Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creole Red Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2002

      As a Louisiana native, all I need to do is look at this recipe and know that it tastes authentic. Just a few tips since I have had years of practice. One, the longer you cook the beans, the softer they become. Two, I just moved to a high altitude and I have learned that you MUST cook beans a very LONG time so if you live above 3000 ft, add more water and cook longer. The last tip is as you cook the beans obviously you have to stir them to keep them from sticking. When you stir, if you smoosh the spoon against the side of the pot, the beans will break open and the end result is a creamier style of red beans. Some people like it that way (me included), some don't so it is totally up to you. I just remembered something else! I have a recipe for "pickle meat" which I will post here on 'Zaar. Look for it in a few days. Try adding it to your beans and omitting the sausage. YUMMY! Okay, now I am home sick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      When I saw this recipe I knew instantly that I wanted to make it but the problem is that I am far too impatient to go about soaking beans! So...I decided to make a "quick-fix" version. Essentially, everything was done in the same way except that I used canned kidney beans instead of the dry ones. I used a frying pan to simmer everything up and it was done in about 30 minutes. Scrumptious! The spices were just right and although I thought it might be a bit dry (without any tomato sauce or something else to hold the topping together) it wasn't at all. Thanks for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      I make red beans and rice all the time. I added a can of rotel and cheddar cheese on rice before adding red bean mixture. I keep cans of red beans on hand if I want this in a hurry. Must have in my family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I have been wanting to make this for some time now but it has just been so hot. I couldn't stand it any longer so I cranked up the air conditioner and let the good times roll. This is fabulous and exactly the way my mom used to make this. Kari in Denver is absolutely right with all her advice. I let the beans simmer probably more like 6-7 hours to get that ultra soft bean texture. The seasoning was just right, not too hot but hot enough you knew you were eating some great creole cuisine. Thanks Miss Annie, you have made this Louisiana gal's heart smile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      This was Delicious! My 6 year old daughter, whom I had to fight for the first 5 years of her life to eat 3 bites of everything on her plate, has finally develped and appetite and a taste for most things, actually asked for beans and rice. Usually, I make pinto beans and rice, but I thought this would be a nice change. The family loved it, including the finicky 3 year old, who is having to eat his 3 bites of everthing. I used Tony Chacerie's seasoning and turkey breakfast sausage, which I browned first and then added to the beans. It was what I had on-hand, and it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      I don't know if I soaked the beans for too long or what (10 hours), but mine turned out very, very watery, and I only added the amount of water that was directed. I strained out 1 quart of water, and it was still runny. Tried smashing the beans on the side of the pan as was suggested, in the last 2 hours, but it turned out more like starchy mushed red bean soup. I remember red beans and rice as being thick and creamy. This was not. Maybe I will soak the beans 2 hours less and omit 1 quart of water from the beginning next time. I don't understand what I did wrong, everyone else that has rated this recipe seems to have gotten a completely different result! :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I loved this recipe. Fabulous! And so easy! I also took the advise of a chef who used the Creole Seasoning Mix recipe (#38602) instead of buying some. MMM MMM GOOD!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Nice, simple recipe for authentic red beans and rice. I think this dish depends a lot on using quality Cajun/Creole seasoning mix. Don't get the kind that's mostly salt, or if you do use seasoning with salt already in, leave out the additional salt in the recipe until you taste it so you can adjust to taste. I also did it the shortcut way using pre-cooked kidney beans since that's what I had, and didn't have any sausage but it was fine without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was really good! I decided to make this today for Mardi Gras, but didn't have time to soak the bean. Therefore, I placed the beans in a pot, covered them with water and brought them to a boil for about 5 minutes. Then I turned off the heat and covered the beans and let them sit for 1 hour. I then rinsed the beans and followed the recipe. I used jalapeno sausage. Served this with Perfect Rice Everytime and Aunt Bernice's Cornbread .