29 Reviews

This was very tasty. A dish that has just the right amount of heat and isn't hard to make either. It only took me about 45 minutes to make the meal, although I scaled the recipe down for two people, so that could have affected the cooking time. The only caution I'd add is that I did have to add a bit more water than indicated, so keep an eye on the pot -- you don't want to burn it!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville October 06, 2002

Wow, Miss Annie!! This jambalaya was fabulous. I love that it is vegetarian and full of all my favorite vegetables. The flavor was top-notch with all that creole spiciness. This made a large amount so I put what we didn't eat tonight in the freezer for later. So glad that you shared this recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 15, 2003

This was an amazing dish. Using the seasoning and directions provided, you could make many wonderful dishes with any vegetables you needed to use up! Don't be scared if you don't have all the vegetables, I substituted the zucchini, squash, and eggplant for a bag of frozen okra (all we can get around here!) and it was still awesome! I did end up adding additional water (and 15 minutes) at the end to finish off the rice. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnhopkins February 23, 2012

This was very good. I made 1/2 the recipe as one of the other reviews stated that it made a lot. 1/2 recipe was the right amount for us although next time I will make the whole recipe and freeze the leftovers in vacuum boiling bags for camping. I also had to add a bit more water for the rice to cook fully. I look forward to adding sweet potatoes next time. I have added this to my cookbook and will definitely make it again. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karlouise April 05, 2011

We cut the green pepper, celery, shallots and bay leaves, and added sweet potato and green beans, and it was still great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eli.a.roberts October 09, 2009

We love this. I Even though we have not had Jambalaya before it felt like comfort food. I doubled the creole seasoning (could have been the recipe for creole seasonging that was not as strong) and omitted the cayenne pepper. The amount of water and the time was just right. I cut the recipe in half and there is still a ton. I will freeze some as suggested. I also used diced tomatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose October 08, 2009

Best way I've found yet to use up eggplant and summer squash from my CSA box! This was delicious and a big hit with my bf, despite having some veggies in it that he doesn't usually like. I halved the recipe, but kept the full amount of tomatoes. Otherwise, I kept the recipe pretty much as written. Half the recipe made 4 servings for us, which I served with some good crusty bread. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spectatrix September 25, 2008

Wonderful! Easy creole with no roux! The rice took a long time to cook, but well worth it. Very versatile, you could add any veggies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deannahirt June 03, 2008

Very good! I made it as directed, but I used minute rice since so many reviews said the rice took a long time to cook. It came out perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachieac August 02, 2010

Thank you thank you thank you! I have been searching for a good jambalaya recipe since becoming vegetarian and I've definitely found it. I spiced mine up with hot sauce instead of cayenne pepper - a spicy, flavorful and satisfying dish! Not sure what went wrong for the other reviewer, mine was nicely done after 30 minutes using long grain basmati rice...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyPoe June 26, 2009
Creole-Style Vegetarian Jambalaya