9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this soup!! The flavors are absolutely perfect and I had no need to adjust the seasonings. I ended up blending mine until smooth. I will definitely be making this often. Thank you! Made for ZWT0 and the Soup-A-Stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood July 22, 2013

I subbed orange pepper for the green and used vegetable broth. Otherwise followed the recipe but threw it in the blender once it was done cooking as I prefer a smoother tomato soup. Served with garlic toast, it made for a rather tasty dinner. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 February 26, 2014

This makes a delicious soup. I substituted 1 teaspoon of Creole seasoning for the spices but for us the tomatoes were a little to chunky......next time I would try mashing them up some but that's a matter of individual taste. It was very easy to make. Made for Football Pool 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa January 12, 2013

Great easy, tasty and inexpensive soup! I used more than a dash of cayenne for a little extra heat. Yummy and low-cal as is, I think it would be great with some chicken or turkey sausage added as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof January 08, 2013

We found this soup to be more like a minestrone than a tomato soup; I think that the bay leaf and sugar make it more mellow that a typical tomato soup. The tomato was not the predominat flavour which we had anticipated

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini May 23, 2011

Wow! This has so much flavor! We loved it. It was served as written as a first course with tonight's dinner. I added some Creole chicken to the remainder. That will do for lunches for the next couple of days. Made for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario April 05, 2011

Fantastic tomato soup, so much better than the canned stuff! I used unsalted butter, vegetable broth, a red pepper, and petite diced tomatoes. Couldnt wait for the soup to finish cooking, it smelled and tasted great. Sliced a couple pieces of sourdough bread to go with the soup and enjoyed my lunch! Will definitely make this again it will be perfect on a cold winter day. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 November 04, 2010

Yep, that's right. This is one quick, pow-pow tasting soup. Easy as the flick of a light to put in the pot, and sitting down to enjoy the afternoon writing, reading, or relaxing. I followed exactly, using green pepper, and all the other ingredients which were so important to make this taste so smooth, so delicious, and so refreshing. I used fresh thyme from my green house, minced up and put right in. Served with toasted bread on top, where you can slurp up the bottom and make sure you have all the soup out of the bowl! Perfect! Will make again! Made for *Diabetic Forum* Soup's On January 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 18, 2010

I truly hate the tomato soup that you get in cans and have as far back as I can remember. When I saw this recipe I just had to try it and I'm so glad that I did. It's wonderful! I skipped the sugar, it truly wasn't needed and I had red bell pepper so that is what I used. The chunks of tomato, pepper and onion with the fragrant and flavorful herbs make an outstanding soup. At last, a tomato soup that actually tastes Great! Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 02, 2009
Creole Tomato Soup (Low Fat)