10 Reviews

Cooked this for dinner. I substituted ground beef for the sausage and used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar (which was awesome). It was a heavy dish though with the cream cheese but at least that made it edible. The beef/cream cheese mixture was so thick that the egg mixture didn't penetrate leaving with distinct layers. It wasn't a terrible dish but it wasn't a great dish by no means. It could be because our family likes zucchini pies and quiches and this wasn't anywhere close to those. I will give this recipe another chance with sausage but will have to add in some veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone October 08, 2011

This recipe is good, HOWEVER, I think it should be said that the 'description/instructions' should be modified. First of all, you said to use a 'flat' cookie sheet, which happens to have NO sides and you are using 'liquid egg material'so flat and flat and wet make for a mess. Particularly since you have changed the recipe doubling the amount of egg in originas as stated. So I found it best to create a small 'edge' on the bottom crescent, somewhat of a crust edge to HOLD the egg as it does not stay in one place. And, it needed 'flavor' other than just salt...so I added herbs to the eggs and used a sage enhanced sausage. It turned out beautifully, the SECOND time, the firs time I don't feel it was five stars at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nasus August 31, 2011

My husband and his brother are two picky eaters! They both stared at it for a minute before they gave up and tried some....10 minutes later I was fighting them for the last piece! lol! Wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXsmoore November 09, 2008

I was at a real loss for dinner tonight...so I searched the frig, went on to Zaar and used the recipe sifter. That's how I came upon your recipe. I only had enough ingredients to halve the recipe and it was FABULOUS! I used a smaller Corning Ware pan and put half of the crescents on the bottom, cooked it for a while and then continued with the recipe. I was so surprised by how easy and tasty it was. I, too, semi-scrambled the eggs which worked perfectly. I didn't have any cheddar, so I used American cheese slices. I unwrapped them, tore them into pieces, and placed them over the egg mixture. It tasted great! I used an egg wash on the top layer of crescents, and it looked beautiful! My husband and son asked that I make this again. Thanks for a great recipe! tld

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee October 09, 2008

Excellant. I scrambled the eggs first. This was a big hit in my family of five! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shay May 11, 2008

Delicious! I made this at Christmas and my 8 year old son still asks me to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HockeyMum17 February 23, 2008

This was rated 5 stars by my hubby's co-workers. I made this for him to take to a potluck breakfast and now they want the recipe. I didn't get to taste it but it was gone quickly according to hubby.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 May 26, 2007

This is a very good, quick breakfast casserole. The crust comes out crispy and it tastes great. The cream cheese adds a nice flavor. I used hot pork sausage instead of regular because we like our food a little spicier. I think you could put just about any add-ins you want instead of sausage: bacon, ham, veggies, etc. We enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondem777 April 22, 2007
Crescent Roll Breakfast Casserole