18 Reviews

I did not know there was a dish called Creole - I thought it was a region ! But this savoury sausage and rice dish is great and so easy to make. I used brown rice and both yellow and red peppers. Made for Zingo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew August 29, 2013

I made this today, and wasn't sure what to expect. It is nothing like the Justin Wilson creole that I make and my family is use to. I have to agree with another reviewer... its more of a Tex-Mex rice dish than an actual "creole". It was very tasty and I may make it again. It is pretty quick and easy to put together. Now I know what I will be getting as the final result. Thank you for posting your recipe. (Made for ZWT9)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 August 28, 2013

Except for the addition of garlic, I made this recipe as written for the Goddesses of ZWT-9 & the Zingo Plus Challenge. The flavor profile & ingredients taste much more Tex-Mex to me than Cajun or Creole, but we liked it just the same. I served it w/a mixed cucumber salad & a rolled tortilla filled w/melted Monterrey Jack cheese for a meal reminiscent of my yrs in Dallas. Thx for posting this recipe & the trip down memory late. .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis August 27, 2013

This was very easy and quite tasty. My son-in-law said, "This is super-good!" I made it for ZWT9, used Zatarains rice mix and Andouille sausage. Lots of flavor and ease of making earns this an easy 5 stars! Thanks, Charmie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie July 15, 2013

it was easy and filling I added shrimp to it and everyone loved it thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rar58 March 25, 2013

This was very quick, easy, and filling. We will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus January 30, 2010

I made this on 1/20/10, as the main dish for mine and SO's dinner. Due to what was on hand a couple of changes were made to the recipe. They are as follows, smoked sausage was used instead of the kielbasa and a freeze dried green/red pepper mix was used in place of the red bell pepper. Other than those changes, this recipe was made as written. I had to cook this dish for 25 minutes to get the rice tender. I do think that if I make this again, the amount of salsa will be reduced in half. It was a bit too much for us. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 21, 2010

I used chorizo sausage with great results!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ November 01, 2009

THIS was FAN-TASTIC!!! WOW!! :) Since I used Zatarain's Spanish Rice, I adjusted the amounts according to the box. (A 16 oz. jar mild salsa and 1 1/2 cups water plus 1 Tbl. butter.) The store didn't have the sausage we wanted, but my hubby came home with some killer sun-dried tomato and mozzarella smoked chicken and turkey sausage instead that worked extremely well!! (12 oz. pkg. of Chef Bruce *aidells* brand, really good actually!) Mr. Picky even gave it 5 stars!!! This will be a favorite in our house!! Served with cornbread. Made for the ZWT5! :) Thanks so much Charmie! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour June 02, 2009

"I'm stuffed!" is what DS2 said after eating his third helping of this. The fact is - we were all stuffed because this is so very tasty. I like skillet meals like this that come together quickly on a busy school/work night. I often keep diced peppers and onions in the freezer so that made it that much quicker. I might make my own rice mix (or buy the "converted" brand mix) because the brand we used became a bit gummy and had more salt than we usually use. Great dish Charmie777! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast June 02, 2009
Creole