72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this many times and it is sooooooo great! It is way easy and taste so good! Company always loves it. Even people that do not like cream cheese or cheese cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brown Melly May 22, 2009

Great recipe and so easy! Sometimes instead of putting the cinnamon sugar on top - I put 1/4 c. melted butter and mix chocolate chips, pecans, and coconut and spread over the top. DELISH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theragsdale3 May 07, 2009

I used reduced fat crescent rolls and cream cheese. Next time I'll have the butter - I don't think it needs a full stick of butter. This was a spectacular end to my Mexican dinner party! So easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltbugj March 29, 2009

So good and easy to make. I usually prefer to make everything from scratch, but this is definetly a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarieadams February 11, 2009

I was asked to bring a dessert for a Mexican-theme potluck Super Bowl party yesterday. The first thing that came to mind was sopapillas, but there was no way I was going to try to make those! I came across this recipe and it was a smashing success. I'm not a great baker, and this was so easy that even I couldn't find a way to mess it up! BF said it reminded him of Cinnamon Toast Crunch, his fav cereal. Thanks for a yummy and EASY recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrownSugarChef February 02, 2009

I made this for a New Year's Eve party and everyone loved it! Not to mention that it was very simple to make! Thanks for such a great recipe! I will be making this again for a party this weekend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mawalker82 January 07, 2009

I tried this at a friends house and this is Excellent!!!! I look forward to making this myself sometime in the near future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris_tam January 03, 2009

Quick story: I had this at a barbecue and was enfatuated with it (loved it), so my partner and I were asking everyone who made it. Long story short, the person who made monkey bread said they made it and would give us the recipe. Well, they sent us a monkey bread recipe, so we used our taste buds and some internet comparisons to try and re-create what we had eaten instead. I named them Cheesecake Monkey Treats in honor of our mistaken babecue friend... then my partner's sister has a bake-off at work, and the lady wins with this recipe and she sends us this Sopapilla name. Google the dish and here it is! We always bake the bottom layer for five minutes first and heat up the cream cheese for 30 secs in the microwave before mixing in the sugar and spreading it. Tried it without the 5 minutes in the oven and the bottom came out uncooked. I also halve the recipe and use a 9x9 pan and cut into bite-size squares. I like them refrigerated, he likes them room temp. These are HEAVY and HEAVENLY :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sobiedaddies December 29, 2008

WONDERFUL!!! My brother made it for our family christmas and i just had to find the recipe!!! It is the best and SOOOO Easy to make!!! I give it 5 stars!!! Its WONDERFUL!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChubbycurlsInTheKitchen December 23, 2008

Everyone loves this!! One thing..Pillsbury now makes the crescent dough in pkgs. of 9 x 13 sheets. It's right next to the crescent rolls. Makes preparing even easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwa318 December 22, 2008
Crescent Sopaipilla / Sopapilla Cheesecake