10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I chose this recipe to use up some leftover creme fraiche I had from another dish. The sauce takes about 10 minutes to make up, so have your pasta cooking while making the chicken mixture. The colour of the dish is very bland, so I would consider adding some steamed broccoli to liven it up! Thanks for the posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl October 12, 2012

Delicious and utterly RICH. I served it over farfelle pasta rather than penne and thickened the sauce with a bit of flour and water slurry to thicken it, but other than that, made as specified.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT March 18, 2010

I am not a big fan of French cuisine, but this recipe turned me into a French cuisine lover! :) I loved everything about this dish. I made exactly as written (using white wine) except I left out the mushrooms because I don't like them. I'm putting this recipe straight into my keeper file. I had this with a simple tossed salad topped with Babzy's Salad Dressing and Croutons and with French White Bread. Merci beaucoup for this great recipe, PaulaG. Made for ZWT5. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

Oh, this was so good. The taste was out of this world and easy to make. I may add more crème fraiche next time, because I mixed the chicken mixture and penne together before serving and it soaked up a lot of the sauce. I really liked the extra crème fraiche on top, it really adds a lot to the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom October 05, 2009

DH and I made this chicken for dinner a couple of nights ago. I am going to hold off on the star ratings as mine did not turn out as the photos indicate. My sauce was very thin and did not coat the penne at all (though it tasted good). I think what might of happened is that we did not drain the juice from the chicken (we definitely waited for all the wine to evaporate), which thinned out the sauce. I will have to try this again in order to get a thicker sauce like the photos illustrate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 28, 2009

This was just wonderful! I had some extra creme fraiche, so I decided to try this dish that caught my eye during Zaar World Tour 5. I made exactly as written except that I omitted the mushrooms (none on hand). The sauce was heavenly- creamy, flavorful and just plain delicious. Be sure that you let the wine evaporate in step 5, or your sauce will be a little thin. Thin or not, this was still delicious! I can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow at lunch. Thanks for posting a real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH July 16, 2009

Definitely a keeper! I used artichoke hearts (not marinated) for an extra little zing and we loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bsthom2 July 09, 2009

This was wonderful for dinner last night. I tripled the amounts as I was cooking for 5. The whole family loved this and there were no leftovers, as my daughter's boyfriend went back for seconds. I used a Chardonnay, vidaila onion, sliced baby portabella mushrooms, Fleur De Sel and pepper. I served it with grilled bread and a green beans!! Thanks Paula for sharing this great chicken dish, will be making it again!!! Made for ZWT 5 family picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 08, 2009

Fantastic recipe. I will also try it with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tusa May 18, 2009

Good stuff. This will be made again in my kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience September 11, 2005
Creme Fraiche Chicken