14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is almost like the one and I have made for at least 30 years. It was handed down to me from my grandmother...To add to this recipe I add 2 green and 2 red peppers sliced thin also...While heating, add several cloves of garlic...I also process in a hot water bath for at least 10 min. just to be on the safe side....I have taken several "blue ribbons" with this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie Rose July 28, 2001

best and easiest reipe for bread and butter pickles i've ever used! crisp and tasy when opened

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duana reece July 23, 2001

This is the 2nd year I've made this recipe. I was never fond of the bread and butter pickles I made until I found this recipe. the flavors blend perfectly, no clash of sweet with vinegar. Even the onions are killer. This year I pickled some cauliflower florets with this recipe, and zucchini chunks, and they are also excellent. Using red onion also adds some great color to the pickles. these are my husband's all time favorites, and made me a convert, too. we've been through 2 pints in 4 days!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamohearn August 17, 2009

The is the recipe I have been making for the last 50 years. I do add a sliced red bell pepper to the sliced pickles to add a bit of color in each jar. I do bring the liquid to a boil before I add the sliced pickles. When hot through I place in jars and process 10 minutes in a BWB.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley Ann #2 August 05, 2008

This recipe is exactly like my father's Aunt Onie's, except hers calls for 3 onions and 2 bell peppers (all thinly sliced). Aunt Onie's also added 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Like some of the other posters, I also do the 10-minute boiling water bath. I'm making some tomorrow...can't wait cause we're completely out of bread & butter pickles!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suannesb June 04, 2010

This is the best bread and butter pickle recipe I've ever used! I made these in the summer and we've been eating them lately like they're going out of style. I've given some to friends for Christmas gifts and EVERYBODY has been raving about them. This recipe is most definately a keeper! Thanks for posting this wonderful pickle recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes December 25, 2009

My family loved this and so did I. The taste was wonderful, the color was pretty and the recipe was easy to prepare. I did process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pabs June 05, 2002

I realized I never rated this recipe, but this is the 3rd year I've made these pickles and they are delicious! I'm not a big fan of sweet pickles, but these have just enough tang to make them so yummy! They are great on sandwiches and just for eating! It's easy to make a lg. amount of these pickles, just slice a huge pile of cucumbers and then make the syrup. I find that one recipe of this syrup is usually plenty, I always have some left over. This last batch made 11 pint! Also I only let them soak for 2 hrs. at the beginning and then a boiling hot water bath for 10 min. at the very end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieL. July 15, 2013

While I've been making pickles for more years than I care to mention, I have longed for a bread and butter pickle that was crisp. I'm still longing. The title of this recipe is misleading. While the pickles taste great and were easy to make, they were nowhere near crispy. I knew as soon as I drained off the liquid from the soak that they were going to be soft. Perhaps some lime early in the process would have kept them crispy? I don't know, still looking for that nice, crisp bread & butter pickle...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Big Cheese June 22, 2011

I got rave reviews when I made this last year. Getting ready to make them again. Reminds me of my grandmother's pickles, but even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizziezil August 07, 2010
Crisp Bread and Butter Pickles