Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creole Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creole Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2002

      A wonderfully satisfying treat for both the taste buds and to the eye! Very easy to prepare, and even the leftovers the next day were exquisitely delicious. You can make this as spicy as you dare, by altering the amount of cayenne. The spicier the better for me, so I added a bit of Tabasco to the mix for good measure. Also threw in a good-sized pinch of basil. Although the recipe calls for crock-pot cooking, I was pressed for time and prepared this on the stove-top. Next time I will try the crock pot, just so this wonderful smell will be present in the kitchen throughout the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Five star keeper, no question. Wonderful. Made overnight in my crockpot so it would be ready to take to a friend the next morning. Only change - had no celery. Will make again and again. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Last fall I happened upon this recipe. It is FANTASTIC!!! It freezes well and can be used as a baked potato topping or in a tortilla. I have added chicken or kidney beans etc and that is great too. I do OAMC, as I am alone, so I can enjoy it at anytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      This was a very good, satisfying meal. I made it in the crockpot and used 1 lb. of beans that were soaked overnight. I kept everything else the same, using mild cajun sausage. I used Tony Cacherie's seasoning so I omitted the cayenne and peppers. In the beginning, I saw that it needed more water so I added 1 cup more.We ate this with Mozzarella and Roasted Red Pepper Toasts, which was very nice. Thanks so much-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      We've been making this for a few years now. We soak 3 cups of dry black beans over night and sub 1 cup of chicken stock for the bouillon cube. Might try the petite diced tomatoes this time around. And we always use Andouille sausage. We freeze this for DH's lunches. Update: We've found we need to add 2-3 cups of chicken stock if the beans are not pre-cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I made this on the stove-top. Browned the sausage and then all the vegetables. Added all the remaining ingredients substituting a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. It still needed a little something extra so I added 3TBLS bottled lime juice. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Wow, great beans. I used Andouie? sausage. Not spelled right. The flavor was great. I left out some of the pepper because this type of sausage is so spicy. Was really wonderful, am thinking of making it for a party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Unfortunately we had to use chorizo instead of a nice Andouille smoked sausage but it still turned out OK. We used a can of diced tomatoes instead of sauce, which we enjoyed. We'll be making it again, especially if we can find the right sausage... perhaps homemade?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      A co-worker of mine has been making this for our office holiday party for years - I love it, but she's retiring, so I'm delighted to see it here for safekeeping. This recipe is terrific and easy - a crockpot recipe that's not mushy or bland. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I enjoy this recipe immensely! My family always goes back for seconds, and there is always enough for lunch the next day. It freezes well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      I doubt I'll get to make this again, because my family thought it was too spicy. When will I learn!? However, I thought that it was a great multi-layered spice, not just *hot*. One caveat - I decided to use 2lb of sausage, & it made my 3 1/2 qt. crock too full. I suggest using a very high quality smoked sausage, and 1 c. chicken broth instead of the water + bouillon ... changes I would make if I were able to prepare this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creole Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.0
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    42%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 46.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1012.1 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites