11 Reviews

This recipe is a definite winner at my house. Being from the South -- blackeyed peas are a staple in my pantry. Loved the seasonings, but reduced the cayenne a bit because I used smokehouse jalapeno sausage. The only other change I made was to saute my onions, bell peppers, etc. before adding them. This recipe will be a regular at my house. I couldn't wait for dinner so I had a cup of them for lunch today. Made for ZWT9 - Cajun/Creole, July, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration July 24, 2013

Made as written using the lean ham. I heat was just perfect for me, my husband well, black pepper is too hot for him. This was very easy to make. I was so excited to garnish this with the green onion fan, then I forgot all about that last step. Makes me sad :( Made for team Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9 2013

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J July 19, 2013

i'm not a big fan of legumes and am especially wary of black-eyed peas, but this was soooo good. i think it may be sacrilege here in new orleans, but i'll never make red beans and rice again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevermind April 29, 2010

I didn't use my crockpot but used the stovetop. This is one of the very best Creole recipes ever! I didn't use the ham coz we don't like ham in dried beans, etc..The taste of ham is overwhelming in dried peas or beans (to me). So, I used hickory smoked slab bacon grease..maybe one-third cup..yeah, I know --not healthy but I always put in dried beans or peas coz it imparts a great flavor and makes the 'soup' thicker. I didn't use the green onions coz I used about 1 1/3 pounds of spicy smoked green onion sausage from a local meat market. The remainder of the sausage was HOT from the same meat market. I omitted the Cajun seasoning and the hot pepper sauce coz of the heat from the sausages but I did use some of the cayenne. I didn't use as much oregano or thyme. I used 1/4 tsp. dried whole oregano and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme. I covered the soaked, rinsed and drained peas with water-- about two inches above the peas- in a heavy stainless steel pot and added the bacon grease. When the water came to the boil, I added all the other ingredients, including the sausages and cooked about forty minutes on low. Then I added a SMOKED pork neck bone and cooked about one additional hour on low. If you use the neckbone, it MUST be a smoked neck bone and only add it at the last hour or you will have bone splinters in the pot. This was really spicy! We loved it. If only I had made some hot water cornbread to accompany these peas..Well, there's always tomorrow! Thanks, PaulaG, for an outstanding recipe. TexasChef Judi Coleman

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasChef Judi Coleman August 31, 2009

This was a great meal...threw it in the crock pot and had a nice meal 6 hrs later! I made as written using a ham bone...I think next time I will omit the ham bone or use a much smaller one as I think the ham flavor sort of "took over" and muddied the taste a bit. My BF and mother loved that about the flavor though so it's just a personal preference,I suppose. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing July 03, 2007

Very good Paula. The house smells so homey when this was cooking. My daughter likes it and she hates beans of any kind :). This dish reminds me of Texas Chili. I followed the recipe except I skipped the sausage and used only ham and ham bones. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB February 15, 2007

excellent and easy, i used a pound of ham, no sausage, some extra hot sauce, and a 4 ounce can of green chili peppers instead of bell pepper and a shot of hickory smoke. did not use oregano, due to my food allergy. wonderful and easy. soaking the beans was the hardest part of the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears August 01, 2006

The aroma when I returned home at the end of the day was wonderful; the taste was absolutely delicious! I used navy beans (all I had) and my ham bone was so meaty that the sausage wasn't necessary. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Thanx for another winner Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady July 25, 2006

This was wonderful. We quick-cooked the beans rather than soaking them. We used turkey smoked sausage and served it all on brown rice. Lots of yummy leftovers, too, great for lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhopecs October 24, 2005

Five stars all the way. This dish was just wonderful. I made it to take to a church supper, and everyone had rave reviews!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen September 09, 2005
Creole Black-Eyes and Rice for the Crock Pot