19 Reviews

My grandson was home from college for a few days (quarter break) and I always try and feed him well!! This casserole helped me accomplish that!!! We're not big sausage fans, so I cubed some ham and used that instead. I read some of the reviews and saw where a few had a problem with the crust browing to much -- I didn't find that at all. In fact, it was perfect with baking it for the 10 minutes. I did find when I returned it to the oven after adding the filling, I had to bake it a bit longer than the 30 minutes -- probably a good 10-12 minutes longer. It was wonderful. This would be a perfect dish to make for an Easter brunch (or any other holiday for that matter). I've had this marked to try for quite sometime and I'm so glad I finally got around to doing it. YUM YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie March 24, 2010

Made this this week-end for my family and friends that were coming for the week-end. I made it the week-end before and baked it. I then froze it and it placed it in the fridge the night before I was gping to serve it , warmed it in the oven and it was awesome !! Great make ahead casserole !! Thanks for a great recipe Kitten.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Fowler Polly W October 26, 2008

What a wonderful breakfast! I used fat free 1/2 & 1/2, and two boxes of the precooked bacon, crumbled, instead of the sausage the second time we made this. I had to bake it for about 20 minutes more than listed. Love it with bacon or sausage. Thanks for a great casserole!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenbarby August 10, 2007

I bake it for about 45 min with foil on just the crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sean Robert P. January 04, 2014

I'm usually a huge Kittencal fan, but this one didn't do it for me. We made it for Mother's Day, but the crescent rolls, cheese, and sausage all together just made it too heavy for our tastes. I still give it three stars because, as usual, the recipe came together perfectly, but I would play with it by replacing some of the sausage & cheese with some veggies & maybe replacing the crescent roll dough with stale bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
profken May 24, 2012

Again Kittencal, you do not dissappoint. This was the best sausage casserole I have ever had. I have one I always used but this one was so incredible it will be my new go to. I actually used some things from 2 of your casseroles. I added dry mustard to this and I also had some bacon ends that I cut up and browned with the sausage. We don't like onions but we like the flavor so I used a small amount of dried chives. The crust was perfect. Thanks again, Kitten. Keep 'em coming!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 October 03, 2011

I made this but used baking powder biscuit dough I had made, and I forgot the milk, but the kids still LOVED it! Thank you for another winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz September 25, 2011

I made this as written as a test batch for a larger group brunch. It worked perfectly but I found the bulk breakfast sausage (mild) quite bland so when I made it for the main event I mixed half spicy sausage with the mild and it perked it up a bit. The crust on the second batch would have gotten too dark if I hadn't come to the rescue with some thinly folded aluminum foil. The reason for this is that on the 2nd batch I brought the crust up and slightly over the edge, don't do this, it is not even necessary to have the egg mixture within the boundaries of the crust. It will set well without that. Also, since I had a 11"x 13" glass pan I lowered the temp to 325 degrees and allowed 1 hr for cooking but it was done in 45 min. If covered when it comes out it will continue to set more from residual heat. Thank you again Kit, got some really rewarding compliments :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lanibobonnie July 12, 2010

WOW! Once again I can ALWAYS count on Kittencalskitchen for the winning recipe. EVERY time I make one of your recipes - it steals the show! This recipe was true to form. This is a definite brunch or pot luck dish! I'll be sure to make it again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Kissing Cook March 01, 2010

This was a good recipe but I suggest the following: Dont precook crust will be too dark if cook required time which was off from the recipe was more like 45 minutes. I added a can of chopped green chilie;s whiich was really good.I also added bacon flavored seasoning instead of the salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bblondie08 January 30, 2010
Crescent Crust Sausage Brunch Casserole