Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creole Black-Eyes and Rice for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creole Black-Eyes and Rice for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2013

      This recipe is a definite winner at my house. Being from the South -- blackeyed peas are a staple in my pantry. Loved the seasonings, but reduced the cayenne a bit because I used smokehouse jalapeno sausage. The only other change I made was to saute my onions, bell peppers, etc. before adding them. This recipe will be a regular at my house. I couldn't wait for dinner so I had a cup of them for lunch today. Made for ZWT9 - Cajun/Creole, July, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Made as written using the lean ham. I heat was just perfect for me, my husband well, black pepper is too hot for him. This was very easy to make. I was so excited to garnish this with the green onion fan, then I forgot all about that last step. Makes me sad :( Made for team Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      i'm not a big fan of legumes and am especially wary of black-eyed peas, but this was soooo good. i think it may be sacrilege here in new orleans, but i'll never make red beans and rice again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I didn't use my crockpot but used the stovetop. This is one of the very best Creole recipes ever! I didn't use the ham coz we don't like ham in dried beans, etc..The taste of ham is overwhelming in dried peas or beans (to me). So, I used hickory smoked slab bacon grease..maybe one-third cup..yeah, I know --not healthy but I always put in dried beans or peas coz it imparts a great flavor and makes the 'soup' thicker. I didn't use the green onions coz I used about 1 1/3 pounds of spicy smoked green onion sausage from a local meat market. The remainder of the sausage was HOT from the same meat market. I omitted the Cajun seasoning and the hot pepper sauce coz of the heat from the sausages but I did use some of the cayenne. I didn't use as much oregano or thyme. I used 1/4 tsp. dried whole oregano and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme. I covered the soaked, rinsed and drained peas with water-- about two inches above the peas- in a heavy stainless steel pot and added the bacon grease. When the water came to the boil, I added all the other ingredients, including the sausages and cooked about forty minutes on low. Then I added a SMOKED pork neck bone and cooked about one additional hour on low. If you use the neckbone, it MUST be a smoked neck bone and only add it at the last hour or you will have bone splinters in the pot. This was really spicy! We loved it. If only I had made some hot water cornbread to accompany these peas..Well, there's always tomorrow! Thanks, PaulaG, for an outstanding recipe. TexasChef Judi Coleman

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      This was a great meal...threw it in the crock pot and had a nice meal 6 hrs later! I made as written using a ham bone...I think next time I will omit the ham bone or use a much smaller one as I think the ham flavor sort of "took over" and muddied the taste a bit. My BF and mother loved that about the flavor though so it's just a personal preference,I suppose. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      Very good Paula. The house smells so homey when this was cooking. My daughter likes it and she hates beans of any kind :). This dish reminds me of Texas Chili. I followed the recipe except I skipped the sausage and used only ham and ham bones. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      excellent and easy, i used a pound of ham, no sausage, some extra hot sauce, and a 4 ounce can of green chili peppers instead of bell pepper and a shot of hickory smoke. did not use oregano, due to my food allergy. wonderful and easy. soaking the beans was the hardest part of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      The aroma when I returned home at the end of the day was wonderful; the taste was absolutely delicious! I used navy beans (all I had) and my ham bone was so meaty that the sausage wasn't necessary. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Thanx for another winner Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This was wonderful. We quick-cooked the beans rather than soaking them. We used turkey smoked sausage and served it all on brown rice. Lots of yummy leftovers, too, great for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Five stars all the way. This dish was just wonderful. I made it to take to a church supper, and everyone had rave reviews!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      Yummy! I left out the ham bone and used a meatless ham-like smoky seasoning. Lots of flavor! I also put in some soy chorizo. For my DH I added some smoked beef sausage. Served over rice, this was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creole Black-Eyes and Rice for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.3
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    38%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 28.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 850.7 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites