaps Lake Michigan. These recipes all look great, now I just have to find the Smelt!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Delicious recipe, Rita. Just like my Mom used to make. Super easy to do, prep times are accurate, and the finished product is fantastic. I did not use flour, but a mix of seasoned bread crumbs called "Shore Lunch". I didn't filet the smelts either, but rolled them in egg, then dry coating, then fried them a couple of minutes until golden brown and delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Absolutely delish! Frozen smelt are available most of the year if you can't get fresh. They should be about the size of a woman's pinkie finger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Deje'vu! I was telling someone about how I used to cook smelt for my parents and their friends (I started cooking as soon as I could see into a cast iron skillet) and lo, there is a recipe like I used! I'm a pinch of this n' that cook, but it seems the same to me! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe. We can't get the small ones, they sell them for bait fish here, but that Ok, i thaw, clean and use but still like the little ones. The egg makes them fluffy and you are right, it is great on the budget. I fed all the kids once a week on fried smelt and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      I too remember eating this as a kid during Lent. Just like my mom used to make. I can still hear my little brother saying, "Mom, can we have minnows for supper?"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      My hubby John made your recipe for smelt last evening. He had gone ice fishing the previous day and caught 53. I am posting a photo - you will note that we do not fillet ours but do them in the round. We usually just dip them in flour, salt & pepper and fry, but your recipe tasted so much better and the smelt remained sweet & moist. Thanks Rita L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      This was very good - a subtle change from our usual smelt fry. We would just coat with seasoned flour and fry in butter/oil. The addition of the egg made them fluffier but yet still had crunch. A once a year treat - nothing like a fresh smelt fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crisp Fried Smelt - Smelts

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.2
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    12%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 157.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 132.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites