Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creole-Style Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creole-Style Vegetarian Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2002

      This was very tasty. A dish that has just the right amount of heat and isn't hard to make either. It only took me about 45 minutes to make the meal, although I scaled the recipe down for two people, so that could have affected the cooking time. The only caution I'd add is that I did have to add a bit more water than indicated, so keep an eye on the pot -- you don't want to burn it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      Wow, Miss Annie!! This jambalaya was fabulous. I love that it is vegetarian and full of all my favorite vegetables. The flavor was top-notch with all that creole spiciness. This made a large amount so I put what we didn't eat tonight in the freezer for later. So glad that you shared this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This was an amazing dish. Using the seasoning and directions provided, you could make many wonderful dishes with any vegetables you needed to use up! Don't be scared if you don't have all the vegetables, I substituted the zucchini, squash, and eggplant for a bag of frozen okra (all we can get around here!) and it was still awesome! I did end up adding additional water (and 15 minutes) at the end to finish off the rice. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This was very good. I made 1/2 the recipe as one of the other reviews stated that it made a lot. 1/2 recipe was the right amount for us although next time I will make the whole recipe and freeze the leftovers in vacuum boiling bags for camping. I also had to add a bit more water for the rice to cook fully. I look forward to adding sweet potatoes next time. I have added this to my cookbook and will definitely make it again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Very good! I made it as directed, but I used minute rice since so many reviews said the rice took a long time to cook. It came out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      We cut the green pepper, celery, shallots and bay leaves, and added sweet potato and green beans, and it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      We love this. I Even though we have not had Jambalaya before it felt like comfort food. I doubled the creole seasoning (could have been the recipe for creole seasonging that was not as strong) and omitted the cayenne pepper. The amount of water and the time was just right. I cut the recipe in half and there is still a ton. I will freeze some as suggested. I also used diced tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Thank you thank you thank you! I have been searching for a good jambalaya recipe since becoming vegetarian and I've definitely found it. I spiced mine up with hot sauce instead of cayenne pepper - a spicy, flavorful and satisfying dish! Not sure what went wrong for the other reviewer, mine was nicely done after 30 minutes using long grain basmati rice...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Best way I've found yet to use up eggplant and summer squash from my CSA box! This was delicious and a big hit with my bf, despite having some veggies in it that he doesn't usually like. I halved the recipe, but kept the full amount of tomatoes. Otherwise, I kept the recipe pretty much as written. Half the recipe made 4 servings for us, which I served with some good crusty bread. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Wonderful! Easy creole with no roux! The rice took a long time to cook, but well worth it. Very versatile, you could add any veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      really quite simple and so full of flavor. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Fantastic! I added a jalapeño with the seeds for some extra kick. I also only used 1 cup of rice which ended up being perfect for our taste. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes. Next time I will add okra. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I made this with brown rice and added about a half ound of sliced fresh okra. It was great, and very popular at my choral group's potluck. It IS a vegan recipe, so I wish it were labeled as such. I appreciate seeing the amounts of veggies given in cups. "One medium onion" isn't very precise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I left out the eggplant (I am vegetarian but I don't like eggplant or brussels sprout) but it still tasted great. So much so that there are not many leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Laissez les bon temps roulez! I served with Sweet Cornbread, with beef-flavored TVP for me and pre-cooked shrimp for hubby (yuck). I only used half the oil and used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh (I used the juice from them in place of part of the broth). If you don't want to shell out for Creole seasoning (which is just a blend of spices you probably already have anyway), I recommend Creole Seasoning Mix in a Jar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Made it today for Lent, excellent! Just the right amount of spices. I don't care for eggplant, so I substituted okra, worked just as well. The recipe doesn't state when to add the celery, and the ingredients are not in the sequence of when they are used, I added them with the onions and peppers since they are tough an need more cooking time than squash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This was incredible! We made this last night for dinner, and it was just plain fabulous. I might add some okra in the future. What a gem of a recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I haven't been a big fan of eggplant, but recipes like these are changing my mind. We'll definately be having this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      I loved this, Miss Annie! I made exactly as directed and the flavor of this is perfect! I do think next time that I would like to make this using only 3 cups of rice and adjusting the liquid amounts accordingly to make the veggie to rice ratio a little higher on the veggie side. This recipe makes a lot of Jambalaya and it is mighty good eatin'! : )Thanks so much, Miss Annie, for sharing so many of your incredible recipes with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Yummy!! This is a fantastic recipe for a cold winter day. I also halved the recipe and added kidney beans. I used canned stewed tomatoes and used the full 2 teaspoons of creole seasoning. I will definately make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creole-Style Vegetarian Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.6
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    24%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 190.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites