14 Reviews

I have been making this recipe for years and always get rave reviews and friends asking me to make it for them. There is one ingredient missing from the original recipe and that is Accent. (MSG) This ingredient is what makes it so delicious and I can't find the original recipe to know how much to use. It is very bland in my opinion without it and very very few people have a mild and temporary allergic reaction to it according the major medical sites. How much do I use? Does anyone know???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kubacat3 January 31, 2016

This recipe is great! I've made this for the first time years ago, it's still one of our favorites. The only trouble now is finding a 2½ to 3-pound chicken. Difficult to find one under 4 pounds. It's nice to see some of the old favorites coming to this site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David in Arizona February 09, 2015

I just did an all out search for this recipe on the internet and I should have known it would have led me back to my favorite site! This recipe has been around since I first got married in the mid-70's and one we always loved. I too got it off the Crisco can. I always made it in an electric skillet and made the extra spicy version. Thanks so much posting. I will have easy access to it now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 20, 2012

I just had to try this recipe after watching the movie "The Help". It turned out great. The crispy skin and extremely moist meat made it taste fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaketownTruffle January 21, 2012

The coating did taste very good and cooked way to fast. The chicken didn't get cooked all the way through but the breading was too dark. I made sure my oil wasn't too hot too and tried a second time, but it still wasn't great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgriffin51 June 26, 2011

This is the best fried chicken recipe I've ever had. I'm 33 years old and my mom has been using it since I could remember. She still has the original first recipe that came under the lid of The old school Crisco can. Yummy!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaemon13 December 12, 2010

Excellent recipe. I tried it tonight, without Crisco. I didn't have any so I used vegetable oil in it's place. My kids are coming to visit on Memorial Day weekend, I'll make sure they taste Dad's new fried chicken. With Crisco, of course! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robertdknight February 20, 2010

Tried pre-steaming drumsticks slightly before following this receipe since it's tough to tell if the inside is fully cooked when the outside is brown & crispy. I read this somewhere on Zaar & it worked well for me. The chicken was very crispy but the flavour of the coating was not quite what I was looking for but we still enjoyed. My search goes on... Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Night Owl October 29, 2007

This was the best fried chicken I have ever had! I used my deep fryer with canola oil instead of crisco. DH is watching his weight. My family absolutly loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' in Texas October 18, 2007

Really nice chicken! I made mine slightly differently. I coated mine with the flour mixture and microwaved for about 3mins, coated again and placed under a hot grill. it was crispy and tasty. good for weight watchers! THANK FOR POSTING.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Merbel August 30, 2007
Crisco's Super Crisp Country Fried Chicken