Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crisp Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crisp Bread and Butter Pickles

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2001

      This recipe is almost like the one and I have made for at least 30 years. It was handed down to me from my grandmother...To add to this recipe I add 2 green and 2 red peppers sliced thin also...While heating, add several cloves of garlic...I also process in a hot water bath for at least 10 min. just to be on the safe side....I have taken several "blue ribbons" with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

      best and easiest reipe for bread and butter pickles i've ever used! crisp and tasy when opened

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This is the 2nd year I've made this recipe. I was never fond of the bread and butter pickles I made until I found this recipe. the flavors blend perfectly, no clash of sweet with vinegar. Even the onions are killer. This year I pickled some cauliflower florets with this recipe, and zucchini chunks, and they are also excellent. Using red onion also adds some great color to the pickles. these are my husband's all time favorites, and made me a convert, too. we've been through 2 pints in 4 days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      The is the recipe I have been making for the last 50 years. I do add a sliced red bell pepper to the sliced pickles to add a bit of color in each jar. I do bring the liquid to a boil before I add the sliced pickles. When hot through I place in jars and process 10 minutes in a BWB.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This recipe is exactly like my father's Aunt Onie's, except hers calls for 3 onions and 2 bell peppers (all thinly sliced). Aunt Onie's also added 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Like some of the other posters, I also do the 10-minute boiling water bath. I'm making some tomorrow...can't wait cause we're completely out of bread & butter pickles!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This is the best bread and butter pickle recipe I've ever used! I made these in the summer and we've been eating them lately like they're going out of style. I've given some to friends for Christmas gifts and EVERYBODY has been raving about them. This recipe is most definately a keeper! Thanks for posting this wonderful pickle recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      My family loved this and so did I. The taste was wonderful, the color was pretty and the recipe was easy to prepare. I did process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I realized I never rated this recipe, but this is the 3rd year I've made these pickles and they are delicious! I'm not a big fan of sweet pickles, but these have just enough tang to make them so yummy! They are great on sandwiches and just for eating! It's easy to make a lg. amount of these pickles, just slice a huge pile of cucumbers and then make the syrup. I find that one recipe of this syrup is usually plenty, I always have some left over. This last batch made 11 pint! Also I only let them soak for 2 hrs. at the beginning and then a boiling hot water bath for 10 min. at the very end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      While I've been making pickles for more years than I care to mention, I have longed for a bread and butter pickle that was crisp. I'm still longing. The title of this recipe is misleading. While the pickles taste great and were easy to make, they were nowhere near crispy. I knew as soon as I drained off the liquid from the soak that they were going to be soft. Perhaps some lime early in the process would have kept them crispy? I don't know, still looking for that nice, crisp bread & butter pickle...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I got rave reviews when I made this last year. Getting ready to make them again. Reminds me of my grandmother's pickles, but even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I canned by myself for the first time this past weekend.... (I used to watch Grampy and family when I was younger) - our family favorite was always the bread and butter.... I tried this recipe - followed advice from Shirley Ann #2 - and Voila...I've got tasty pickles...super easy to make. Thank you all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      A great recipe for Bread & Butter Pickles, Easy & Tasty. I did add 1 green & 1 red pepper. Also several cloves of Garlic as suggested By Jackie. Also proessed them in the Hot water Bath for 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      Great recipe to make with all the cucumbers growing in the garden

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crisp Bread and Butter Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.7
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    51%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7091.3 mg
    295%
    Total Carbohydrate 145.0 g
    48%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 133.6 g
    534%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites