Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crescent City Red Beans & Rice (Crock-Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crescent City Red Beans & Rice (Crock-Pot)

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2009

      My family loved this one. I used canned chipotle - one whole pepper and about a tablespoon of the adobo sauce, a ham steak instead of the ham hock and mixed in about 4 cups of rice. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I had to quickly think of something for dinner yesterday because I knew I was having a busy day. This recipe fit the situation great. I did however change things up, and no disrespect to the recipe :( but I just went with what I had on hand. I used some pigs tails that I had in the freezer that need to be used (I'm Portuguese so pigs tails aren't gross to us LOL) For the smoked sausage I used Portuguese Bacon cut into 1/2 in pieces. Also being that I decided to make this the same day, I used 4 cans of red kidney beans (I was having company over so used 4 cans) I up's the chicken broth, but couldn't tell ya by how much cuz I just poured it in. In all this was excellent. I didn't serve it over rice, being Portuguese we love our bread ;) Thank you for the recipe and I will make it again one of these days the way the recipe is written :) Made by member of "Cooks With Dirty Faces" for ZWT5 Zingo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      I'm from New Orleans and I can vouch that this dish is authentic and delicious, as well as easy! Since we're watching our weight, I didn't add in the butter, used smoked turkey sausage instead, and didn't use the garlic salt and it still came out great! I did do it exactly like the recipe for our friends with butter and spicy smoked sausage and they all raved about it! Thanks for a great recipe, highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Have tried several red beans & rice recipes - made yours tonight... best red beans to ever come out of my kitchen, by far. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I've never been a big fan of red beans & rice, so I can't say that I'm an expert, but I liked this dish! It was flavorful and fairly easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Today,was my DH birthday,and as usual he wanted red beans and rice for dinner. I nevered cared much for it,or at least didnt with the old recipe I was using. But I would make it for him..Today I made this crockpot version and it was really good..I did boil water on the stove to cover beans in crock.Took 3 1/2 hour on high for beans to tender...I used Mrs dash southwestern chipotle omitted ham hock. I fried up some johnsonville New Orleans style smoked sausage..My DH was very pleased said he likes this recipe much better .Nice and spicy...Froze 4 meals of red beans..This is the recipe I will be using from now on..Thank U for posting.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This is the best red beans and rice recipe I've ever tried! I love spice and these were perfect for me. Next time I will mostly likely have to cut back on the chipotle and cajun seasonings for my husband. I didn't have any garlic salt but didn't miss it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Great Stuff!!!! The family couldn't get enough of this and I couldn't get over just how easy it was! It was just the right dish for easy over night and morning prep, long slow cooking while we were at work/school, and simple finishes before dinner. It is not surprising that this is in the Best of 2009 collection because it's going into my tried and true collection too! Thanks A Good Thing for "A Good Thing"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Loved it! Thank you for the detailed directions! I don't really cook with a crockpot and everthing felt foreign so the directions really helped. I followed it exactly and used the optional ingredients. I think the ham hocked is a must! I used a smoked one. I used red beans, added 1 1/2 tsp salt, about 3 tbs cornstarch and a smoked beef sausage (Hillshire Farms) then served with white, long grain rice. The recipe didn't say how many bay leaves, so I put 2 large ones and I also added 1 tsp of cajun seasonings while cooking. I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and then low for 2 hours. It takes a long time, but it's soo easy! Thanks so much for sharing this! My DH doesn't like many crockpot recipes, but he and the kids really loved this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I loved the ease of this recipe. This is the type of meal my father would have loved. I didn't have liquid smoke or andouille sausage so I am sure it would have been even more phenomenal. Still delicious and worth keeping in the cookbook for winter days. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      so so good! i used some cooked ham i had. very satisfying, filling, warming comfort food! just want to add since this is for zwt that i used andouille sausage

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      The smell of the andouille sausage while it cooks is reward enough for making this recipe! Add to this the convenience of using your crock pot, and this recipe is a slice of heaven. While chopping the green bell pepper and onion, I almost added celery to complete the Cajun trinity, but I usually don't put celery in my red beans and rice, so didn't with this recipe either. I didn't have a ham hock, but I diced up some ham and threw in half a slice of bacon to season the beans. I used popcorn rice, brought back from New Orleans because I really love the special taste with red beans and rice. I used a little cajun seasoning, but no salt. I felt the salt from the andouille sausage would be enough. I used half the amount of corn flour suggested, as I like my red beans and rice a little soupy...I like the rice to absorb the yummy flavor. I cooked my andouille in a skillet to get rid of the grease, but instead of serving on top of the beans, I added them to the crockpot while the rice cooked so the beans could take on some of the flavor of the sausage. I did add some hot sauce sprinkled over the top when serving. Served this with Zydeco Salad 367912 featuring Central Grocery''s Olive Salad and a nice big piece of crusty french bread. Delish! Made for ZWT5 for the Saucy Senoritas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Very good and tasty red bean recipe. Thanks for the great directions. I followed them exactly except I did as others had suggested and mashed a few of the beans and added them back to thicken up the juice. These beans had a great flavor with all the onions, garlic cloves, and spices. Thanks for sharing your family recipe. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      These were delicious! I used cubed ham, no chipolte seasoning, liquid smoke, and just mashed about 1 1/2 cups beans to thicken it up. Made for the GROOVY GASTROGNOMES of ZWT5 & Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Instead of using a ham hock, I added in about a cup of cubed ham that I needed to use up. Otherwise followed the recipe. I served cornbread along with this and it was some mighty fine eating. Made for Dining Daredevils ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      When the weather warms up I use my crock pot A LOT! This recipe is a keeper. I soaked my beans overnight. I had a ham bone I had saved in the freezer, so it finally got to make an appearance. I buy the Minor's concentrated soup bases, and used about 2 teaspoons of the chipotle base for this dish, as well as chipotle flavored Tabasco. I also added some of the Minor's garlic base and bacon base (about a teaspoon each) which really added richness. So many red beans and rice recipes are too bland for my tastes. This recipe packs the flavor and spice, and using a crock pot it's fix-and-forget. Like Galley Wench, I used my stick blender to mash up and thicken the beans, so did not use the flour. Made for ZWT5 Zingo, for the Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      You got to love crock pots! I didn't plan in advance enough to soak the beans overnight so did the quick soak method. Instead of ham hock, I cut 4 slices of bacon into quarters and lightly browned and then add to the bean pot! Also added a small diced jalapeno and little red wine. About an hour before serving added the sausage to the pot. Instead of thickening with flour, I used my submersible blender to mash up a portion of the beans. Worked perfectly! Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT5 Zingo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Especially for such humble-looking fare, this is amazingly good! Because of a mixup on what should be done before and after cooking, we left out most of the salt, and didn't miss it; the garlic salt, chipotle cube, and hot sauce gave it flavor aplenty, without being unreasonably hot. Very satisfying; you can see why it's a regional tradition. Made for Zaar World Tour 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      The crock-pot is the only to cook beans and your directions were very nicely done. I was in New Orleans about a month ago and purchased several packages of Camellia Red Beans one of which was used for your recipe. I omitted the extra garlic salt and found upon taste testing that the beans were salty enough for our taste with the chicken stock, ham hock, liquid smoke and Cajun seasoning. About of a cup of the beans were mashed and returned to the pot to thicken eliminating the need for the cornstarch. These were served with a fresh fruit salad and Rustic Oatmeal Cornbread. Made and enjoyed for the Epicurean Queens during *ZWT 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      This was amazing!!! i vegan-ized it hope u dont mind. Cooked on low for about 11 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crescent City Red Beans & Rice (Crock-Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.7
     
    Calories from Fat 283
    77%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 71.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1889.7 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites