234 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were PERFECT! My SO said these were better than any he has ever had in a restaurant. I used some sliced fresh strawberries and powdered sugrar and whipped cream. This was a great Saturday breakfast. Actually, I have been asked to make them again tomorrow morning! I prefered the ones I cooked until just doughy, not crispy. I am going to try them tomorrow with an apple filling (cooked with some brown sugar and cinnamon).I bet they will be great also. Thanks Inez :)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamonds4heather May 13, 2002

These are really the best crepes I ever made. For breakfast I did fruit and for dinner, we used the leftover batter for cheese crepes. I did add about 2 teaspoons of sugar.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi November 16, 2002

I haven't had crepes since my grandma passed away almost 4 years ago, because I could never find a recipe like hers. I tried yours this morning and it tasted exactly like hers. Thank you for posting such a wonderful, easy recipe. It really did bring back alot of good memories for me, we will definately be having these again. I had mine with strawberries and whipped cream, they were to die for. Thanks again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leanne~ April 13, 2003

Inez - WOW! I made these & filled them w/ strawberries & cream - Strawberries & Cream Crepes. These were a SERIOUS hit! I doubled the recipe for 5 people - and had only 2 leftover crepes. WOW! These made a delightful breakfast, served w/ juice, coffee, a variety tray of gourmet cheeses, smoky mini sausage links & fresh fruit. THANK you for sharing! This is a keeper - and I had lost my favorite Better Homes & Garden crepe recipe. I think this is almost identical - Thanks again! MMMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmm!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing February 23, 2003

This is a great recipe!! I used them to make "Chicken and Dill Crepes" and my husband loved them .. I had some with jam and they were very good!! thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa October 13, 2002

This recipe was great! This is my husband's favorite breakfast food, so I took a chance (okay..HUGE risk..) by making these this morning for our 7 year anniversary. First time in 7 years I've made them right! (Either that or he's just being nice because it's our anniversary :p ) The only tips I have:

1. Oil in the pan does NOT work well. Causes separation between batter making it difficult to spread in pan effectively. Pam worked much better.

2. If you have trouble getting the crepe out of the pan, let it cool down a bit. I found this out by accident when almost giving up on making them & walked away with one it the pan on a back burner. Viola! ever since

3. Start with a high heat pan...then bring it down to a low/very low med. The batter will spread more evenly, cook more even, prevent crisp edges and allow you to remove them much easier!

Thanks again for making it a great anniversary morning! (FYI, our filling was 1/2 C. low fat vanilla yogurt mixed with 2 tbs. homeade berry jam...yuuuumy)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustChrisV October 24, 2010

Good basic recipe. I just placed all ingredients in a blender to mix, and just poured about 2 Tbsp in my 6 inch crepe pan. I was cooking them only for me, so I only made three crepes, then placed the mixer jar in the fridge. The next morning I was able to use the left over mix again for more crepes. The ingredients did separate, but I just pulsed it on the blender for a few seconds and it was as good as new, it tasted great. So it can be made the day before if you are looking for an easy breakfast. For fillings I tried : dulce de leche, nutella and strawberries, nutella and banana, cinammon and sugar, maple syrup. I will likely add some creme anglaise next time, and maybe try some savory type of filling like left over chicken and asparagus with some kind of white sauce like hollandaise sauce. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spacemonkey January 10, 2010

Flavor and texture were great, directions were clear and easy, and my 2.5 year old twin sons loved them (I stuffed one with a mixture of cream cheese and peanut butter and added banana sices, and the other with a blintz-y mix of cream cheese,sour cream, and blackberry jelly). Now I just have to work on learning to cook them! This was my first time making crepes, and I couldnt have found a better recipe. Thankyou!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dazy January 21, 2011

Perfect crepes!! It was my first time making crepes and they were just awesome. I filled them with a mix of sauteed onions, chicken, bechamel sauce, and some herbs. Then, put it in the oven and they came out fantastic :-) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grossen's Girl Chef August 09, 2010

So easy and simple yet so very very tasty.Sprinkled sugar and lemon juice on top=English style pancake!!! My children devoured them. One day I will try savory filling.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cardamomstars April 09, 2009
Crepes