10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This produced a wonderfully filling, but meatless meal! My kids even asked for seconds! This casserole scores big thumbs-up in all areas: it's very colorful, has great texture, is easy and inexpensive to prepare, and the taste was excellent! One note, I do suggest serving this with salsa and sour cream alongside. Perfect taste combo! Thanks, Mirj for a tasty, economical meal that we all loved.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve December 28, 2002

We were very pleased with this recipe, good flavor and pretty presentation. I used a red pepper instead of green, as I don't care for the green ones. Next time I don't think I would bother to layer the ingredients, I would just mix the rice, cheese, peppers and onion, the top with the milk mixture and then the breadcrumbs. I cut the recipe in half, to serve 3, and it only needed 20 minutes to cook. Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 05, 2009

Mmmmm....We really liked this dish! Great side for DH's chicken and worked great as a main dish for me served with broccoli. My changes were to add a fresh minced jalapeno that I needed to use up, minced white onion, plain bread crumbs seasoned with a 1/2 t. of poultry seasoning, 1/4 t. onion powder, garlic powder and oregano.As others suggested, I mixed the rice, cheese, pepper and onion together instead of layering. I added a little more cayenne and about a t. of hot sauce to the milk mixture. I'm adding this to my review because it turned out so well that I want to be sure to do the same next time. I bet the recipe is delicious as it, but I was in the mood to tinker and it happened to work out. Thanks so much for sharing the flexible keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 24, 2014

This was so easy to make and very good! I added chicken to it and cooked corn on the side. Next time I will definitely add the corn in this recipe! Everyone in the family really liked this dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline_Ryan January 16, 2014

This is so good and so easy to make. I just mixed everything together, poured it into a casserole, sprinkled on the crumbs and butter and baked it for exactly the time specified. Perfect. The only changes were I used green AND red peppers, added mozzarella to the cheese quantity, and instead of liquid hot sauce, used a pepper blend. Because it's so easy to make and flexible in terms of the cheeses, vegetables, spices... I will make this often. Great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 May 18, 2013

This was excellent!! I used skim milk, red pepper and regular breadcrumbs, but substituted hot pepper rings for the tabasco (it's what I had), and it was delicious! The BF loved it, so we'll be making it again for sure :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julcuz October 31, 2009

We found this to be pretty good, but missing some intensity of flavor; perhaps for our tastes I needed to add more cayenne or Tabasco sauce? Fortunately, I served it with The Realtor's Spicy Baked Shrimp and my DH and I both agreed that with the sauce from the shrimp dish this is 5 star all the way! Thanks, Mirj! Made for ZWT5, team Kitchen Witches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees June 01, 2009

This is very good. I used red peppers instead of green :P and milk instead of cream. I would use a bit less milk because there was too much left in the bottom of the casserole dish. I used 1 teaspoon of hot sauce in the egg and milk mixture and really liked it. It was a little too spicy for my youngest DS however. Made for my ZWT5 teammate. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif May 25, 2009

Wow, this is one terrific dish! I used brown rice, and instead of Tabasco I used Emeril's Green Chile Sauce but otherwise made it as written. It is a taste treat and was voted the NUMBER ONE DISH by all our guests at our "Creole Dinner Night". I was afraid it would be too eggy, but not at all. Colourful and tasty, I will be making this again. Oh, and the next day I fried up the leftovers with some pork roast and yummo!!! Another terrific dish! Thanks for posting Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ November 27, 2006
Creole Baked Cheese Rice