11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this tonight. Family LOVED it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biscuits -n- Gravy June 10, 2012

German Chocolate Cake is my absolute favorite. This cake is delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover May 30, 2011

This is a really good cake. I does get better after 24 hours. I wish I had vanilla ice ceam to serve with it, but whipped cream worked out fine. I used butter instead of margerine for the topping. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 24, 2011

Happy Birthday to Me! Just kidding, I just felt like baking a cake...and I might add, it's one of the best ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 10, 2010

I have to agree with all the other reviewers -- this is a delicious and moist cake, and the buttermilk added a nice rich flavor. My husband just loves German Chocolate cake, and since this is somewhat similar I decided to try it. Well, my husband said he enjoyed the flavor of this more, so you can be sure I'll be making this many, many times again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 31, 2010

Unbelievable! I love chocolate cake, but this might be the best one I've ever made. I used applesauce instead of the oil to cut down on the fat. It was fantastic. We ate it right when it came out of the oven. The next day we had a piece cold and it just was not the same. Popped it in the microwave and it was just like we took it out of the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
njc918 March 13, 2009

Delicious! This cake is very moist and rich... just the way I like it. The only change I made was using butter instead of margarine, but I don't think that made a difference. Thanks Paula for posting your Aunt's recipe. I'll be making this one again! (Picked for the Cake-A-Thon in memory of Chef I Am)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. November 06, 2007

Wow ! I don't know if it gets any better than this! so moist and flavorful, scrumptious cake and a keeper for sure. Thanks Paula, another great recipe for PAC 07.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 May 03, 2007

The only change that I made in this cake was to use almonds in the frosting...I was out of pecans!!! I really worried about this batter being so thin, but you said it would be thin, so I figured it would be alright....and it was. This is such a light moist cake. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen August 07, 2005

We loved this cake! My DH doesn't eat very much cake, but said this he would eat again! It didn't say how many eggs so I added 4.And I Made my own topping of 1/2 c brown suger,1/2 c melted butter,1/4 c cream,1t vanilla,1c sliced almonds. I does get moister every day! Thank you for a wonderful chocolate cake. Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 May 07, 2004
Creole Cake