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I give this 5 stars, because after 8 years of trying to recreate a dish I once had, this hit the nail on the head! I made a few changes (just becuase I didn't want to go to the store). I did not include bell peper, and ran out of creole seasoning after only 1tbs. So, I added 1 tbs seasoned salt, and a few shakes of cayenne pepper. It was great. A little too spicy for the kids with the cayenne. .. but hey, more for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      We loved this dish. It goes on the 'comfort food' list most definitely. The only thing I did different was to use Creole Seasoning Mix recipe (#38602) for creole seasoning as I don't have that on hand. This was fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I made with pinto beans and cut the creole seasoning back to 1 T. Other than that followed the recipe and was pleasantly awarded one very yummy dish! Everyone liked it, including the fussy wussy DGS! Wendy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times now. I leave out the sausage, cut back on the salt, pepper, and creole seasoning. I would rather have to add salt than it be too salty. I add cumin and some chili powder also. I have made it with the red beans, but my family also likes it with pinto beans. We love it served over rice with a little cheese on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I followed your recipe exactly except for the green pepper - I didn't have one. We loved this recipe and the flavors were so very good. I had it with cornbread and we each had two bowls. Thanks for submitting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      We really enjoyed this. I did it all in the crockpot and added the sausage in the last hour, which was perfect. Enough for leftovers too. It was a good solid meal, not AMAZING, but good comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Hallelujah! I am so happy! My husband and I have always enjoyed red beans and rice. We used to use a store bought seasoning kit ( I am a little embarrassed to admit) called Cajun Magic. For years now we have been unable to find this seasoning and have been experimenting with different recipes. All have been a disappointment. We have finally found one which is strongly reminiscent of the one we loved so dearly! Thank you. I only used about 7 cups of water. Perfect. Surely one would not use 2 T of salt! Yikes. I only used 2 t of salt and 2 t of pepper. Adequate, for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These were excellent! Perfect blend of seasonings, however, I did omit the salt since the creole seasoning had plenty. My friend from Mississippi imported some real red beans from a recent visit. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      This recipe was great...and it didn't take 18 hrs to cook. I did the quick soak method for the beans and meanwhile chopped up the veggies and cooked the sausage. I added salt and pepper to my own tasting and cooked the beans in pork stock (fat skimmed off). I started with the beans soaking around 3:30 pm and dinner was ready by 7pm. Good recipe!!! Authentic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      Okay, before I tell you how yummy this was (and it is!), I have to tell you why I am giving it 4 stars rather than 5. We went ahead and used the full 3 quarts of water called for in the recipe and it was just waaay too much. I think between 2-2.5 would be much better, but as it was, I had to dump a bunch of the water out (and my flavors!) because the beans were definitely done and not absorbing any more water. In any case, all the other directions were just about perfect- beautiful, fat, creamy, tender beans after 4 hours. I did use organic "red beans" rather than kidney beans... I'm not really sure what kind of beans they are past that, but they were called red beans, so I figured they'd be good for red beans and rice. I used only 2 sausages as well- 1 andouille and 1 chicken apple, which was really nice. BF and I aren't too wild about really spicy foods, so this was perfect for us, plus the andouille gives him heartburn if he has more than just a little (he has acid reflux), so its best not to use too much. But this was delicious and positively creamy. Mine was a little mildly spiced, but I think that a lot of the flavors, sadly, went down the drain when I had to ditch the excess water. In any case, this is absolute soul food and very easy on the budget- I will defintely make it again, but with less water next time. I am usually adamant about adding sour cream and/or cheese to a dish like this, but this is so creamy it doesn't need a thing. Except for the water, everything else about the recipe was perfect for me from cooking time to seasonings to servings. Thanks for posting. As I said, I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      THIS WAS SO SO GOOD I'VE MADE IT THREE TO FOUR TIMES NOW! yummn, GREAT FLAVOR

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creole Red Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (910 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.4
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    44%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1466.3 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites