72 Reviews

I made these for my picky daughter who usu loves sopapillas. She didn't like them at all--they "had no honey and tasted like cheesecake" (which she doesn't like-the skinny wench!)...HOWEVER, my husband and son devoured the whole pan in less than 24 hours! I used reduced fat products and will probably reduce the amount of butter next time. So if you are looking for a true Tex-mex sopapilla, look on...BUT if you are looking for a quick, easy, super gooey cheese-cinnamony filled treat, try this-- you won't be disappointed. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta November 11, 2007

I had this at a teacher Christmas party a few years ago and have made it many times since then. Rich and delicious! I let it cool a little before serving or all the filling will run.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SooZeeQ April 18, 2010

tasty and supersweet. i added 1/4 cup sour cream to the cream cheese to make it a bit less sweet and it worked well. lemon zest might also be a nice addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz June 03, 2010

I wouldn't suggest putting the 1st layer in the oven while you make the filling. I did as a reviewer suggested with not so good results. The filling mixture was very hard to spread on the warm and mushy bottom layer. I also think 2 packages of cream cheese is more than enough for the 9x13in pan. I wouldn't suggest a whole teaspoon of almond extract either. I used just that and found the almond extract to be a bit over powering for me. In all this was a good recipe and I didn't have any complaints . Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine January 02, 2005

I was all set to post this delectable recipe myself, when I found it already posted. So here is my review, instead. :) I had the good fortune of tasting this at a Christmas party and believe me, I wasn't leaving until I had my hands on the recipe!! I decided to make this using the low-fat crescent rolls, low-fat cream cheese and the Splenda-Sugar Blend for Baking. It turned out perfectly, puffy and delicious w/o the added fat and calories. Cheesecake lovers - this is a must try!! These little wonders just melt in your mouth! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Peace!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas December 23, 2004

I had made another recipe almost identical to this and I felt it was too sweet and too greasy tasting so this time I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, reduced the butter to 1/3 cup, used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond extract, added about 1/2 cup sour cream, reduced the cinnamon sugar on top to a light sprinkle, and to give a little oomph, I sprinkled chopped pecans on top. Perfect! Very nicely sweet without being too sweet, not too greasy tasting, and the pecans gave it the perfect touch. I brought it to a church dinner and every last piece was GONE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie in Greenville February 02, 2015

This is very tasty and easy to make but it is too sweet for me as written. I cut the sugar to be mixed into the cream cheese at least in half and add the juice of one lime. J also like to spread some apricot preserves or home made apricot filling on top of the cheese layer before putting on the top crust. Some chopped pecans also go well in the sugar/cinnamon crumble topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cush December 15, 2013

Love this! I added pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Marie L. December 04, 2013

This was so sinfully good. My husband raved about it for two weeks, and I gained two pounds eating it. Really a wonderful recipe thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evol August 22, 2013
Crescent Sopaipilla / Sopapilla Cheesecake